1986 Pontiac Fiero GT 2.8 from North America

Summary:

A little known sports car bargain

Faults:

Had a bad connection at the oxygen sensor.

General Comments:

This car handles like many exotic sports cars I've driven.

Due to the mid-engine design, it launches from a dead stop like few other cars. Almost all weight is transfered to the rear wheels and prevents undue spinning.

The seats are very comfortable and support you well in sharp cornering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2002

1986 Pontiac Fiero GT H.O V6 from North America

Summary:

A small high performance Chick getter

Faults:

There has only been a few issues with the car such as a large rip in the drivers seat.

Also the exhaust is slowly rotting away.

Wheels have light corrosion around the rims.

Other than this I love the car and wish they still made them!!!

General Comments:

This car is one little beast! It goes quite fast with that 135hp 6cyl. It also handles like it's glued to the road.

It performs like a ferrari and in many ways it looks like one!

I only drive this car as a toy, but I wish these were still made!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2002

9th May 2002, 14:28

You are right, that fiero does look like a ferrari and it does go pretty darn fast!!!

28th Feb 2003, 16:38

I got my 1986 Gt from an older gentlemen for a pretty cheap price, I don't know if he knew what he had, but I wasn't about to tell him! I love my GT, before it, I had an 84' 2m4. I liked the 84' but it lacked in overall power, something the GT more than makes up for. Granted I have had a lot of problems with the car, but with the mileage and year, the 140hp V-6 still runs strong!

1st Dec 2003, 06:09

I had a 1985 GT. You are right they do go pretty fast. I had a performance chip in mine. I raced a 2002 Chevy Malibu and won. I then blew my engine. I am still looking for the 2.8 V6. There hard to come across. I want to put the 32v northstar V8 but that's later. That has to be the best car I ever owned for 1000 dollars.

1986 Pontiac Fiero 2 door Coupe 2.5L 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Big Time Lemon

Faults:

The brakes were the first thing. I figured that it would be a good idea to have brakes, so I replaced them.

The next thing was the rear main seal and the oil pan followed closely by the rest of the seals in the engine.

After all of those problems my transmission went and I have had to put three in since.

I have also had to replace the tie rod ends because of wear and tear.

General Comments:

This car has to be the biggest lemon that I have ever driven. Even though it has great handling and moderate power, there are just too many repairs and headaches with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2002

1986 Pontiac Fiero 2M4 2.5 liter 4 cylinder. from North America

Summary:

Underrated American exotic

Faults:

The A/C finally quit at about 100k miles, replaced the clutch once when I didn't need to, replaced the alternator and battery once; voltage gauge replaced by the dealer under warranty.

This particular car always had an appetite for throttle position sensors. Thankfully, these could usually be purchased at a local parts store for under $35 and were easily installed.

The emergency brake was continually a problem after the car was out of warranty.

General Comments:

Honestly, this may be one of the most underrated and over critisized domestic cars ever constructed. I found that our Fiero did everything well except for hauling luggage. It was as reliable as almost any car we've ever owned.

Pontiac introduced the Fiero 1984 in typical American fashion. The first models only came in a handful of colors, had only one engine selection, and was plagued by engineering failures. Its fit and finish were weak, the performance wasn't any better than anything else on the road in a similar price range, and the insurance was outrageous. You couldn't even get a five-speed transmission in it during the first year. In typical fashion dealers marked their new model up to where anyone buying one would be submerged in debt. The Indy version came out with no more horsepower, but a hood scoop that was a far cry from matching the lines on the car.

Things didn't get much better in 1985 except the Fiero's reputation grew more tarnished and the available colors increased and a V-6 finally arrived on the scene... But only with a 4-speed.

In 1986 they were finally getting the car right and at the right price. Recalls continued, but they were not as numerous. Dealers became rational with their prices and one could buy one nicely equipped for under $10,000. This is when we decided to purchase our red one.

The car did very well. It was a blast to drive, always got looks, and the gas mileage was incredible. At one time we owned both this Fiero as well as a 1989 Geo Metro LSi with an automatic transmission. The Fiero always beat the Geo's gas mileage and, needless to say, could outrun it in third gear.

The air conditioning was almost inaccessible, but everything else on the car was easy to get to. Light line mechanics like tune ups and oil changes were very simple.

We once had the clutch replaced thinking that it was failing. However, there are bushings on either side of the clutch pedal pivot that will fool even the most knowledgeable shade tree mechanic. There is no telling how many good Fiero clutches have been replaced because of this inexpensive fix under the dash.

The ugliest thing about this sexy car was the interior's tendency to fall apart. The padding around the console often separated and cloth seats were almost guaranteed to split.

One of the oddest elements of this story is my relationship with the dealer. We paid for thousands of dollars of repairs on this car, many just before the same thing would be recalled by Pontiac. We brought this to the attention of the dealer who worked diligently to get a refund from Pontiac for over $1200. I will never forget them for helping me with this problem: Thank you, Bob Moore Pontiac, Oklahoma City!

By 1988 the Fiero was as perfect as any American sports car ever. Lotus tuned suspension and the most powerful V-6 made the GT a legitimate world class performer. Even the 4-cylinder was likable.

But it was too late. The Fiero was killed off to make way on the assembly line for the often forgotten Buick Reatta.

Today, you will occasionally see a 4-cylinder Fiero for under $4000 in good shape. The 6-cylinders are slightly higher and a later model GT may fetch a hefty sum. Anything built after 1985 is a safe bet to give you plenty of excitement for little cash.

I can recommend this car to any family of two who owns soft sided luggage and has a collection of ordinary hand tools.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2002

5th Mar 2004, 20:02

Here's the deal. I have an opportunity to get a 1986 Fiero in fantastic condtion for $2,000. This car was owned and driven by a mechanic the last 10 years. He removed the original 4 banger and dropped in a six pack. But while he had the engine out he decided to rewire the entire car and convert the manual to an automatic. I inspected this car and his work is so awesome I had no idea any thing was less than factory work. He also put in a am/fm CD unit with substantial speakers. I want this car, but some of my friends say I'm nuts to get a Fiero. What do you think? I'm going to get it no matter what... but am I nuts?

27th Mar 2004, 03:36

I have owned 2 1985 Fiero GT'S. I am thinking of buying another one, it is a 1988 no frills 4 cyl. I would recommend this car, it's such a fun car to drive and people love to talk about them. Ron.

29th Sep 2005, 00:10

It is actually a myth that Lotus designed the suspension on the '88 Fiero GT. It's all Pontiac there, all Fiero Enthusiasts (nuts) know this. But to keep the myth going some fiero aftermarket decal companies make "suspension Designed by Lotus" stickers.

28th Sep 2007, 20:27

I'd have to say that I love my Fiero, it's just plain cool! However, I have a love/hate relationship with it. The guy who sold it to me was far from honest, and the problems it gave me made me want to shove it off a cliff.

However, after slaving away on everything from the common throttle position sensor, to a leak in the air-assist system, causing the engine to sometimes idle from 1500 to 4000rpm, this has definitely been my favorite, by far!

At first it was fun getting looks, (mine is a 86 GT, painted Porsche red) but when I'm in a hurry, it's somewhat irritating at gas stations when the pump guy will start asking me about my car rather than how much gasoline I'd like. :)