2000 Pontiac Sunfire Reviews - Page 3 of 15

2000 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2 liter from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Outstanding buy, 100% reliable

Faults:

Nothing but a minor idle issue.

General Comments:

Outstanding car for $20,000. Well worth the money.

With a little bit of performance parts, it's better then everyone makes it out to be. Everything is still original except for the exhaust and intake, and the O2 sensor chip.

Original ball joints on 200,000 miles. What other car can you do that with? Definitely not a Chrysler "he he". GM rocks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2008

2000 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

While not the nicest car on the lot, this car is definitely reliable

Faults:

The first problem I had with the car was actually my fault... I changed the spark plugs and one of the wires wasn't pushed all the way onto the coil, so it rusted out and had to be replaced. Probably around 80000 miles.

Next was the water pump around 100000 miles. Easy fix... for my girlfriend's dad.

Ignition control module went out recently. When I finally got one that worked, good to go.

It seems my throttle body is dirty, with an idle around 2500 rpm. Some cleaner should do the trick.

A/C quit working sometime before 100000 miles. There's a leak somewhere, new can lasted a week.

General Comments:

I've messed with my radio a million times, airbag has never deployed.

The lid to fill the gas goes in too far and sticks a lot, no biggie.

It seems I may have been lucky with my car. Seems everyone has a ton of problems and hates theirs. I have had very few problems. The car is very reliable, and although not powerful, is good on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2008

2000 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

You get what you pay for

Faults:

I never had a problem with the car for the first 3yrs I owned it. Then one day my a/c wasn't working and I had to replace the a/c pump. after that the car was fine for a while. then one day the blower, heater, and a/c quite. I don't know witch direction to go with it. I know the blower works cause it took it out and tested it. I'm trying to figure out what would make everything just quite working. I also checked fuses. any suggestions.

General Comments:

Nice little car with lots of power for it's size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th June, 2008

17th Jun 2008, 14:43

Here's one:

Did you check the PCM/HVAC fuse under the hood in the main fuse block? It is a 50A fuse. If it's gone, then all those things you mentioned will not have power. If that fuse is good, then you could have a bad blower motor relay or resistor. If the fan only works in 'Hi' then for sure it is the blower motor resistor. Hope this helps.

By the way, you did check ALL the fuses with a test light, right?

Good Luck!

2000 Pontiac Sunfire from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Faults:

My engine all of a sudden started to make a sound and the only way to explain it is, it sounds like a remote control car.

The brakes skip after it rains, or sometimes just in the morning when there is dew.

My gage says I have 1/2 tank of gas and it runs out.

If anybody else can contact me about these issues with some advice on how to fix this please, please, please do so. I really do like this car and I would hate to have to find another one.

My email is dreamnc8@hotmail.com

Thank-you!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st May, 2008

2000 Pontiac Sunfire sunfire GT 2.4 twin cam from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4 twin cam Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 kilometres
Most recent distance141000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac honda

Summary:

The best car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The car is great I never had a problem with it,and I maintain in excellent condition, and it is modified the way I like it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2008

2000 Pontiac Sunfire GT 2.4L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance183000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Crappy

Faults:

Ever since I got this car, I have had nothing but problems with it. These are all the things I can list since purchasing this car in 2003:

The back speakers don't work.

The brakes constantly go on it.

NO high beams.

ABS light comes on.

Daylight lights don't work, and flash off and on when I drive, then the service light comes on.

The radio doesn't turn off when I am done using the car.

My interior lights, rear view mirror, and light above didn't turn off, and my car was filled up with smoke. Needless to say I am driving around with NO interior lighting!!!

Now as of tomorrow I am taking my car to a mechanic to get them to look at it, because my engine light came on; this started after the fact that last week my car started to chug, and then I had to proceed to press on the gas to keep the car from stalling!!!

In the last couple of weeks I have paid 800.00 to get this piece of crap fixed because of 2 wheel bearings. If it's one thing, another gets added to it!!! GM needs to do a recall on this make, model, and year!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th March, 2008

24th Mar 2009, 12:02

I have several of the same problems with mine. The flashing lights, all kinds of electrical problems. Only half of my dash lit when I bought it, so you could not see what the radio was on or read the clock. The dealer said they couldn't fix it.

Now my engine has blown. I just made my last payment a few months ago. I can't find anyone who even wants to work on it.

I think we should demand GM recall and fix the common problems we all share.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 63 reviews