2001 Pontiac Grand Am 4 cylinder from North America


Bad taste for car and Pontiac, when they won't stand behind it..


Less than 60K miles and the car is falling apart... I regularly maintain my vehicles, however in the last month I have had to replace the front wheel bearings, fuel pump and fix the drivers door window clips AGAIN...

General Comments:

How can Hyundai offer a 10 year / 100,000 mile warranty vehicle which cost less when Pontiac can't piece together a car to last 60,000 miles...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th April, 2005

2001 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4 Litre from North America


The Car Is Amazing In Every Way


I have only had 1 problem with this car and it was the wheel bearings, but it's a hub and that went at 121,700KM's. No other problems to note.

Service Vehicle Soon Light has come on 1 time at about 70,000Km's that was due to a light bulb being out easy fix.

General Comments:

This car is quick it handles really well.

The car gets great fuel mileage.

The car looks fantastic, sporty and its very roomy.

I keep this car well maintained I do oil changes every 4,500KM's. I read the board and see problems, but I have had none other than the bearings. The car has been good to me and I wouldn't trade it for anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2005

2001 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4 from North America


If you want a good looking car this is it, but if you want it to work too - look elsewhere!


At first, it was small things: locks popping off and fans 1 & 2 not working. Then the steering became noisy and the dealership could never hear the noise or told me it was normal. Within a year it had moved on to bigger things.

In the past 6 months I have replaced the catalytic converter, the water pump, a battery AND starter and finally now it's in the shop because the electrical system isn't broken.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th April, 2005

6th Sep 2005, 20:23

When you turn your steering wheel does it make a whistling kinda noise?? my 2001 Grand Am Se just starting making that noise. I have about 95k on my car.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am GT V6 3.4L from North America


I wish I had been more informed about this series of cars


Battery went bad while under warranty.

Rear window seal leaked.

Driver side seat belt retractor went bad.

Service engine light came on several times and had to reset or replaced as there were no issues.

Lower head gasket was leaking at 34K and was replaced under warranty.

The paint on the front bumper began peeling off.

The paint on the rear view mirrors got spotted (not due to atmospheric conditions) and mirrors had to be repainted.

Still battling a scraping/scrunching noise while driving.

Still battling a clunk/rattling noise in the front end.

General Comments:

The body style of the car is sharp and handles well when being driven.

There is an immense amount of road noise on the highway.

For a new car, there has been a lot of trips to the dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th March, 2005

12th Oct 2005, 08:37

That scraping noise is due to your tires. I can bet you have Goodyear Eagle LS tires size 225/50/16. Pontiac released a technical service bulletin on this. I got hosed for $500.00 + worth of tires 3 weeks after I bought my used Grand Am GT.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4 Ram Air from North America


It's a great car for anyone who likes tight handling with decent power and average fuel economy.


Blew both back speakers, one month apart. Replaced under warranty.

Button came out of gear shift. Easily put back in.

Due to low profile tires, I bent the rim in a large pothole. I had it fixed for $150CDN instead of the $800CDN new ones.

General Comments:

I've had this car for a year and a half and it's been virtually flawless.

It handles great, looks fantastic and has lots of room for any gear you have.

I put a new stereo and speakers in after the factory ones blew out on me and the trunk space allowed me to put in dual 12" subs with room to spare.

I have a Service Vehicle Soon light coming on as of yesterday that I have to look into, but from what I'm reading, it's a loose gas cap or burned out headlight.

A lot of people have had problems with this car, with all the bad reviews I'm reading on these boards, but I'm here to say that the car's been an absolute dream to me and I've enjoyed every minute in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2005

11th Mar 2005, 12:24

Just an update to my review. The Service Vehicle Soon was indeed a blown driver-side headlight.

14th Mar 2006, 01:58


I noticed you said you added dual 12" subs to your grand am. I was wondering if you replaced the 6 x 9s and if you had any problems doing so. I also placed 2 subs and replaced the speakers on my 2000 grand am gt and I am having problems with the 6 x9s.


24th Jul 2006, 22:26

Not too long ago my wife and I went out looking for a new car. We test drove Mustang, Saturn Ion, Scion Tc, Toyota Corolla, Hyundai Tiburon, Honda Accord, Dodge Caliber, the new Pontiac G-6, and a used Grand Am GT with 20,000 miles on it. The Grand Am was absolutely the best driving, best riding, fastest and smoothest of the lot we tested. It was also much better looking than the dog-ugly G-6. I was VERY surprised that the Grand Am was faster than the V-6 Mustang, but the one we drove was. It was also smoother and faster than the Accord.

16th Jan 2007, 20:47

I, ve had my 2001 gt for about 6 months now and I love it. it is very quick and I know for a fact it is faster than the 2005 eclipse v6. I thought it was very impressive. although it is quick on take off, it's not as good on top end, the eclipse did catch up after 100 mph. but who needs to go that fast anyway. as long as it will get up speed taking off, I'm happy, and the gt does that very well!