1995 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.3 DOHC from North America


I love my car and would buy another with no second thoughts


Weak transmission.

Has an overheating problem.

Brakes squeak.

General Comments:

This car has amazing pick up for a 4cyl..Very impressed.

Excellent stock speakers.

Very easy maintenance, can do all work myself on this car.

Very good on gas.

Handles perfectly in the snow.

I would highly recommend this car to anyone who wants a good reliable car. My grand am has over 160k miles on it and still runs like its off the lot. highly satisfied.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2005

1995 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.1L from North America


Amazing, Pontiac all the way BABY!!!


The seats are a little worn, I need a back pad for long drives.

The head gasket blew at about 176000km, but, Canadian winters have that affect sometimes.

There was no problem with rust, until the paint began to flake off, exposing bare metal to the salt in the winter.

In all, most of the problems I've had, I could maybe have prevented. Like warming the car more before driving, or making sure to undercoat my car EVERY year.

General Comments:

I love my car. There's not a lot more to say about it. Its done me well, and I intend to keep her for a few more years.

The interior was a little dull, but a little bit of creativity and some spray paint fixed that, all the vents are now two-tone painted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2005

3rd Apr 2005, 22:37

It is possible to spray paint interior pieces in a car assuming the right preperation and materials were used. I have seen a cars where it looks great.

1995 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4 liter from North America


The car is great with some exceptions, but it is ten years old!


My alternator blew and cost $450.00 to replace.

My driver's side window doesn't move, at all.

My brakes are beginning to fail.

After high speeds the car seems to lose all pep. The car cannot exceed 95mph.

The car leaks so bad that now I have a lake under my passenger side window.

General Comments:

This car is nice and handles very well.

The inside is very comfortable and roomy.

The stock radio is good for a cassette player.

It's a very safe car. The wheels grip very well.

It's amazing on gas and oil.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2005

13th Jan 2005, 16:01

The brakes are beginning to fail, but you drive it at 95 mph?

Is your will up to date?

13th Jan 2005, 18:18

$450 for a alternator, you got ripped off, mine went out on my 95 GA with quad 4, I got it rebuilt for 100 dollars, including labor, you must have went to a dealer.

1995 Pontiac Grand Am SE V6 from North America


Very good for the money


Front brakes fairly often.


Heater core.

General Comments:

This has been a very good car for 9 years. My wife drove it most of the time with few issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2004

1995 Pontiac Grand Am SE 4 cylinder from North America


Very Expensive


Second day I had the car it over heated.

Bought it with about 70,000 miles.

Changed thermostat about 5 times.

Heater core needed to be replace. $656.00.

Drivers side window is off track and the whole inside of the door is rusted.

All headlights shut off when high beams come on.

When you turn A/C on the car has puddles of water on the floor.

Had to replace the brakes many times.

Car squeaks in the rain.

Constantly over heats.

General Comments:

The car is not one I would recommend.

If you have one sell it ASAP.

Don't buy it with high mileage.

Trade the car ASAP if you have one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th September, 2004

24th Jan 2005, 07:23

My sister also has this car and all the things your talking about have gone wrong to. I can't stand her car because I always have to work on it.

17th Jul 2005, 16:22

Hello I'm Felipe I'm Mexican I live in Atlanta Ga I have one of this cars and the same things happen with my. I need to sell the car for 1 or 2 hundred bucks do you want to buy this thing?.

28th Jan 2006, 21:07

Hey, my '95 grand am is mine and I like it! It's my first car, it was inexpensive and came with an automatic starter. I needed this starter because my car takes about 5 minutes to heat up or else it won't move (but only in cold weather). My driver side window has been fixed two times in the 2 years I've had it. The brakes were fixed at least twice. my car shakes at 80 Km. an hour, my floor is always soaked, but it handles well on turns and accelerates really good. When I can afford a new car I'll get one, until then I like driving my car. oh ya and I need a butter knife to open the gas cover, (the power opener doesn't work anymore.) hope I help someone!

16th Apr 2006, 14:46

Almost $700 for a heater core change are you out of your mind. The part itself is only $35. I know it is a tedious job and you have to get under the dash, but, I am sorry your mechanic is seriously over charging you. My friend has to have the heater core changed in his 97 grand am and having numerous other things done to it as well and total cost is less than $500. A word of advice, find a new mechanic.