2002 Renault Clio Expression 1.6 from Mexico


Great, nice engine, cool look


4 bobbins changed after they (Renault) washed the engine.

Battery changed after they (Renault) washed the engine (a total of 500 Dollars with the bobbins).

They had to change the engine cooler after a failure with the computer (it left the engine on even if I turned off). At the time the car had 3000 km.

One tire explode and the passenger airbag went on.

General Comments:

This car is seriously quick, it handles really good on Mexico City.

Good automatic transmit-ion.

Nice radio, good sound.

I feel I'm on a safe car all the time.

Good quality, good ensemble, Renault Mexico done a great job on this car.

Excellent service provided by Renault.

You pay what you get.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2006

2002 Renault Clio Privilege 1.4 from Australia and New Zealand


I love my car, it's cute, classy and comfortable


It's been pretty damn good, it was recalled recently, but it wasn't a big deal. When we first got it the airbag light kept coming on, but otherwise it's been fine.

General Comments:

I LOVE MY CAR. It's well appointed, comfy, cute, it picks up so quickly we get 9.2 l/100KM on premium unleaded which is great and it's flexible in seating.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2005

2002 Renault Clio exspression 1.5 65 diesel from UK and Ireland


Fuel pressure pump collapsed after 11,000 miles. the same problem reoccured again at 17000 miles. Renault wanted 2,700 torepair car this in the end was reduced to £650.

General Comments:

Is this a problem with this model

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th November, 2005

2002 Renault Clio Expression 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland





This car replaced a Skoda Fabia which was back at the dealer once every 3 weeks with various faults - some major (eg. new engine, new dashboard) along with numerous broken window winder pins, door locks, leaks... etc.

A real joy to own a car that has so far proved to be reliable.

General Comments:

Good performance and economy although I would prefer stiffer suspension.

Good fun to drive with a real feel good factor (it's the wife's car).

Dealer 1st service under warranty ridiculously expensive for what was basically an oil change.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2005

2002 Renault Clio Extreme 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland


Nice to drive, but very unreliable


Sept/Oct 2002- After having the car for only a couple of months from new, the driver's window dropped, had to call the AA out to secure the vehicle. A plastic guide on the edge of the glass had snapped, Renault Birmingham replaced the guide, saying the window was now fully operational.

Over the course of the next few months, the car went back to Renault Birmingham about 4-5 times with the same fault, the driver's window. They replaced the regulator, honeycomb, stripped the whole door down replacing all the window parts. After each time back at their dealership, they would say they'd fixed the problem and that it had been thoroughly tested. It would last on a matter of weeks, before it would start playing up again. Not once was I offered or supplied with, a courtesy car.

Air-bag light came on several times on the dashboard. Renault Birmingham secured the connection under the driver's seat, using the marvelous technique, soldering.

Rear high-level brake light had never been connected, a problem I only became aware of after having the car for many months. I only became aware because my mom happened to be following me in her car. Renault Birmingham connected this, something I presumed would've been done at the factory. So much for quality control.

November 2003- Headlights failed, had to drive for several days in darkness with side lights and fog-lights (luckily fitted to this model). Renault Birmingham had to strip the whole dash out to replace a wiring harness.

11th/15th July 2005- Never had any problems starting my Clio, but this week the car is struggling to start first and in some cases second time. Added an expensive engine cleaning fuel additive and touch wood, car seems to be starting okay now.

I was starting to think all the problems had finally been sorted out out, but when I came to use my car tonight, 17th July 2005 the headlights have once again failed. Plus, just under 2 months left on 3 year warranty. I'd better get myself back down to Renault Birmingham, SHARPISH!!!

General Comments:

After all these problems I've had, I can honestly say I would NEVER buy another Renault. This car has given me nothing, but grief.

I know several people who currently have/did have Renault Cars and they've experienced plenty of faults themselves.

Come on Renault, get your act together!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th July, 2005

28th Feb 2006, 10:28

I bought my car new in 2002 and I must've taken it to the garage at least 20 times since. I have had the car re-sprayed twice because the paint was bubbling. The handle to let people into the back just didn't work. The engine management system has had lots of faults. I've had the drivers seat replaced. The airbag light kept coming on and had to have the wires soldiered under the seat, now the car has an electrical fault again with the engine management system and cut out on me last week in the fast lane on the A1. Not exactly safe! Head office are fully aware of these problems and saying we apologise is not acceptable. I will never buy a Renault again.