1999 Pontiac Grand Am GT V6 from North America


It's a pretty good car


My head gasket blew at 51000 miles.

My alternator went out at 70000 miles.

Recently at 107000 miles I put on brake pads rotter's, cylinder hub, and barren in tire totaling about $800, and I am still hearing this train noise, or airplane noise. What is it? I've been to the dealer 3 times and they have no idea. It occurs after going up and down a slag hill pressing breaks, and on paved roads after many stops at street lights. It drives me crazy, I'm ready to kill the car over this noise.

General Comments:

This car has been fairly well, no major problems until now 107000 miles.

This car stirs good, and handles the road good.

However the back seat area is to small, and seats are not comfortable they need more cushioning.

Love that back seat folds down for hauling items in trunk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st May, 2007

1st Jun 2007, 09:02

I would call a head gasket serious. I have some cars that still have not had them changed at 250,000 miles. We call it a Honda. Sheesh!

1st Jun 2007, 10:51

Could be a bad wheel bearing. I had a similar problem with the noise and it was one of the wheel bearings which are known for going bad on these cars.

1999 Pontiac Grand Am GT from North America


The engine low coolant light kept coming on, so we had the radiator flushed.

Still the low coolant light kept coming on.

I kept adding more and more coolant in the last few days. I have put in at least 4 gallons of coolant. I started the car up again today after leaving it sat for the last week. Checked the coolant, and again the overflow was empty, so I put 2 gallons of Dex coolant in it while the car was running, to keep an eye on the temperature gauge. Suddenly after allowing the car to run for about 10 minutes, the car shook violently and white smoke poured out of the tail pipes. The car shut itself off, and when I tried to restart it, it would not restart.

I then checked the oil, as it was just changed about 3 months ago, and the car was being used maybe 2 times a week, and there was orange coolant in the oil on the dip stick, covering the dip stick up to about 2 inches from the top.

What is happening, and what can I expect to pay in repairs.

Thank you Jamie.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2007

27th Apr 2007, 18:38

You have a blown head gasket. If you have to put that much coolant into your car constantly and you see no puddles it's a internal leak. Also this problem is common for this car. Sorry this won't be cheap it's going to cost you at least 1200 dollars to get fix or more if you have to get a new engine.

1999 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4 HO from North America


Buying a used car is buyer be ware


I have A problem starting my car when it is cold. I have been told that it may be the fuel pump. What do think?

General Comments:

Fantastic car for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2007

19th Feb 2007, 23:05

Change your battery.

1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4 Gas from North America


The car is good looking Pontiac, but it has many issues like a Fix Or Repair Dailey


Some of the same problems previously stated by the other writers are the same as I have experienced in the past 10 months;

Replaced intake manifold, thermostat, Tires Brakes, Tie rod, and now water pump is scheduled to be replace within 2 weeks.

General Comments:

The car is a very good looking, sporty car. The bible states all that glitter is not GOLD. the car has glitter, yet it lacks value like a CUBIC ZIRCONIA.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th January, 2007

30th Jan 2007, 20:27

Considering your mileage when you bought this car, I'm not surprised that you've had things go wrong with it. I own the same car, down to the motor. I replaced my alternator at 90k, and I just did the timing chain and water pump (both of which were fine) today. With regular oil changes, and checkups, this car has been a great vehicle. I bought it with 12k on it, and now I'm at 150k.

These cars are not Hondas. You've gotta know the motors. Know what parts are prone to breakdowns, and replace them before they go bad. I'm hoping to get 200k out of that motor before getting rid of the car.