2002 Renault Clio Dynamic + 1.4 16v petrol from UK and Ireland


It does everything I need cheap insurance relatively quick performance with good economy


Nothing has gone with the car so far.

General Comments:

I used to have a 1.25 fiesta freestyle, now I have a Clio 1.4 16v dynamic.

In my opinion the Clio is better overall for four reasons.

Firstly it uses better materials inside.

Secondly the seats are more comfortable.

Thirdly the performance is better 0 60 in 10.5 seconds, third gear is especially good.

Finally it has a better image.

However there are two main problems.

The roof rattles.

The ride is fairly harsh compared to the fiesta is this due to sports suspension, therefore Can anybody tell me whether a 2002 Clio Dynamic+ 1.4 has sports suspension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2004

15th Aug 2005, 11:49

Yes it does have up-rated suspension over the 1.2.

7th Mar 2006, 05:55

All petrol engines in the dynamique range above 1.2 get sports supension.

7th Mar 2006, 10:40

I too drive a 2002 (52) 1.4 Clio dynamique+. I've found the acceleration, in second and third gear to be excellent, managing 70mph out of third alone. The suspension is slightly stiffer than the lower spec models, but it handles great around corners, and the seats are comfy too. However I've had a few rattles from the sunroof, and it's developed a nasty leak (I think) resulting in a soggy driver's seat. Overall a good car for first time drivers, easy to drive, even if the steering wheel is huge, and the turning circle is a little disappointing, which makes parking a little difficult sometimes.

18th Aug 2006, 19:45

Yes I can definatly confirm the Dynamique + has sport suspension. That's what the + means - aircon and sport suspension as extras.

2002 Renault Clio Expression 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland


I would not buy a Renault new again


In 2002.

The car was pulling to the left hand side of the road.

The central locking did not work.

The cheap interior began to creek.

In 2003.

The brakes began to squeal when turning left / right at 70mph.

The water pump began to leak.

In 2004.

The bonnet catch had corroded open, so unable to close the bonnet.

The central locking stopped working again.

The engine has begun to tap.

General Comments:

The car is a good little car, but has the initial faults introduced from build. It handles very well, but does suffer from the poor quality of the parts used. The warranty is well used, but when you return it to the garage for rectifying work, they are unhappy that you have a problem. Initial price was £6995 as a previous registered owned car. I test drove the car with 7 miles on the car, bought it their and then. 2 1/2 years on, the car is worth £3200 if I'm lucky. Maybe even less against a new car. I'm not bitter, I've had the usage of the car and it's been reliable to a level, but when you need to ring the AA each month, you do get sick of it.

Ask yourself is it worth it? Should I buy a BMW or a Merc in the first place?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th December, 2004

2002 Renault Clio 172 sport 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Pocket Rocket!


My spot lights started to fill with water.

Rattle from the back near the exhaust.

Handbrake light and stop sign remained on when handbrake was fully off.

General Comments:

The car is quick, thought 1,2,3. But when you get upto 70 theres no power in 4th gear what I would have expected, you have to put it in third.

The car is very comfortable at the front, but not that comfortable if you're a tall person in the back.

The lights are great!

Be warned the insurance is high! Group 16!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2004

2002 Renault Clio Expression + 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland


Very happy with car as it has done everything you can expect of it


A PDC sensor had to be replaced at 16,000 miles as the car was sometimes reluctant to start. This was carried out under warranty.

General Comments:

A good buy as the dealer was offering very good deals at time of purchase.

Will trade it in at 3 years and expect to get a reasonable resale on it.

It could use a bit more space as the rear is quite cramped.

The car has far more equipment on it than comparable small cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2004