2002 Renault Clio 172 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Nice Car Shame It has a Renault Badge

Faults:

Major electrical problems starting on 15th Jan 2005, car has been into the garage 7 times now, for a total of 30 days. The dealers still don't know whats wrong with the car, and have still not called in the renault experts!

So 8 weeks since it happened still no car, and renault have not got a clue about whats wrong!

Headlights leaking water in!

General Comments:

The car is very comfy, and a total different drive compared to any other clio!

The car also has enough power to take over most motors on the road!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th March, 2005

2002 Renault Clio RXT 1.4 16v petrol Manual from Colombia

Summary:

Not bad

General Comments:

64.000 km now with good overall performance. Very nice engine and brakes, but not a good suspension and gearbox I think. The worst of the car is the dealer.

The size is for a coupe version, but unfortunately we don't have that one here in Colombia.

Is the only one with ABS, and Airbags on its segment, I fully recommend this car.

It needs more space for the people in the back seats, those aren't comfortable at all. Needs better tires also, the car has 14" wheels, with 175/65 tires. I bought 185/60 and worked perfectly.

I'm selling it now because I'm gonna buy a Volkswagen Gol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2005

6th Mar 2005, 20:13

Oh well, I'm gonna have to think on it, I don't like corsa or fiesta. Those cars are cheaper than the VW Gol, but also have less equipment.

Another Clio is a possibility, but I want to have a car different from Renault. I need to try another dealer.

Thanks for the suggestion.

7th Nov 2006, 18:29

Try a Hyundai Getz 1.6, reliable and fast. You won't be disappointed, I also had a Clio.

2002 Renault Clio Authentique 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Average

Faults:

QS5 Gearbox fault ongoing, The car has been into my local dealer on numerous occasions without the fault being rectified.

The gearbox warning lamp is intermittently illuminating, when this happens I lose all drive and gear selection abilities.

My local Renault dealer have looked at the car twice and have claimed to have rectified the fault, however the fault constantly reoccurs.

I have once again booked my vehicle in at renault, but no courtesy car is available due to my requirements for an automatic.

Overall I am disapointed with the vehicle, having only traveled 2000 miles I have only managed a few hundred trouble free.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th February, 2005

20th Jan 2013, 06:37

I have got the very same problems. The diagnostics say that there is something with the gearbox/clutch (something swimming around). They quoted £3000 for a new gearbox/clutch. My local garage will do the job for me (eventually) for about £600 - but no guaranty. As I only paid £2100 3 years ago, it is hardly worth spending £3000 on the repair. However, since my local garage also did a diagnostic check (2 in total), the fault didn't appear for a number of weeks, and has only just started to return more frequently. So far it only happens to jump out of automatic and gear at traffic lights, which is easily dealt with. Just the appearance of the symbol makes me nervous, which will clear sometimes in minutes, sometimes after I've parked up. When I finally break down, I'll think about what to do!

2002 Renault Clio Dynamic + 1.4 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

It does everything I need cheap insurance relatively quick performance with good economy

Faults:

Nothing has gone with the car so far.

General Comments:

I used to have a 1.25 fiesta freestyle, now I have a Clio 1.4 16v dynamic.

In my opinion the Clio is better overall for four reasons.

Firstly it uses better materials inside.

Secondly the seats are more comfortable.

Thirdly the performance is better 0 60 in 10.5 seconds, third gear is especially good.

Finally it has a better image.

However there are two main problems.

The roof rattles.

The ride is fairly harsh compared to the fiesta is this due to sports suspension, therefore Can anybody tell me whether a 2002 Clio Dynamic+ 1.4 has sports suspension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2004

15th Aug 2005, 11:49

Yes it does have up-rated suspension over the 1.2.

7th Mar 2006, 05:55

All petrol engines in the dynamique range above 1.2 get sports supension.

7th Mar 2006, 10:40

I too drive a 2002 (52) 1.4 Clio dynamique+. I've found the acceleration, in second and third gear to be excellent, managing 70mph out of third alone. The suspension is slightly stiffer than the lower spec models, but it handles great around corners, and the seats are comfy too. However I've had a few rattles from the sunroof, and it's developed a nasty leak (I think) resulting in a soggy driver's seat. Overall a good car for first time drivers, easy to drive, even if the steering wheel is huge, and the turning circle is a little disappointing, which makes parking a little difficult sometimes.

18th Aug 2006, 19:45

Yes I can definatly confirm the Dynamique + has sport suspension. That's what the + means - aircon and sport suspension as extras.