1986 Pontiac Fiero GT 2.8 V6 from North America


The most unique reasonably priced car on the road


Normal maintenance... brake pads, tires, shocks, struts, O2 sensor.

Water pump was replaced several years ago.

I replaced the clutch myself this summer. It was a relatively difficult job, but there is an abundance of support available, and parts are VERY inexpensive and highly available.

General Comments:

An extremely fun car to drive & own.

Very inexpensive to maintain. Many parts still available from dealers, and there is strong after-market support.

Very good handling, good gas mileage, and adequate performance.

The benefits of plastic body panels go without saying.

The newest Fiero available is now 13 years old, yet many still look like new.

More information available at http://www.fierofocus.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2001

1986 Pontiac Fiero SE 2.5 L I-4 from North America


Good looking, unreliable, fun gas miser


The headlight motors age poorly and need to be rebuilt.

The motor mounts in this thing tend to wear out quickly given the little stress placed on them by the four banger.

The back of driver's seat wears out quickly.

The engine had to be rebuilt at only 85,000 miles, due to a bad rod bearing.

The windshield wipers behave strangely. They are tricky to get into the off position without having an intermittent sweep.

The interior is kind of melted looking.

General Comments:

I have a love/hate relationship with this car.

I love it except during its frequent bad behavior spells.

This car is not very fast, but it handles like it's on rails.

Gotta love that gas mileage (30+ in town and 35+ on the highway).

A real good looking car.

The styling is much more modern. People sometimes think it was made in the mid 90s.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2001

24th Nov 2001, 12:52

I agree with you, these cars were never "Fast" and got 30-35mpg whenever they actually ran.

27th Apr 2010, 15:21

Only reason these cars wouldn't run is driver neglect. The 2.5 engine is near bulletproof. Nowhere near as refined as the MR2's 4A-GE, but just as reliable.

19th Jan 2011, 10:41

I agree with the above user.

Driver neglect has got to be one of the most common reasons why a car breaks down. Whether it be forgetting coolant or changing oil, it's usually the driver's fault.

The only difference between this car and a Civic is that the Civic will tolerate neglect longer than the Fiero would. Is that the car's fault? I don't believe it is, as you should be babying this old car anyway.

19th Jan 2011, 21:32

This car was based on the Chevette platform. That sort of doomed it from the start. But I agree that it's a fantastic looking car.

20th Jan 2011, 08:51

It had components from the Chevette suspension, but it rode on its own mid engine platform. GM used common parts from the Chevette, Citation and Phoenix to reduce overall costs of production.

1986 Pontiac Fiero SE 2.8 V6 from North America


This car is a great bargain if you are looking for performance


The drivers seat started to wear badly. I put a low temperature fan switch and thermostat in it.

General Comments:

This car is seriously quick and handles like a dream. Some people say that fieros run low 16's in the quarter mile, but that's a lie. I've seen stock 2.8 V6 fieros run in the high 14's. However there is not much room to upgrade the stereo system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2001

1st Sep 2001, 15:39

There is room to upgrade the stereo. You can buy Sony Xplode speakers and they are pretty thin and put them next to the back glass. If you don't want to do that, you can buy a sound bar and put it in the back glass or roof.


21st May 2003, 21:06

You could not get a faster little car for the amount of money a fiero is.


1986 Pontiac Fiero GT 2.8 from North America


Excellent daily driver and fun too


Normal maintenance items.

General Comments:

Ferrari like looks, yet GM parts prices.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2001

1986 Pontiac Fiero SE 2.8 V6 from North America


Gorgeous car and proud of it


Both rear calipers replaced to fix the ebrake.

General Comments:

Only cars out there I would even consider getting to replace this one are all over $60k. You know, Porsche, Ferrari, stuff like that. My car looks completely stock and is still a head turner. I love it, and I'm not giving it up until I drive it into the ground.

This car is impossible not to have fun with. You get this urge to fly around every corner you find. 3 of my friends have cars less then 2 years old and they still want to ride in my 15 year old car on a regular basis.

I paid $2400US for it, paid $300 for state inspection, and now have my dream car in the garage. I haven't put a penny into it since I bought it (minus gas and oil of course).

Anyone who dreams of getting a Porsche after they get filthy stinking rich, try this little car out first.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2001

22nd Sep 2001, 22:38

Fully Agree.


21st Aug 2002, 08:06

I've got the same car with the 4-speed stick, and I agree with you on every aspect.

22nd Apr 2004, 14:20

Excellent! If I were you, though, I would seriously consider putting a few bucks into upgrades. The Fiero is beautiful simply stock (I am currently in love with my SE) but it is like a blank canvas that craves modification, whether it is performance or styling. It's great to see the look on any Civic-owner's face as you leave them drop-jawed in your cloud of dust.

Also, the greatest thing I think I've ever done to any car has got to be what I did about a week ago. I equipped my Fiero with the Holley universal NOS system for six-cylinder engines. I ran the lines under the hood vents and put the purge valves under the vents. Watching this NOS-purge has got to be the greatest thing I've ever seen. Good Luck with your Fiero and don't let her good looks go to waste!

28th Sep 2006, 23:00

I agree

I have two fieros here in Sydney Australia yes they are 20 yr old cars and require work, like any 20 yr old car.

But I will never sell them cause of the looks it gets and they are so cheap to run in fuel

My Honda HRV doesn't have better fuel cost per 100 km than the fiero.

Both fieros have 2800cc V6 mid engine.

Wonderful fun cars.