2001 Renault Clio Reviews - Page 16 of 21

2001 Renault Clio Dynamique 1.2 16v from Greece

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance32000 kilometres

Summary:

A good car for a fair price

Faults:

The car gave me no real trouble so far.

The only real problem was that 2 of the electric windows mechanisms broke, but they were replaced by the dealer for free (as part of the guarantee).

General Comments:

The car has prooven extremely stable on the road and driving it surely is a pleasure.

The 76hp, 1200cc strong engine is reasonably powerful and gives a somewhat sporty attitude to the car when pushed above 3.500rpm, although I feel like I should have opted for the 98hp, 1400cc engine.

Gas cunsumption is also low (6.4liters / 100Km), concerning the bad roads I am using (lots of mountain tracks with slopes and curves).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2003

2001 Renault Clio Dynamique 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance12170 miles

Summary:

Top banana is this car... highly recommended as long as it doesn't break!!

Faults:

EMU had to be reprogrammed after supposedly being programmed with the 1.2 8v code at the factory. Took 3 weeks to get this done as this was the first one they'd had at my dealer and the first in the North East according to them. This problem was very apparent within the first couple of miles!!

New clutch and gearbox fitted after 5000 miles. Dealer and independent assessor seemed to think a lack of oil in and around the gearbox/clutch caused excess wear, resulting in the synchro on 2nd gear shearing off and then the broken bits bounced around inside and broke more bits!! Repaired under warranty.

General Comments:

Other than the two problems described earlier, I'd definitely buy this car again... and in fact I've just done that and get the new one at the beginning of May 2003.

Performance is great compared to other cars in its class that I've driven (Punto 16v, 206).

Takes a corner like a smogland hooker.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2003

15th Apr 2003, 15:23

I will never buy another Renault... they are complete pants - being unreliable and capable of falling to bits in front of you.

2001 Renault Clio Sport 172 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance5750 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

For £13,000 new, you get plenty of bang for your bucks!!

Faults:

No problems whatsoever.

General Comments:

It's got a cracking engine, from 2,000 rpm to the red line it just pulls and pulls.

I'm not a boy racer, but I've shocked a few drivers of more expensive cars. I's quite shockingly quick.

Handles like a dream, the Continental Sport Contacts have great grip, even in the wet, in fact in the wet it's a hoot!

Inside it's comfortable and refined, the half leather seats are great.

Looks the business in Silver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2003

5th Aug 2003, 13:37

I agree absolutly...

Just hope that the fan belt does not break, because the engine will need a rebuild!

17th Jan 2004, 02:04

You mean the Cam belt! DOH

Yea dealer says at about 70,000 but change around 55 if you wanna play it safe... or do as I did, new cam, vernier pulleys and belt all at once! Now it's a Clio sport 200

Mucho mucho fun!

Bring it on!

Take it to the countryside.

2001 Renault Clio V6 sport 3.0 V6 24 V from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 24 V Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carHonda S2000

Summary:

This car is very exclusive, does not disappoint !!

Faults:

Battery died after 200 miles.

Alarm keeps going off at any time.

The rear back box started to rust.

General Comments:

The car is quick, not amazingly so, but it is great on the motorway very smooth and sure footed.

Wonderful handling so unlike an Audi TT with lots of feel, the engine sounds amazing just like a sports car should, a little like a TVR with real grunt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th January, 2003

2001 Renault Clio Sport 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance23500 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

The perfect blend of style, sophistication and silky smooth power delivery

Faults:

The car is running as smoothly as the first day I purchased it.

General Comments:

This is a car that considering it's rather small dimensions can show other manufacturers how to get the right balance of comfort, class and performance.

I am impressed with it's overall fit and finish and enjoy the perfect detailing the brushed alloy dash, pedals and gear knob and the snug velor seats provied for the keen driver.

Perhaps my expectations of the overall performance of the Clio was to high, because to me a small two door hatch with a rather large two litre engine sounds like a match made in heaven. On reflection, and after more time behind the wheel you do understand why the car offers class leading performance.

But my previous Lancer 1.8 GSR turbo, was although less refined, offered more space and a lot more accessible power.

The Clio Sport is great, but personally I feel it falls short behind the Japanese N/A engines such as the Vtec and Mivec motors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2003

15th Jul 2008, 11:26

How can you say that? What you are saying is the complete opposite of what actually is. Turbo cars, especially Japanese 2.0 4 cylinder turbo cars like EVO's and Scoobies have much more low down torque, it's the cars like the 172 and vtecs which have to be revved to high heaven to get anything out of them.

And " Japanese 4 cylinder turbos are garbage". When you have a 2.0 172 N/A that can produce 400 bhp from the factory, then you can say turbos are garbage.

21st Jul 2008, 12:21

I didn't say All Japanese turbo 4's are rubbish. I said all Japanese **NON** turbo 4's are rubbish. Like Honda's N/A, no torque below 6000rpm, VTEC engines. Or Toyota's no torque below 7000rpm 2ZZ-GE.

21st Jul 2008, 12:24

By the way, no Japanese 4-cylinder engine has ever produced 400bhp from the factory, turbo or N/A. The most powerful 4-cyl they've made is in the current STi, at 296bhp. If you're referring to the EVO FQ400 that is NOT a factory Japanese car. It is modified by a dealer network in the UK - it starts out with 276bhp. And that thing is ultra slow if caught out of boost, it takes the no power to high revs thing to a new level. Watch the Top Gear test where from 30mph in 5th it loses to a 1.6L Fiat Estate thing. The best bit about it is that its not factory stock Mitsubishi, it's a UK dealer special... so your argument is null and void.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 78 reviews