2003 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 8 of 13

2003 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4 ram air V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.4 ram air V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

Junky unreliable and cheaply built

Faults:

My fist problem began at 28,000 miles when the whole brake system had to be replaced. then at 32,000 my driver window regulator broke. then at 36,000 the intake gaskets on the engine had to be replaced, at 49,000 the gaskets were replace again, and then again at 52,000 each time by the dealer with supposedly an upgraded gasket kit. HAHA.

General Comments:

Biggest peice of crap ever I will never own another pontiac of any type.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th November, 2006

2003 Pontiac Grand Am from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Nice little car, just one annoying quirk

Faults:

It randomly won't start because of the factor security system. I read somewhere on-line that leaving the key in for 10-15 minutes (or until the Security light stops blinking) will fix it. It always starts after that, but it's annoying. I'm not sure what triggers it, and from what I've read it's documented in the owner's manual (which wasn't in my car when I bought it used) and there's nothing that can be done.

Also, the upholstery has started to come loose on one of the back doors.

General Comments:

Other than that, it hasn't given me problems. It's small, drives well, and I like it alright for what I paid for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2006

10th Aug 2006, 07:23

That ticking noise coming from your steering wheel column is your multi-function switch which costs about $300 (Canadian currency). If the car is still under your 3 year/60,000km warranty, have it replaced as it's a defect. I had mine replaced. My 2003 Pontiac Grand AM review is on this site under "A nice first car" if you want to see my problems with my car.

Jason.

6th Nov 2006, 00:31

Well I just read this comments about the security systems and I am happy to find out what might help my car. I will inform the forum is this lovely secret work, I ended up stranded because of it.

11th Apr 2008, 10:51

My 2003 Pontiac Grand Am is doing the clicking (sounds like the blinker is stuck on but at a more rapid pace). I called the dealership, they said it was my multi-function switch, but I brought it to a garage and they said that it was my "flasher", so I got that replaced instead (against the dealer's plea, not to replace the flasher because it would be a waste of money) and... it did not fix it!! I am being told that it is either a short in the wiring or the multi-function switch. Word of advice, don't replace the flasher, it ended up costing $110 and it did nothing!

2003 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

UNRELIABLE

Faults:

-catalytic converter need to be replaced 30000-40000 km

-new rotors and brakes 3 times in 3 years

-can feel every bump in the road - bad suspension

-

General Comments:

This car feels like it falling apart slowly and is not made to last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd November, 2005

14th Dec 2005, 18:47

You are supposed to feel the bumps, especially in the GT which has a sports-tuned suspension so it is more stiff. It is also low to the ground. If you want the car to feel like your driving a tank and not feel the road go buy a Deville.

2003 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance68500 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Awesome car for the money, fun to drive

Faults:

Not a thing.

General Comments:

I have owned a '99 Pontiac Grand Am GT, then traded it in on a 2003 Pontiac Grand Am GT.

I have kept the normal standard maintenance up on the car, oil changes, fuel filters, changed trans fluid etc and have not had a bit of problem with these cars. My 1999 had like 120,000 miles on it, and the same thing, I never had a bit of trouble out of the car.

I drive approximately 65 miles one way to work at speeds of 80 mph+. Both my '99 & '03 have been awesome cars.

The tires are expensive to replace, but worth it, with proper rotation (every 7000 miles, I do this myself) the tires last well over 60K miles.

I saw the other review on another GT, and basically wanted to dispute it.

I am not an easy person on my vehicles by any means, but I still haven't had any problems.

I have dressed my new GT up a little with accessories.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2005

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 43 reviews