1986 Pontiac Fiero Reviews - Page 4 of 9

1986 Pontiac Fiero SE 2.8 MPFI from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 MPFI Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired133451 miles
Most recent distance165465 miles
Previous carPontiac Fiero

Summary:

This car should be brought back into production

Faults:

Exhaust tip on diver's side rusted off.

Rear exhaust gasket blew at 160111 miles.

General Comments:

I love this car. Many people think these cars aren't worth the money thye put into them. The question I have is, Why buy a brand new import and blow around $20,000 on making it look good and go faster when if you had $7,000 to put in a V8 and swap out the stock engine you would have a very very very very very awesomely fast car... made right here in the USA.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2004

22nd May 2006, 12:25

Well I just bought a 1986 SE four speed manual, and three days after I bought it the ignition module went out. That cost me forty dollars right off hand, then the relay in the driver side headlight went bad along with the windshield wiper motor going out within the first week. well you said to swap out the v6 with a v8 huh? I had a friend who did that and two weeks after he, but it in the transmission went to shreds. After replacing the transmission the clutch burnt out (by the way the clutch was a brand new stage 2) (it only had 2,000 miles on it). In all this Pontiac is a fun little car to drive, but, IT IS NOT WORTH THE MONEY you, but into it.

22nd May 2006, 19:10

Well when you upgrade the engine to a V8 and expect the tranny and clutch tuned to a v6 or inline 4 to handle that engine, you're misguided in your thinking.

They have full kits that give the car a new upgraded tranny, HD clutch, and other misc HD parts needed to run a small block v8.

20th Oct 2006, 09:30

I own 11 Fieros. Who ever said you can't put a V8 in has no clue what they're talking about. I know lots of people who have put in V8s and don't have problems.

1986 Pontiac Fiero GT 3.8 Supercharged from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Supercharged Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carPontiac Fiero

Summary:

Pretty Awesome beyond belief!

Faults:

Transmission recently went you along with a couple simple electrical problems.

General Comments:

I owned a Honda Prelude before this and it was a fun car, but once I drove the Fiero GT, I was hooked. The best part of this car is not only the handling, but the fact that the interior is like a cockpit of a jet (I'm 6'3) and I love that feeling of being in control.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2004

25th Jan 2007, 13:52

I loved mine and hated giving it up for a mommy car. there was soooo much room in it and it was very fast. they should definitely bring it back - but have honda make it this time LOL.

1986 Pontiac Fiero SE 2.4L from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance204000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Use to cruise not to bruise

Faults:

Clutch was replaced at 160,000 miles.

Brake calipers rebuilt at 180,000 miles.

A/C compressor replaced at 200,000 miles.

General Comments:

The Fiero handles very well and has earned its' respect.

This little 4-cylinder has worked for 18 years and continues to provide me with dependable transportation.

With the right sound system installed, this sporty car makes for the perfect highway cruising car.

After I had restored this vehicle to almost new condition with no major repairs needed, to include that it sat in a lot for two years, the Fiero continues to satisfy the kid in me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2004

1986 Pontiac Fiero SE 2.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carVolvo 760

Summary:

Cheap great looking fun!

Faults:

The Transmission makes a ticking noise, but it made that sounds when I bought it.

Seats have worn badly.

General Comments:

This Fiero SE is like none other on the road. Its grey with a white interior and has the GT front spoiler, GT side skirts, GT rear bumper, and the GT spoiler. When you look in the rear view mirror and see the spoiler it seriously looks like you are driving a Lamborghini! All my friends love it, and my last car was a old 89 Volvo 760 Turbo and I wish I could install that turbo on this car, not that it really needs one, but it would be even more fun. My dad has a Corvette and this is like it's little brother. They have the same kind of look and have that throaty exhaust. This car has low miles on it and is still in very nice condition with a few scratches here and there, but still a true American sports car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th August, 2004

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 35 reviews