2000 Pontiac Sunfire sedan 4 cylinder from North America


It's OK only if someone gave it to you. Don't buy it


Brake lights went out twice causing me to dish out about $130.

Wheels scrubbed when I'd turn left due to steering column.

Gauge light at 50mph mark went out.

Starter is bad. Maybe because of the recall about it catching on fire?

Had to replace the fuel filter.

Currently broke down at my job due to fuel pump. (probably).

Paint chipped and pinstripe wore off.

General Comments:

It's a fast, cheap, car; especially for teens.

However, I don't think it is worth the maintenance and the money you put into it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2005

3rd May 2005, 06:33

What exactly happened with the steering column that made it scrub when turned left? My car does the exact same thing.

8th Apr 2006, 14:59

Problem solved, your tirod is shot, replace it and the steering column problem will be gone!

2000 Pontiac Sunfire SE from North America


If I had it to do all over again, I would passed up my sporty new ride


My gas gage has never worked properly.

Car has taken to overheating for no apparent reason.

The head has warped.

The CD player only works half the time.

General Comments:

This is in response to the previous comments that I have been reading about the problems we all seem to be having with this model of car.

I have just recently spent over $1,000 to fix my Sunfire. I have a lot of the same problems with my car that have been mentioned in previous reviews.

My car had the eratic gas gage levels and the stalling. I inquired several different times with the local dealership as to the cause and they were only able to tell me that it could be 1 of 26 different things.

I do not have the money to replace 26 different things on this car in hopes that I might get lucky and fix the problems within the first few tries.

Here are some of the things that I replaced before I finally got it fixed. The first thing that the dealership suggested was the ignition module, which cost over $100, then there was the thermostat which runs about $8.00, the the fuel filter, another $20.00, and finally when all was said and done, the fuel pump at a cost of $200.

On top of all of this my car started running hot and overheating for no reason. This eventually caused the head to warp and I had to have 20 thousandths shaved off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th September, 2004

8th Dec 2005, 23:40

I am also a victim of the SunFire Shinanagans. And I spent $2800 fixing a Seized engine. Not to mention the time it was in a repair garage not being worked on because the machanic could't figure out how to keep the car at idle. After finally remembering that the car has to learn to idle on its own we finally got it running. But it never ran as good as it used to.

So now 4 months later and it's overheating again. I'm beyond words with this car and I'm tapped out of cash and can't afford another. I should have taken it to a "Pontiac" dealer and got raked over the coals once. That's my suggestion to anyone unfortunate enough to have one of these cars.

2000 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.4 liter from North America


Bargain for teen drivers


The car would not start at around 40,000 miles : fixed under warranty, I had to get new brakes around 40,000 miles: also fixed under warranty, something is wrong with the oil filter; the steering wheel is making a very strange noise at around 60,000 miles, speakers rattle and it has a recall; something about the starter catching fire.?

General Comments:

This is a good starter car for teenagers, it's not too roomy though and the paint scratches extremely easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2004

2000 Pontiac Sunfire 4 Door SE 2.2 from North America


It be a little Grocery Getter, but it's a cool little car


I got the car the 1st of December in 2003.

When I got it the radio's light side was burned out.

One week after I got the car the mileage light burned out, since I bought it from a friend I couldn't take it to the dealer and get it fixed, I called the dealer and they said it would be over 300 bucks to get it fixed so I said forget it, I'll just shine a light on it to see it once and a while.

So far nothing else has gone wrong with it.

General Comments:

I like how the radio has an info button so you can see who is singing what.

The seats are very comfortable.

The person that I bought it from had a sunroof put in and that helps having light come through the roof during the winter so your car gets warm in parking lots.

Takes off very good for a little 4 banger.

Great on gas.

I likes it's sporty look on the outside.

That's about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2004

3rd Feb 2006, 09:34

I've had the same problem with my mileage light. I bought it used and it's never worked. I just have to shine a light on it to see.