2000 Pontiac Sunfire Reviews - Page 4 of 15

2000 Pontiac Sunfire 2.4 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles

Summary:

This model is a piece of crap!

Faults:

Instrument cluster failed and left us stranded on the road.

Transmission failure left us with one gear.

Ignition switch failed and left us stranded again.

General Comments:

Forget buying this car.

It is underpowered (we do live in the mountains though).

We experienced an "instrument cluster" failure at approximately 65,000 which left us stranded on the road. After a dealer charged $650.00 to fix it, he mentioned that this was a relatively common problem.

At about 70,000 the transmission became erratic and wouldn't shift above 1st gear. This repair cost $2450.00.

One week later, we were stranded again when the ignition switch failed. This cost $216.00 to fix.

The dealer who fixed this told us the car is worth $2000 now.

The dealers we have dealt with and the car itself have sucked!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2008

23rd Feb 2008, 03:50

DITTO! I've known a few that bought those, buyer beware...

2000 Pontiac Sunfire 2.2L SOHC from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2L SOHC Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72500 miles
Most recent distance72550 miles
Previous carAudi 100

Summary:

Decent daily driver with good gas mileage, you get what you pay for

Faults:

Even though I only purchased the car a week ago, I am experiencing problems already.

Three days after purchase, I took apart the rear deck cover to see what the speaker situation was and to look over for considerations of new speakers. Found out that left side sound doesn't work at all in the rear only, has a aftermarket head unit and believe maybe a disconnected wire, but nonetheless its very concerning because I want to put a good system in this car.

Four days after purchase, biggest snow around here (WV) of the year. Car doesn't perform well in snow at all. I didn't expect it to be outstanding, but it is very light handling and slides easily.

Four days after purchase, while driving home, check engine light comes on. Great! Haven't had the car to the shop yet to see what the code might be, it isn't doing anything seemingly unusual, but it still concerns me.

General Comments:

The car is pretty nice as far as being a good daily driver. Decent gas mileage, fun to drive with the five-speed. Car has some pretty good potential.

Interior is pretty dull and needs an upgrade, reminds me of flying coach on a economy airline. You get what you pay for I guess.

Terrible in the snow. Don't consider as a winter car at all.

Has some road noise when you are on a rough road, sounds like a strut squeaking and the trunk deck vibrating.

Exterior needs aluminum wheels, which I'm going to put on soon. Hubcaps are not attractive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2008

15th Feb 2008, 17:47

Wow! That's odd, my 2000 Sunfire did awesome in the snow! tTe only problems I ever had was with it in the rain, and 3 transmissions in 2 years! But mine was a 4 door & an automatic!

2000 Pontiac Sunfire Coupe Small tractor engine? from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Small tractor engine? Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A dull, but reliable second car, if you can find a good one

Faults:

Frayed power steering hose.

General Comments:

Bought it a year ago for $3,000 as a second car.

Yes, the seats are uncomfortable, the dash has a rattle in it, the brakes squeal when they are moist in the morning, the radio sometimes does not switch from "AM" to "FM" when you push the button to do so, and the muffler rattles.

The engine has an unpleasant vibration (unlike the happy hummm you get from a Honda) and has all the mechanical charm of a tractor engine. However, having said all that, the car has started up every morning, and been a reliable commuter car, getting 21 mpg in the city.

Only repair so far was to replace a leaking power steering hose for $56. So, so far, so good. $3,000, and no monthly payment, and only $56 in repairs. A pretty good bargain so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th February, 2008

2000 Pontiac Sunfire from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired12 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Good to Great, but help with electric windows

Faults:

I bought this 2000 Pontiac Sunfire new from the local dealer with about twelve miles on it. Since then the electric windows have had to be replaced 5 times. Twice on the passenger front side and three times on the drivers front side. This has been troubling, frustrating and very expensive since I only have 52,000 miles. Sometimes I have had to wait to get fixed till I can afford. There are also some other electrical problems in the turn signals, etc. The front seats especially drivers has large hole with stuffing falling out for long period of times now. Does anyone know of electrical recalls? If so contact me with your simalar problems, etc. at jeanne_56@yahoo.com.

General Comments:

This car has been great pretty much besides the electrical system and seats. The style is very sporty and handles well. Same factory tires at 50,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th January, 2008

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 63 reviews