1999 Pontiac Montana Reviews - Page 17 of 18

1999 Pontiac Montana from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres

Summary:

Extended Warranty is recommended

Faults:

Intake Manifold Gasket replaced at 80,000 km. We went through Arbitration to get GM to repair. Two weeks later the coolant light is back on.

Inside handle on back hatch broke.

Water leaks into back hatch.

We have always had difficulty starting the vehicle.

Stereo volume control inconsistent.

There is a strange vibrating noise when travelling on the highway. We have been unable to diagnose.

General Comments:

We highly recommend keeping this vehicle under warranty.

Disappointed that every issue requires serious nagging at service department to have a repair made. Some of our problems have been minor, but are a real frustration to have fixed due to lack of General Motors service and responsibility.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd July, 2002

2nd Aug 2002, 09:55

On the inconsistent stereo volume issue: does your stereo have the feature that automatically increases the stereo volume as speed increases? This could be what is happening. This feature can be disabled. Check the manual for directions.

4th Nov 2002, 10:36

My 2000 Montana (42000 miles, 2 1/2 yrs old) is currently in the shop with the very same problem. Seems to be a common trend with these vehicles. How did you go about taking GM through arbitration? I'd like to do the same. Thanks.

15th Jan 2004, 16:13

Regarding the volume control, our '99 Montana Radio/CD volume nob does not respond well either. As the Knob is turned CCW the volume will increase for a half rotation or so before coming down. The volume control on the wheel works fine. However, this is the least of my problems because the cam shaft just broke (77,500 miles) so we are installing a rebuilt engine next week. My independent shop said this is a common occurrence with Montanas. Other problems: Air bag light is on, alternator replaced around 60,000, transmission abrupt up-shift, Rear AC failed about 15,000, broken cup holders. Otherwise we are satisfied.

17th Jan 2006, 16:30

I Love it!

Mind you I just bought it. Used, 160Km. Just changed the plugs. It is ultra luxurious, quiet, amazingly super fast, and feels solid. I keep thinking it is huge, it feels huge, but the modern technology makes it seem like a modular marvel.

The previous owner changed the intake gasket I hear is common to these. My rad coolant level sensor light is on when warm, I'll change it with the death-cool dextron as it is getting old and I do not want it to eat at any gaskets (I will be sure to use mineral free distilled water too). The aluminum hood had corrossion/bubbles. The radio LED is out. But other than this it is great and I just oil sprayed it.

I got it used, well taken care of, and dirt cheap or perhaps I would not be as impressed if I paid 40 grand for it 6 years ago.

I recommend this van to anyone.

20th Aug 2006, 08:50

Some vibration noises are attributed to the rear air conditioning cooling lines. slipping on some foam water pipe insulation or wedging some plumbers putty between the lines will correct this.

1999 Pontiac Montana Extended 3.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carPontiac Montana

Summary:

LOUSY

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 45500 miles.

General Comments:

I called general motors to purchase a Head Gasket. I was told there isn't any

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th April, 2002

2nd Oct 2004, 22:00

Just wait about 30000 more miles you will be fed up with gm and there unresponsiveness to your problems.

1999 Pontiac Montana 3.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

This van has many expensive problems that seem to keep coming up all the time

Faults:

When I first got the van the windshield started leaking. I had that repaired for $200.00.

The second problem that I had with my van was with the intake gasket. It started leaking antifreeze. That cost me $800.00 to get repaired.

The next item was the transmission. It started up shifting very hard. The dealer repaired it for $743.00.

Then my wife was driving down the interstate and the engine died. I had it towed to the dealer to find out that my camshaft broke and would need a complete rebuild for $2500. I chose to buy a new GM engine for $2700 and $675.00 for installation. After all was said and done the bill was $3800.00.

Now the outside temperature is not working properly. I have not repaired that item as of yet.

General Comments:

This van when working drives and runs great. I am now happy with the van after the transmission and the engine. I feel that I now have a new van again. I will not buy a General Motors product again. If any one has any questions about my problems you can reach me at: todd_oak@yahoo.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th February, 2002

15th Jul 2002, 18:22

I have a 1997 Transport extended van, that experienced many problems (poor brakes/rotors, leaky windows, etc.). The kicker was the engine oil pump failure/coolant leakage, leading to total engine failure at 67,000 miles. Of course, I did not know of the problem, as the car was regularly maintained and showed no sign of failure. Oh yeah--I was in the middle of nowhere when this happened. $3,800.00 for new engine--and found out today that the dealer left three engine mount bolts loose (or off!). No more GM for me!

Doug.

dougjazz@aol.com

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 55 reviews