2003 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 4 of 13

2003 Pontiac Grand Am GT Sedan Ram Air 3.4L V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54 miles
Most recent distance57544 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Nice, sporty, and would buy again

Faults:

We owned our 2003 GT for 7 years. We have not had any major problems until now.

Basic oil lube, and just bought a brand new set of tires at 50K miles.

We discover the intake gasket valves needed to be replaced. Not too big of a deal, but could have caused serious problems if not fixed.

This has been a great vehicle. Too bad Pontiac is not still around. Don't be surprised if they revive this in 5 years.

General Comments:

Handles great around turns.

Nice acceleration.

Tight steering, which I like in a sporty car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2010

15th Apr 2010, 17:36

"Don't be surprised if they revive this in 5 years."

Sorry, but Pontiac isn't coming back unless they are revived as Buicks and Chevrolets.

Pontiac, in my opinion, committed suicide when they got rid of this car. No matter how many people thought it was unreliable (judging by the majority of the other Grand Am reviews on here), it was still their bestseller, and the G6 didn't light a candle to it.

2003 Pontiac Grand Am from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

On scale of 1-10.. I would give this vehicle an 8

Faults:

Had air-conditioner problems at 53,000 miles.

Had front bearing problems at 60,000 miles.

Had intake leaking problems at 76,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love the way this car handles and rides rather nice. But, I have had a lot of incidences with this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2009

2003 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Fun

Faults:

The only problems I have had with the car is the light for the clock on the dash went out.

I have to replace my brake rotors and pads after one year of ownership.

General Comments:

I bought this car just over a year ago, and I love it. I wish it was a standard like my last car, but it's still a great car.

It's fun to drive, and very comfortable for those long road trips.

I would recommend this car to anyone. I also take really good care of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th October, 2008

2003 Pontiac Grand Am SE1 3.4L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Great family/commuter car

Faults:

Front brakes wore quickly and tend to warp, typical GM.

Both front wheel bearings.

Wiper mechanism (not motor).

Hot/Cold adjustment knob tends to work at times and not work at other times.

General Comments:

Overall we love it. Lots of room for two of us and one child. Lots of get up and go and handles wonderfully.

Great on fuel considering the 3.4L V6, and cheap to maintain.

Interior is comfortable and sporty with decent quality.

Great car to pick up used if you can.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2008

2003 Pontiac Grand Am from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Most recent distance89000 miles

Summary:

Great Car!

Faults:

Problems

1. The security light blinks and sometimes stays on.

2. Car not starting for no apparent reason.

Fix.

After surfing the Internet I found these two problems related and a simple fix if you don't want to pay to fix it properly. It seems there is a glitch in the computer or something.

1. Try to start car after seeing car doesn't start...

2. Turn key back to ACC (not all the way off) let key sit in this position for 11 min or more (not under 11 min or it won't work)

3. Turn key to off position let key sit for 30 sec or more (not less than 30 sec or it won't work)

4. Try to restart car I find it usually works on 1st attempt, but the Internet says this can be repeated 4 times and you should be able to start car.

General Comments:

I love this car otherwise it is very comfortable, and handles great in summer or winter!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2008

2003 Pontiac Grand Am from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Pretty good

Faults:

Keep in mind, my car has 142,000 miles on it, so some of this I expect to be replaced.

- Brakes 3 times, noisy brakes.

- Battery.

- Fuel pump.

- Both front wheel bearings replaced.

- CD player replaced 2 times.

- Window control motor replaced.

- Window controls regulator and bezel replaced 2 times.

- Turn signals won't work randomly (use the emergency flashers to get them working again - this is a recall, but my local dealership won't fix it stating the recall is expired. Although, I bought my car in 2004 and it didn't start doing the blinker thing until 2007)

- Horn honks about 7 seconds after the car is put into park and is still running, or if you start the car and don't immediately put into drive or reverse. (Any suggestions on why this happens? And it has nothing to do with my keyless entry - already tried that - it started doing this after my battery was jump started one day)

- Intake manifold gasket.

- Water pump.

- Driver's window is off track because the plastic piece broke inside the door panel. So if you roll it down, you have to catch it before it falls into the door.

- Windshield wiper motor replaced.

- Front windshield leaks (have a friend that does auto glass and he sealed it up for me)

- Cruise control quit working yesterday.

- Some dash lights randomly come on, and I've had to have those reset.

- Shifting hard from park to drive/reverse (my friend has a 2000 Grand Am and this happened to her, and it ended up being the computer - $500 to fix - guess it's better than a transmission)

- Lights dim when I press the brakes - no problems found - it's done this since I bought it.

- The AC/heater fan makes a clicking noise on 1 and 2, but not on 3, 4 or 5. I'ts still working on 1 and 2, but I'm prepared for it to quit.

There might be a few more things that I'm not thinking of, but this is the bulk of it.

General Comments:

I like the look of the car and the way it handles.

Some of the problems that have occurred I know are wear and tear. Other problems I know were recalls - which happen.. But a few, well, they just blow my mind.

It's been a pretty good car all together, though.

I would buy another GM product.

It's 10 times better than the Mazda I owned before it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2008

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 43 reviews