2002 Renault Clio Expression 1.5 Dci from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Nippy, economical, but expect problems!

Faults:

Since buying the Renault Clio 1.5dci (mark 2) I have had two main (annoying problems).

First of all, the clock won't show up on the dash. It only appears when the lights are on or the radio. I just can't figure out why the damn thing has gone out, and neither can anyone else (any help out there on this one? Answers on a postcard please).

And number two is probably the most common problem for Clio drivers out there. The bloody annoying sunroof! It rattles and creaks all the time. It makes driving frustrating and I sometimes can't wait to get out of the car. I contacted Renault about this problem, but they fobbed me off politely saying there wasn't a recall because of this. All I wanted to know was if other drivers had mentioned it to them. And after reading this, I can only guess that many 100s will have.

General Comments:

Great economy on the diesel.

Bit creaky and noisy.

Clios generally plagued with problems (i.e. the bonnet catch problem with mark II's)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th May, 2007

30th Jul 2010, 10:22

I have a Renault Clio Expression 2002 model, which has the same problem with the clock. It worked OK for 7 years, then it just went out. The radio works, but no clock.

Also the stop light keeps lighting up when I am cornering. Does anyone know why?

I am a lady driver with little or no knowledge of how a car works, so any help is appreciated.

Thanks.

15th Jan 2012, 11:06

The clock and radio display dim when one of the small bulbs in the back of the unit blows. An independent garage will install a new bulb for about £45-50. Make sure both bulbs are replaced at the same time, as the bulbs cost peanuts; the labour is the main cost.

15th Feb 2012, 18:10

Stop light coming on around corners? Low oil.

2002 Renault Clio 16V Extreme I 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Rubbish

Faults:

EVERYTHING! (All under warranty)

1) Engine kept cutting out whilst driving.

2) Idle was shaky.

3) Window regulator broke.

4) Gear nob came off.

5) Loss of power to drive.

Out of warranty.

1) Front Fog lights not working (Rear OK)

2) Horn not working (fuse OK)

General Comments:

I would NEVER EVER buy or recommend a Renault to anyone (unless I didn't like the person) again.

They have the worst after-sales people I have ever dealt with and to date I do not understand how they still make money.

Be cautious with their repairs under warranty as they have a habit of not logging work done. This will cause problems at a later date when the same thing happens again and they have no record of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th February, 2007

2002 Renault Clio 172 Sport petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A Money Pit

Faults:

Suspected head gasket blown at 49,000 miles, however it could be the cylinder head which exploded!

Engine management light came on due to a faulty coil pack. Got that fixed and it wasn't too expensive.

General Comments:

The car is very quick and a lot of fun to drive.

However I'm very annoyed about the current problem!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th January, 2007

2002 Renault Clio expression plus 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A good car for new and experienced drivers but electrical problem may be common

Faults:

Engine cutting out when stopping, engine management light coming on. Fault caused by security cover fitted over ecu chaffing engine wiring loom.Cost £460to repair.This seems to be a design fault as this security cover is only fitted to uk models.Has anyone else had the same fault?

General Comments:

Overall pleased with the car, I use it for driving tuition and personal use. Easy to drive good all around visibility. Air con, is a real benefit for quick de-misting on wet days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th November, 2006

2002 Renault Clio Dynamique 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Unreliable!

Faults:

I bought a Renault Clio Dynamique 16v in 2003, less than 1 year old with only 4000 miles on the clock from a Renault dealer. I have had countless faults with this car.

Firstly, when I got the car home from the dealer after purchase, I noticed an oil leak. Returned it to dealer, and was told it had been fixed, although that was not the case. The car was returned a further twice, with the dealer assuring me this time it was fixed. Eventually they admitted they couldn't fix the problem, and put a whole new engine in the car, thankfully under warranty.

Then on a cold morning, tried to start the car, but had a flat battery, which had also set the immobiliser off. Called out the AA, who tried hitting the key off the ground a few times as they said sometimes the bit in the key becomes loose. The car started.

Another day, same problem, flat battery = immobilised engine. This time hitting the key didn't work, started looking online and got a tip, which worked.

If the immobiliser is on, then open all the doors and the boot, and leave them open. Next put the key in engine and turn it till the electrics come on; leave the car like this for around 10 minutes and the immobiliser resets itself. I know, it sounds crazy, but it worked!

I was continually having problems with the car starting, and after repeatedly replacing batteries and not having much luck, I called out the AA again. This time the AA man said it was a common problem with Clios, and without even looking at the car, said it would probably be the connector to the battery, which seems to a common inherent fault in Clios (manufacturers, take note!), which he replaced for free, and I have never experienced problems with this aspect since.

Next fault was after the car had just been serviced, and had only done around 19k, the brakes seized on. Again, called the AA who said he had been out to 3 Clios with same problem in the last 2 weeks. He tried to hammer it off, but couldn't, so towed it to dealer who fixed under warranty.

I then hit a pot hole whilst driving, and the car deployed the side air bags, and seat belt tensioners. Had it towed to the dealer, who said they couldn't rule out it had been involved in an accident, and refused to fix anything under warranty. I complained as the sensors shouldn't deploy airbags and passenger and back seat belts when only 1 person is in the car, and it was just a pothole, although Renault refused to do anything about it. Ended up paying out £2700 in repairs, including 2 new full front seats, new back seat belts, and a new central computer.

I am now experiencing the same problem that seems to be common to everyone on this site; the emissions light is permanently on, and the car sounds like it's misfiring when it's started. When changing gear, there is a delay as it struggles to gather power, and when pulling out of junctions, roundabouts etc, it judders and doesn't have the power needed to pull away. Then the engine cuts out at speed and the electrical management light comes on, and the ABS and power steering fail.

This is highly dangerous, and seems to be an inherent fault. I have put the car into my dealer, who said after a diagnostic check that the car only required new spark plugs at a cost of £56.98. That was yesterday, and the car is still showing the same problems. I have put in a complaint, and put the car back in to be looked at, however I don't hold out much hope for a solution after reading this site!

If anyone has managed to get this fixed, please email me and let me know!

cutiepiex0x@hotmail.co.uk

These cars should be recalled. There is obviously a serious common fault, which is causing the power failures in the cars. If Renault prides itself so much on safety, then they should be doing something about it. Will they wait til someone dies or is seriously injured in their car due to the power cutting out a high speeds, before they act or are held liable? I will be contacting Trading Standards; these cars are not fit for purpose!

General Comments:

Too many faults to go through them all.

I would never buy a Renault again. These cars should be recalled!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th November, 2006

24th Jul 2007, 09:55

Indeed seems my brother had same fault with it starting, and was simple fault to fix, but caused a whole pile of hassle.

5th Mar 2008, 18:16

THANK YOU!!!

Flat battery - engine turning, not firing after a good charge.

The comment about leaving all the doors open, turning on ignition and waiting for 10 minutes just worked.

Saved me calling out Athe A at the end of my 12 hour shift.

Thanks again, from a very tired Paramedic.