2001 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 3 of 7

2001 Pontiac Firebird SLP Convertible 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles

Summary:

Look at this thing! You realize it's a firebird?

Faults:

Power Steering Pump had to be replaced at 34000, but this was my fault due to donuts in the parking lot.

Shrill noise when car is started in the cold, but I have heard this is common on all F-Bodies.

General Comments:

This is my dream car.

Being an SLP, this car handles like an absolute dream, like no other car I have ever driven.

It is also remarkably quicker a V6 should be, easily keeping up with some V8's.

Not a good idea to drive one in the winter time, this is how I killed my first firebird.

The convertible top is power operated and is very easy to raise and lower, even driving at about 25 MPH.

The gauges look cool, and the steering wheel audio controls are a nice option.

The engine has a nice rumble, and the car is a huge head turner, especially with the top down it is not uncommon to have random people hanging their head out the window screaming "DUDE I FREAKIN LOVE YOUR CAR".

I would recommend this car to anybody who loves fun in the sun driving and wants to look good in the summertime, and to anybody who lives and breathes performance.

The only thing I hate about the car is it has a mind of its own at times, when it sees a mustang it gets very angry, and will at times attack without warning, speeding up and racing it against my will, at times even fully devouring the mustang and spitting out the driver. This has gotten me in trouble at times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2007

7th Feb 2009, 20:31

Great review, I'm about to buy my first '01 Firebird and can hardly stand waiting for Monday. I feel that mine too may have extreme self control issues when it comes to Mustangs.

17th Feb 2009, 21:24

Yeah...10 less hp at twice the rpm and no torque... wait that's called gutless.

19th Feb 2009, 11:55

True... but that means that it would only slightly have more torque if it were a 6 cylinder. But it would be at a higher rpm range as with Hondas, which would still make the Firebird faster on take off. You want fast - there's the supercharged 3800. The 3800 could have been more powerful, but was held back because GM couldn't produce a tranny that would be able to take the power if a more powerful 3800 was produced.

Funny thing - the Accord 4 cylinder has 1.4l less displacement, but the 3800 still produces the same or better gas mileage in cars that weigh more than the Accord. I guess a better torque range and slower spinning engine will do that.

12th Mar 2009, 18:13

Ah, I hate it when people buy V6 Camaros and Firebirds and think they have something. They don't hold a candle to much of anything on the road. They run low 16s in the quarter mile for God's sake. If you've driven the LS1 counterpart, you know there is a BIG difference between the V6 and V8. What's worse is when they put dual exhaust and an intake on it. It's sad because they'll get dusted by a mildly fast rice burner and they'll think they smoked a fast Camaro.

16th Jul 2012, 18:29

My V6 Firebird runs 14s in the 1/4 and has beaten Mustang GTs. Maybe a lot of it depends on the driver?

18th Jul 2012, 12:53

These 3.8 V6's would beat Mustang V8's all day long, even with the automatic. I used to do that with my Camaro.

8th Aug 2013, 01:09

3.8 V-6 automatic Camaros can beat Mustang GT V-8s all day?

You must live in a dream world.

2001 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am WS6 LS1 V8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission LS1 V8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance4417 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

Screams modern Muscle car.

Faults:

I have had no problems at all. With 4,000 miles I would hope so.

General Comments:

If I had to describe this car in 5 words I would use Fun, Fast, Eyecandy, Rattlebox, and last Cheap (price of the car and build components)

Like any car it has its good and bad qualities. A potential buyer has to ask themselves what they want out of a car.

I wanted a performance car that would go up in value as the months roll on and the mileage stays low. That is what I have.

Things I would change if I where king at G.M.

1. For the love of god after 100 years of making cars can't they build one that doesn't sound like the dash is going to pop out over the bumps? (granted I drive on Michigan roads)

2. After you fix the dash can you make my motor not sound like a diesel when I first start it.

3. Um G.M. 1987 called they want there interior back for a sweet IROC-Z they are re-building.

4. The 6-speed gearbox is great to look at, but when you need to shift its time to concentrate and make zero mistakes or its Find Em Grind Em time. The G.M. engineers should shift a Viper through the gears one time.

5. The radio is almost as bad as Tiny Tim singing in the back seat.

As I read this it sounds like I don't like this car very much?

That is not true I love this car. I just wrote about my dislikes because it would have taken to much space to talk about what I love about this car. Its really quite simple Pontiac is driving excitement period.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2005

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 18 reviews