1997 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 17 of 41

1997 Pontiac Grand Am GT 2.4 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired142000 miles
Most recent distance161000 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

I love this car, just wish it didn't have so many problems

Faults:

Engine manifold replaced at 148,000 miles.

Ignition coil replaced at 148,000 miles.

Front brakes replaced at 148,000 miles and again with rotors at 158,000 miles.

Clutch replaced at 152,000 miles.

Both head lights blew out at 153,000 miles from stopping too fast.

Ignition module replaced at 161,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love the car appearance, speed, handling and fuel efficiency.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2004

1997 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.5 Litre from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Good

Faults:

Alternator went out 1st year I had it 1998 car had only 37000 miles on it.

Sensor light replaced this year 2004.

Ignition lock key replaced it was on call back 2003.

2004 I have a very loud sound coming from car while driving it sounds like an old fashion radiator heater that used to be in apartments.

Calipers replaced this year and I am told I need rotors.

The black molding around the back window is sticking up at the corners.

General Comments:

This is a very good driving car overall, the manufacture just needs to work on parts that last more than a year.

It's a good car for expressway driving, gets very good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th September, 2004

1997 Pontiac Grand Am GT 2.4 Gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Gasoline Manual
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carNissan 2 X 4 Truck

Summary:

I don't think I want to keep this car

Faults:

The transmission leaks from the passenger-side drive shaft seal.

Front brakes have worn almost down to the metal.

Water pump needs to be replaced.

Driver seat is crooked in its track.

General Comments:

I would really like to fix these problems so I can drive the car, but the more I read other peoples' woes the more I think I should trade it in quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd September, 2004

7th Dec 2004, 09:58

I've only had my Grand Am GT for about 2,500 miles. The brakes already went bad (both front and back vibrate). Wipers are worn out, the car won't crank over most of the time or it lags to crank over. The car vibrates over 70 miles per hour, BADLY! And to top it off the dealership says there is nothing wrong with the whole car. This makes my decision very easy to when I turn my lease in I will never purchase or lease another Pontiac again.

1997 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles

Summary:

Too many design flaws and equipment failures

Faults:

The driver's side window stopped working.

A week later the passenger side window stopped working.

An engine coolant leak that required disassembly of the rear cylinder head.

The front brake rotors warped and had to be replaced. Based on advice from mechanics and information I found on various websites, it's not recommended to cut the original equipment rotors.

General Comments:

Every independent mechanic I talked to was aware of the continuing window motor failures, but the dealer claims it is an uncommon failure.

There will never be another Pontiac in my future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th August, 2004

1997 Pontiac Grand Am SE 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

This is an OK car, but Pontiac really needs to work on some specific parts.

General Comments:

I have owned my Pontiac Grand Am for 5 years, And after reading all the comments on this page I don't feel so bad about the few problems that I have seen. However, The problems that I have read in these reviews sound all too familiar.

The performance end of the car is great. Wonderful pick-up and handling.

We should have know when we first purchased the car that there could be problems because just looking at the engine we could not locate even the spark plugs and wires.

1. I read that most people have had to replace the alternator. I feel that this is common maintenance with any vehicle.

2. I have not have a rear power window for about 3 years now, and I'm beginning to lose my driver's power window now, and when it goes out in the up position, you are just out of luck.

3. The air conditioning is now out and trying to find the "low side" to recharge this creature has been a headache.

We are giving this car to our daughter now. I just hope that it will be something that she (or we) won't be throwing a lot of money into.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2004

22nd Sep 2004, 21:05

I have had several problems with the alternator in this car and the windows.

22nd Nov 2004, 08:17

Hey I had that problem with the air conditioner, I did end up finding the low pressure spot to recharge the coolant, but have you also checked if there is a hole in any of the lines, I had that problem from the fan hitting the hose, email me to find out what you need at dmanning_35@hotmail.com.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 134 reviews