2002 Renault Clio Expression 1.5 Dci from UK and Ireland


Nippy, economical, but expect problems!


Since buying the Renault Clio 1.5dci (mark 2) I have had two main (annoying problems).

First of all, the clock won't show up on the dash. It only appears when the lights are on or the radio. I just can't figure out why the damn thing has gone out, and neither can anyone else (any help out there on this one? Answers on a postcard please).

And number two is probably the most common problem for Clio drivers out there. The bloody annoying sunroof! It rattles and creaks all the time. It makes driving frustrating and I sometimes can't wait to get out of the car. I contacted Renault about this problem, but they fobbed me off politely saying there wasn't a recall because of this. All I wanted to know was if other drivers had mentioned it to them. And after reading this, I can only guess that many 100s will have.

General Comments:

Great economy on the diesel.

Bit creaky and noisy.

Clios generally plagued with problems (i.e. the bonnet catch problem with mark II's)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th May, 2007

30th Jul 2010, 10:22

I have a Renault Clio Expression 2002 model, which has the same problem with the clock. It worked OK for 7 years, then it just went out. The radio works, but no clock.

Also the stop light keeps lighting up when I am cornering. Does anyone know why?

I am a lady driver with little or no knowledge of how a car works, so any help is appreciated.


15th Jan 2012, 11:06

The clock and radio display dim when one of the small bulbs in the back of the unit blows. An independent garage will install a new bulb for about £45-50. Make sure both bulbs are replaced at the same time, as the bulbs cost peanuts; the labour is the main cost.

15th Feb 2012, 18:10

Stop light coming on around corners? Low oil.

2002 Renault Clio 16V Extreme I 1.2 from UK and Ireland




EVERYTHING! (All under warranty)

1) Engine kept cutting out whilst driving.

2) Idle was shaky.

3) Window regulator broke.

4) Gear nob came off.

5) Loss of power to drive.

Out of warranty.

1) Front Fog lights not working (Rear OK)

2) Horn not working (fuse OK)

General Comments:

I would NEVER EVER buy or recommend a Renault to anyone (unless I didn't like the person) again.

They have the worst after-sales people I have ever dealt with and to date I do not understand how they still make money.

Be cautious with their repairs under warranty as they have a habit of not logging work done. This will cause problems at a later date when the same thing happens again and they have no record of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th February, 2007

9th Jul 2015, 19:24

Years ago I had a Renault 18 TL. I swore I would never buy a Renault again, but inherited my dad's Clio. The only problem until its death (old age) was a faulty earth connection leaving me stranded here and there! So I bought a newer one, with three different water leaks almost cured, and a non-working horn. Otherwise I'm very happy with this nippy, smart, confidence building car!

2002 Renault Clio 172 Sport petrol from UK and Ireland


A Money Pit


Suspected head gasket blown at 49,000 miles, however it could be the cylinder head which exploded!

Engine management light came on due to a faulty coil pack. Got that fixed and it wasn't too expensive.

General Comments:

The car is very quick and a lot of fun to drive.

However I'm very annoyed about the current problem!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th January, 2007

2002 Renault Clio expression plus 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland


A good car for new and experienced drivers but electrical problem may be common


Engine cutting out when stopping, engine management light coming on. Fault caused by security cover fitted over ecu chaffing engine wiring loom.Cost £460to repair.This seems to be a design fault as this security cover is only fitted to uk models.Has anyone else had the same fault?

General Comments:

Overall pleased with the car, I use it for driving tuition and personal use. Easy to drive good all around visibility. Air con, is a real benefit for quick de-misting on wet days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th November, 2006