2001 Renault Clio Reviews - Page 20 of 21

2001 Renault Clio Dinamique 1.6 16v petrol from Slovenia

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance5900 kilometres
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

Best you can get for 25000 DEM

Faults:

So far - none. It has only 5900 kilometres.

General Comments:

I am impressed. This car offers quite a lot for a reasonable price. It accelerates very well, fuel consumption is acceptable, handling - superb.

The interior is very ergonomic, filled with so much comfort that you don't need anything else. Well... leather seats, navigation system, xenon lamps are still on the list to add...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2001

9th Sep 2001, 15:18

What car is this.. never heard of it... it didn't come up on any searches.

22nd Nov 2001, 03:01

Not so impressed - I have had mine for a month (1800 miles). It has been back to the garage twice so far (front N/S seat sliding on ratchets under braking), door seals causing draughts and condensation... it has to go back again because the sun roof is knackered.

Also, apparently Renault are having problems with the EMS (Engine management system) where the car is cutting out for no reason - has happened to me a few times - once on the motorway - was a bit scary! Only Renault have not yet sent the dealers the software to rectify the problem.

Fuel consumption is good - getting approx 42mpg, handling is not superb and in the snow it is like driving a sledge. (1 cm of snow!)

The seats are very comfortable in the Dynamique and the gearbox is excellent. Back seats - don't try and stick an adult in the back of the car - your head hits the roof and the head rests are extremely uncomfortable, given at full stretch they rest on your neck. The back is OK for kids under 12, and even then only on short journeys (Even the Toyota Yaris has more room in the back!!).

Interior leaves a bit to be desired - look at the Punto for the setting the class. Vast improvement on the old Clio and for the price I guess you shouldn't grumble too much - but it is the last time that I will buy a green car!!! Had nothing but bad luck...

18th Dec 2001, 18:19

Never heard about Dynamique 1.6 16V? Huh. It's true this car offers a lot for it's price. Well at least in Slovenia.

2001 Renault Clio RXE Alize 1.4 16v from South Africa

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired34 kilometres
Most recent distance2800 kilometres
Previous carOpel Corsa

Summary:

Sexy little car that really surprises

Faults:

I haven't had the car for long enough to really comment on the reliability.

I can say however that the car is running extremely well.

The only irritation I've had is that there is a very slight rattle in the drivers door, but this is not normally noticeable.

General Comments:

When I climbed into the Demo unit at the dealer, I knew that I was going to buy one. The car is comfortable, the handling is superb, and the ride perfect. The car is well priced and has all the extras, including air conditioning, power steering, driver airbag, and a decent sound system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2001

2001 Renault Clio Si DTi 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance10100 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

An economical pocket rocket

Faults:

On the first day I drove the car, the windscreen was chipped by a flying stone.

The plastic engine cover comes loose every 4,000 miles.

The front tyres need replacing at only 10,000 miles, but that may be a reflection of my driving and the roads I drive on.

General Comments:

450 miles to £30 of fuel! Yes, 450 miles!

Comfortable ride.

Excellent handling.

Looks are gorgeous.

I am looking at getting the petrol version because I am so pleased with the diesel version.

0-60 in less time than most.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2001

2001 Renault Clio Sport 172 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance5900 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Extreme performance for the money, but watch the dealers

Faults:

The first new Renault Sport Clio I had delivered in silver had large pieces of fluff in the paintwork all down the right hand side and silver spray on the dashboard. Renault attempted to affect a repair, but after four weeks of lame excuses I eventually contacted Renault UK customer services who agreed to replace the car.

New car in black - gear change indicator didn't work.

Drivers seat started to wear very badly by 300 miles.

Drivers side airbag deployed in traffic for no reason at about 15mph.

Outside air temperature gauge gave readings of 30 degrees C on cold days.

Paint peeled from the front bumper in large sheets whilst being jet-washed.

General Comments:

Car handles very well and on a recent trip up to North Wales I was extremely impressed by both the economy and the performance.

Dealer network leaves a huge amount to be desired. Currently my car has been off the road for four weeks awaiting parts following an airbag deployment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th June, 2001

4th Jul 2001, 09:48

Renault are not renowned for build quality on smaller cars. Squeaking interiors, poor panel fit, adjoining plastics rubbing and shrieking down bumpy roads.

As for "Paint peeled from the front bumper in large sheets whilst being jet-washed" -- that really brought back memories. I had a similar experience with a Renault 5 many years ago.

Quite frankly, you grow out of Renault... one day it just clicks that they can make engines and suspension, but not the rest of the car that goes around them. Avoid.

4th Oct 2001, 02:51

I should be driving my new 172 now, but my dealer has said it'll be delayed for 7-10 days, due to "paint problems" spotted on delivery to the Renault Import Centre at Teesport. Thanks for your review.. I'll be going over the car with a fine toothed comb when I take delivery.

26th Dec 2002, 06:13

I bought my new Clio in June this year. It is a 1.6 16V dynamique+ 51 reg. I have had so much problems with Renault that I am worried about taking my car back to ANY Renault dealership.

My external thermometer is also giving very strange readings. After scraping frost of my car at 5am in the morning it was giving temperatures of 40C! I do not want the garage breaking anything else on the car so I am not taking the car to get fixed. Service should not be like this.

I have put a review under the Clio 2001 section if you are interested in my older problems with the car.

I shall never buy another Renault again. This is a shame cause my car is fun to drive.

Hope all goes well in the future.

Kelly.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 78 reviews