2001 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am WS6 5.7 from North America


A fast car that has poor build quality


Dash cracked.

Headlight cover flew off.

Brake rotors replaced 3 times.

Gas cap strap broke.

AC controls replaced twice.

Catalytic converter stopped up.

General Comments:

Big piece of junk.

Worse quality than my KIA.

Outstanding power, but could not drive it because it was always in the shop.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th January, 2003

2001 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am WS6 5.7 LS1 V8 from North America


Like power? This is the car


The only thing that went wrong so far is a small (very small) oil leak on the differential where it connects to the drive shaft. Taken care under warranty.

Also, a small rattle that seems to be coming from the passenger door or glove box. Didn't have the time to find the source of the noise. It only happens at cruising speed, 70 or 75mph.

General Comments:

This is the best bang for the buck ever.

If you want to smoke mustangs and ricers alike, this is the car.

Excellent power, amazing torque, a real pleasure to drive (6 speed manual).

Don't EVER get this car with an automatic gear box. It's a waste of money and it takes away the driving pleasure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2003

2001 Pontiac Firebird WS6 5.7L 350 cu. in. from North America


The muscle car lives


I bought it brand new. I went back for a free detail a week later, and all they did was wash it. So thumbs down to the dealer. At 4000 Miles, my transmission blew a gear. They were very angry but had to replace it (4000$ in warranty). The new transmission feels just as crappy as the old one. That's the only problem I have with my baby. Still my dream car, but the transmission is sloppy. It resists being pushed in gears and feels like its loose all the time.

General Comments:

The new Trans Am by Pontiac. Still my dream car. Still turns all the heads. Still leaves em in the dust.

Regardless of the transmission...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2001

10th Oct 2001, 22:02

Sorry sir, but don't downgrade your engine as being a "5.7 350" when it is the Corvette-derived LS-1 displacing 346 cubic inches and is all aluminum. This is a significant improvement over the old 350, and provides proven performance to exceed the old LT-1.

The 325 HP Ram Air WS-6 is indeed the enthusiast's car, and provoking the 6-speed just brings back the flavor from the old big-block GTO's of yore.

9th Dec 2001, 15:13

The transmission in the Trans Am WS6 is in my opinion one of the best transmissions ever made and is by no means a "sloppy" transmition.

2001 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am WS6 from North America


Beauty and performance not seen almost anywhere else


The only thing so far to have gone wrong with my car was there was a slight rattle on the door. I took it in to get it fixed and they said it was taken care of, alas I still heard a rattle. So I opened the door panel myself and found some small plastic part that looks like it fell in there.

That one little thing though bothers me, as I wonder if the dealership WILL actually do the jobs they have to do. But other then that the car is beautiful (NOTE to Pontiac dealerships, this is the first American car I have ever bought, as all my other cars were either German or Japanese. Those cars were dreams and the dealerships took great care of me. Do not make me feel I made a mistake in buying an American car).

General Comments:

I love this car as I fell in love with it when I first saw it at an intersection. I had to have it. This is my first Pontiac (and first American car) and I am very happy with it.

I love the acceleration and the handling is crisp. This car really attracts attention, as when I park it I have people come over to look at it and ask me questions. I just hope Pontiac changes its mind about getting rid of this lineup, as this is the only car they have that I would even consider buying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2001

29th Apr 2004, 13:48

I recently purchased a used 2001 Trans-AM WS6. I love it in every way, except for one minor distraction. When I look out the front center of the windshield (just below the rear view mirror), the view is a little distorted. Looking out straight ahead, the view is fine.

I wonder if this is because the front windshield is so raked and curved or if I have a defective windshield (although I never heard of this kind of defect). Has anyone else had or heard of this condition?

11th Jun 2010, 18:28

Hi, I hate to tell you, but the Trans Am is not an American car, it was built in Quebec Canada, sorry!!!

13th Jun 2010, 07:28

Hi, I hate to tell you, but Pontiac is (or, rather, was) an American brand, which makes the Firebird in all versions an American car, despite the location of the factory.

14th Jun 2010, 09:42

Last I checked, Canada was in America. It's still a domestic U.S. car even though it is built elsewhere. You might as well say the Honda Accord is a domestic car as they are built in Ohio.