2001 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 5 of 7

2001 Pontiac Firebird Coupe 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

My 2001 3.8L Pontiac Firebird is a big disappointment

Faults:

In 4 months I have had several problems with this vehicle. There is an intermittent door lock problem which I have tried to have fixed 4 different times and neither dealer can determine the problem. I have also had to replace the brakes, have the backup light replaced due to moisture getting inside, and recently the car has developed a very strange shrill noise when first started on cold mornings.

General Comments:

I have always dreamed of owning a firebird. My first and second cars were both Camaro's, but I've always loved the look of the Firebird more than anything else.

Recently I decided it was time to part with my '95 Camaro since it was almost ready to turn 200,000 miles.

I knew I would be in major trouble if I bought a V8, so I set out in search of a nice V6 Firebird. I found this 2001 that really caught my eye. It was very stylish and sleek... I decided I had to have it.

Unfortunately since my purchase I've decided this car is all show and no go!!! It seems like my 3.4L V6 Camaro had more power than this 3.8L!!!

Overall I'm dissatisfied with the quality and dependability of this car. Everyday I get in the car and wonder what kind of new noise is going to develop. Now that my warranty has expiered I'm very concerned of the costly repairs that might be getting ready to happen!

If you're looking for a sports car I would definitely recommend the Chevrolet Camaro over the Pontiac Firebird.

Firebird has more style, but the Camaro is definitely the more dependable product!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st February, 2004

20th Mar 2004, 11:54

Get a V8, you'll change your tune. I have an LS1 and it is AWESOME!

24th May 2004, 12:30

If I am not mistaken, don't the Camaro and Firebirds have the same engines?

5th Apr 2005, 11:36

All the F-bodies were produced at the same plant in Canada so the reviewer's assertion that the Camaro is better quality than the Firebird has no apparent basis.

Agree with the last comment, though: if you want a weekend fun car, get the V8; if you want a car that you can drive every day, go for the V6. You won't be having to shell out the ripoff prices for gas these days nearly as often.

2001 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 5.7L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Not sure I would buy another Pontiac

Faults:

Had problem with rotors at 22,000 miles.

General Comments:

Rotors were out of round at 22,000 miles and dealer would not fix the problem. Had to complain to Pontiac and they fixed the problem. However, later found out from a former GM employee that Pontiac knew about the problem with the rotors and never let consumers know with a recall. Most people would take dealership's word that it can't be fixed under warranty and wouldn't bother calling Pontiac.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th July, 2003

2001 Pontiac Firebird TRANS AM WS6 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.7 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Most recent distance22541 miles
Previous carGM Z28

Faults:

I know why they quit making them now. the engine had to be replaced they bore the cylinders two big------the tranny #2 band and#4 bands were bad -----the windshield cracked below the dash ---fan blower motor went out ---windows rattled they replaced motors --- all this was warranty, but the junker I bought has been in the shop more than in my garage...2 of the speakers in the 10 speaker system are blown, the inside is plastic hate it... i wish I had bought a used pinto. gm made a wise CHOICE when they stopped production.

General Comments:

Yes it is fast if you can get it started before it breaks down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2003

7th Mar 2003, 03:43

Your problems with your car aren't synonyomous with late model trans ams. In fact, 2001 and 2002 (final year of production) models are 5 star vehicles. I think you have just had some bad luck or were sold a lemon. I myself have a 95 Trans Am and am now just started to have problems with it (new distributor), but my car is 7 years old. Don't bad mouth a superb car based on some bad luck...

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 18 reviews