2000 Pontiac Sunfire Reviews - Page 15 of 15

2000 Pontiac Sunfire GT 2.4 Twin Cam from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Twin Cam Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance51010 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

I love it, but I hate it

Faults:

At 200 miles I had speed sensor in trans fixed.

Trans fluid leaking.

Window regulators replaced 2 times.

Engine misfiring due to wires breaking.

Top plate or strut bearing bad now.

Radio replaced twice.

Fog lights inoperable, light out.

Wheel bearings have gone twice.

Gas door jammed into body.

Rotors warped.

Gasket for exhaust pipe to manifold bad.

Door belt moldings chipped and replaced twice.

Faulty turn switch signal.

Seat belts won't retract.

Seat squeaks.

Drive belt bad.

Tail lights and dashboard lights inoperable, wires at multifunction switch connectors bad.

Pressure control solenoid replaced.

Engine sounds like there is a rod knock right now.

I just hit 50,000 miles!!!

General Comments:

I love my car, but it is a piece of junk. I am buying something away from Pontiac for the rest of my life. The dealership is never any help, and Pontiac Customer Service is just like the dealership. If you call them and complain enough, you may be able to get the extended warranty for FREE!!! I did. I called Michigan and everything. I have a lemon, but its too late now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th November, 2002

18th May 2004, 19:15

I would like to know if you have "G2" on your serial number. I think the "G2" models are lemons. My boyfriend has a 2002 pontiac sunfire SLX and he had so much trouble with it. I just want to verify if it's true. Thanks.

3rd Sep 2005, 13:28

We have also found that Pontiac could care less about their customers.. We had a trunk leak 2 days after we got the car.. and lost 100$ worth of first aid equipment as a result. This car btw was brand new. You would think they might replace the kits at their cost to keep us happy.. but neither the dealer nor pontiac's warranty department would have anything to do with it except to "FLIP" the rubber on the trunk.!!! it was on BACKWARDS!!!

2000 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14 kilometres
Most recent distance63000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A great economy car, but could use more refinement

Faults:

Strut bearings have been replaced twice. However, I have an after-market strut tower brace, and maybe that's why?? Oh well, GM keeps paying for them!

Dirty fuel injectors. Cleaned them, and now it's like a new car again.

Rattles, rattles, rattles. Drives me NUTS!

Could use more power from the 2.2L.

General Comments:

I put a K&N air filter in it. Helps a bit with power, plus I think it keeps the air cleaner for the engine.

Strut tower brace really helps with directional stability. Improves steering response big time!

Had the dealer put Michelin X-One tires on it when it was new. 62,000km and hardly any wear at all. Plus their great in the snow and ride smoothly.

Good long distance car. Will cruise at 140km/h all day!

Good gas milage.

Premium gas makes a difference with this car - at least on the highway. Try it. You'll get better millage!

Drive it 220km a day now, and it never gets uncomfortable.

Has never let me down!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2002

2000 Pontiac Sunfire Coupe SE 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

A great car for a good price

Faults:

My instrument panel lights keeps going on. T/C, motor light, ABS, service light. These lights started coming on at 19,000 km.

Rubber around the passenger side door was coming off at 29,000.

General Comments:

I like my car a lot. It is reliable, quick and just what I want.

I only have a few problems with the dash-lights though. The company is working to fix these problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2001

2000 Pontiac Sunfire from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance13800 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

It's a lemon

Faults:

The remote control has been "fixed"+/or replaced X6 and I had to call a tow truck again tonight.

Paint finish has stains at all corners on the windows and they will not come off.

Electrical system problem drains my battery and I am left stranded.

Gas gauge gets stuck at 1/4 tank, again leaving one stranded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th April, 2001

23rd Jul 2001, 12:33

I have a 2000 Sunfire that has been in the shop 23 times in 22 months and it is going in again.

The fuel pump has been replaced 3x, the fuel sending unit 2x, and it is still running rough.

I have been complaining about tranny problems since 10,000 miles and it is still not fixed!

14th Sep 2002, 15:44

I have a 96 Pontiac Sunfire, and it is a lemon. We replaced the starter five times, altenator twice, air conditioning pump three times, clutch three times, and each item is still giving us problems. The sad thing is, each time that I have it fixed, it breaks before I can sell it.

22nd Mar 2003, 14:06

I have 2000 Pontiac Bonneville SSEi. with 31,000 Km. (19,000 miles). The paint on the lower body just ahead of the rear wheels is washing off (not peeling). This vehicle is driven only on paved roads, and kept in a closed garage when not in use. The Pontiac dealer says that this is normal wear and tear. The G.M. customer relations person was not prepared to help rectify the problem either. Our 1980 Camaro has 330,000 Km. (205,000 miles), and the paint is still in place. G.M. has obviously forgotten how to paint. Other problems with the Pontiac are: The heating/ac. electronic control display unit stopped working (repaired under warranty). Also the transmission dipstick would not stay down (replaced under warranty), but it still will not stay properly seated.

21st Jun 2007, 18:27

I have a 2000 Pontiac Sunfire and I absolutely hate it. I had transmission problems 2 weeks after I bought it. Now I'm having air conditioning problems. My passenger side seat will not lock into place so everytime I hit the brakes my passenger will slide into the dashboard. I wish I would not have ever even thought about buying this car.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 63 reviews