2003 Pontiac Grand Am SE1 V6 from North America

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

The handling is great & even with high miles it still runs like a champ. I love the sportiness of it.

My mom has a 2004 2 door GT, & I used to drive hers a lot, so when it was time for me to purchase my first car, of course I went with this one, & I have never been happier.

I drive my car back & forth from Ohio to Illinois all the time, & I have never had an issue besides regular maintenance; it is never in the shop.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2012

23rd Aug 2012, 07:34

My dad bought a 1987 Grand Am V6 new back in 1987.

Other than replacing a defective steering rack (which was common on many GM vehicles at that time), it was problem free for as long as he owned it (12 or 13 years).

2003 Pontiac Grand Am SE from North America

Summary:

My opinion is this car is about to be tossed off a cliff

Faults:

My family bought the car in 2004. Worked and ran fine the whole time.

I bought it from my mother in Dec 2011. Since then I have had to fix in order: spark plugs, belts, battery, alternator, more belts, pulleys, rear end (from a wreck), coolant tank, and brake pads.

Then the car locked up and wouldn't start. The security light came on. We checked everything. We left the battery unplugged for 15 minutes, and then it started. It's been two weeks since then, and now it won't start even if the battery is left unplugged overnight. From what I've read online, it's the Passlock sensor, but the techs at a dealership (where the car wasn't bought) think it's the "car's brain" that has a leak or a broken connection.

General Comments:

It's good until it wants to break down, and then everything goes wrong at once.

Lots of trunk space, and a big back seat for the kids.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2012

22nd Jul 2012, 19:58

Under faults you listed, mainly regular maintenance items on a 9 year old car; those things are expected to need replacement on all vehicles.

2003 Pontiac Grand Am GT1 SC/T 3.4 from North America

Summary:

Opt for the GT

Faults:

Driver's side window for the 3rd or 4th time has gone screwy. Just have it up for now, and plan to keep it that way for now..

Tires, oil changes, normal stuff. Although the car was in real rough shape when I got it, but it runs rather smooth now.

General Comments:

I've got the fully loaded, 30th Anniversary SC/T GT1, metallic burnt orange color! Looks real sharp in the sun with the superb paint, and very eye catching lines and hood scoops.

The car is really, truly quick. I've been in 350Z, Mustangs, Cadillac CTS, newer bucks, and the AM is no slug by comparison in any way. Has a really stiff sports car feel to it, for amazing hair pin turning. Burnouts are too easy with such powerful torque production; ram air really works on the highways.

Eye catching sharp sporty car with everyday practicality at an affordable price? There is no better car, because the car is in a class of its own, and years down the road, will be considered still sexy, and definitely a classic!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2011

23rd Jul 2012, 17:55

I'm not sure I'd agree with comment 19:58. Our 10-year-old GM with 105,000 miles has never had a single repair. No hoses, no belts, not even a brake job.

Our experience with both Ford and GM has been that they generally require absolutely nothing but tires and batteries for at least 100,000 miles.

We owned a 2001 Grand Am, and in 9 years it never required a single repair. When I see claims on this site about cars needing things like brake jobs at a measly 30,000 miles, I strongly suspect that someone has been guilty of deception by an unscrupulous shop or dealership. I never even bother to check any of the fluids, brake pads, hoses or coolant until at least 50,000 miles or 6 years, whichever comes first. When I checked the power steering fluid, transmission fluid, brake fluid, hoses and belts on our Grand Am at 50,000 miles; everything was perfect.

Not long ago I did a 100,000 mile check on our other GM vehicle, and nothing needed attention on it either. In 105,000 miles, it has never had coolant added, power steering fluid added, freon added, transmission fluid added or brake fluid added. Of course none of our Ford or GM vehicles ever uses oil between the short 10,000 mile change intervals, so I never bother to even check the oil.

5th Dec 2012, 21:49

That may be so, but it's a little different when previous owners beat on the car; flying over train track jumps ain't too good for the car. Also got the vehicle at 130,000 k; needed typical repairs for what was done to it and such. Never bad mouthed the car at all. All cars have different repairs for different reasons.