1997 Pontiac Sunfire from North America


Do not buy!! worst car ever!


I purchased the car from my Mom who rarely drove it, but kept it in excellent condition. It drove great until I hit 50K and it was all downhill from there. Since then I have replaced:

Valve cover gasket (twice)

Water pump/ hoses


Fuel injectors (twice)

Serpentine belt (twice)


Alternator (twice)

Rear Passenger tail light (I don't even know how many times)



Windshield washer fluid does not work.

Every seatbelt cover has broken off.

The trunk lock sticks and the trunk is unable to open about 80% of the time.

Side panels have fallen/popped off.

Window roller handle pops everytime it is used.

I KNOW that there is more, but I can't think of it right now.

General Comments:


This is the worst car I have ever owned. In the last year alone, I have put more money into this car than what it is worth X 3!

I understand that older cars require more maintenance, but this is ludicrous!

My car has become the reason why no one I know will ever by a pontiac. NEVER AGAIN!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th June, 2007

1997 Pontiac Sunfire sunfire GT 2.4 quad from North America




Well I bought the car second hand, 8 months after I had it I lost the engine and transmisson. and with a new with 60,000 km on it, I have coolant leak, the mechanic thinks its the head gasket. well to fix that, aint no cheap thing, I put stop leak in it and I hope that works. I will never own another gm product again... I am tired of spending money on this thing.

General Comments:


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th June, 2007

12th Dec 2010, 20:39

Yes, because buying one of the least expensive cars a company makes is a good judge of all the other car's quality.

1997 Pontiac Sunfire from North America


This is the worst excuse for a car ever made


Steering rack failure at 45,000.

Engine blew up at 50,000.

Transmission blew at 65,000.

Computer failed at 70,000.

Car overheated starting at 30,000.

General Comments:

Everything that could go wrong with this car did.

Upon purchasing the car brand new in 1997 I did not expect to have all the issues with the car.

Not only was it always in the shop, but the warranty did not cover the issues, such as a new engine.

After I paid 10,000 dollars in repairs, I contacted GM to report that the car was indeed a LEMON. They did not want to even listen to what I had to say. Come to find out that many of the issues I paid to fix actually came up on recalls, years later after I sold it.

I would highly recommend never buying a sunfire. If you even think that the car is a great car for your child as a starter car, than think again. This is what my parents thought was best for me. Instead the car broke down and left me on the side of the road.

Now that I am 30 years old, I would never buy my kids this car, or even a GM product due to this! Stay far, far, away from this car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd May, 2007

23rd May 2007, 16:10

10,000 dollars in repairs? Why did you get get another car if it was that bad.

29th May 2007, 11:08

I did buy a new car after I sold the sunfire!

I have had my Lexus SC430 for 5 years now and have had no issues from this car! For what it's worth Lexus stands behind they're products and I would recommend never buying a GM product again!

1997 Pontiac Sunfire 2.2 from North America


Got my money's worth


Replaced the battery once, alternator once and fuel tank.

General Comments:

Car runs like a champ with no plans to retire it soon. Starting to rust on both doors. Hope to make it to 300,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd December, 2006

1997 Pontiac Sunfire GT 2.2 from North America


Great, but the manufacturer needs more work on the engine and power train


My starter went at 249,000 km. Had a friend change it for me, now problem has re-occurred and is covered by the warranty.

Trans went at 240,000 km, which sucked. Cost me 1,900 bucks.

Seat's have the inner springs pushing out the back.

General Comments:

I like this car. It is really sporty and has some balls.

I don't like spending this much money on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th July, 2006

18th Aug 2006, 18:55

It has 250,000 kms, what were you expecting???