2004 Renault Clio Reviews - Page 10 of 10

2004 Renault Clio Sport v16 2.0 16v from Kuwait

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25 kilometres
Most recent distance2107 kilometres
Previous carOpel Omega

Summary:

Fast fun and handling master

Faults:

Nothing is wrong with the car until now, I love it.

General Comments:

Car handles great for its size.

Its really fast from complete stop and from 30km and 60km.

So much fun to drive and makes you wanna drive it all day long.

It doesn't take so much gas.

I won almost all cars in this car's class. no names ;)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2004

2004 Renault Clio 172 Cup from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Cup Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance765 miles
Previous carToyota Yaris

Summary:

Powerfull little hot hatch which is a hoot to drive.

Faults:

Nothing as of 765 miles so far.

General Comments:

Very quick car with lots of torque.

Handling is excellent even in the wet.

The seats are comfortable enough however the stiffened suspension can be a bit tedious on long drives.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2004

2004 Renault Clio Dynamique DCI 80 1.5 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

An excellent all round performer

Faults:

Nothing as yet has gone wrong.

General Comments:

My previous Clio was a 1.2 16v Dynamique and at last the sunroof does not rattle. The extra torque of the Turbo diesel is most impressive especially in the upper gears. Economy is fantastic averaging mid 60's to the gallon. With the face-lift comes what I see, is an improvement in build quality especially interior fittings. Maybe because of the extra weight of the diesel unit steering seems slightly heavier. Engine is very refined and it is only at tickover do you hear the sound of the diesel engine. A very competent performer. What happened to the glove box light though??This was fitted on my previous 2001 Dynamique.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2004

2004 Renault Clio Dynamique 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles

Summary:

A little stunner!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

I purchased my new Renault on Monday 29th May.

I saw the car as I pulled up to the dealership in Birmingham and it instantly bought a smile to my face.

Shiny black metallic paint with silver alloy wheels looked the business. I was itching to get inside.

After a 45 minute delay due to a previous customer running late I eventually got hold of the keys.

The salesman showed me around the car.

Metallic paint, 15"alloys, sunroof, rain sensor wipers, light sensor lights, front sport seats, leather wheel, two cup holders, electric windows, electric mirrors, air conditioning, c.d player, six speakers, chrome trim, silver look seat belts, finger tip steering wheel controls for the radio, twin airbags, central locking, immobiliser... the list was endless!!!

My main worry was that I had never owned a small engine car before and there wouldn't be enough power.

My worries were soon swept away. This car is seriously fun to drive, very nippy around town.

IThe mileometer had 7 miles on the clock from new, I have now travelled 61.4 miles to be exact! and I have enjoyed every single one of them.

If you are looking for a small car with a small price packed with loads of extra's I would recommend you consider buying a Renault Clio Dynamique.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st April, 2004

8th Apr 2004, 01:43

I was thinking of buying a Clio as my first car and this has helped me to decide which car I am wanting to get! thank you!

The only problem that is worrying me is, what insurance group is it in? and what is the fuel economy like?

13th Apr 2004, 09:16

I have just bought a brand new Clio, have got to wait 4 weeks to get it though. Nautical blue, gorgeous colour... Insurance group 3. Not too high. do it!!

20th Jun 2004, 16:56

For the person asking about insurance groups/running costs. I have owned a Clio Dynamique since 2002. It is group three insurance which is about as cheap as it gets.

If you buy the car new you should definitely get a quote from Renault Insure; they quoted me the unbelievably low figure of £450 despite being a 21yo living in S.E.London and having a speeding conviction. Fuel economy is pretty good (around 36mpg is a realistic figure around town). Servicing is only every 18K and parts are very cheap.

I would highly recommend this excellent little car which looks the business and drives well.

21st Sep 2004, 15:07

Today I have purchased a Renault Clio Dynamique 1.2 16v and cannot believe just how much you get for your money! There are so many toys and insurance is only group 3. I have to now wait 10 or so days until I can bring it home and start enjoying driving it.Can't wait, lets hope "tempus fugit ".

2004 Renault Clio Dynamique 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance1650 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 100

Summary:

Performance with toys

Faults:

The boot would refuse to shut, rectified by Renault.

A rattle appeared from sunroof, Handle rebuilt by Renault.

General Comments:

Have just bought a face-lifted 2004 Clio last month and overall and immensely impressed by the car.

This car is seriously quick and handles like it's on rails, no problem with motorway corners at 95.

Sports suspension give a not overly firm ride.

Seats are fantastic for long journeys, hold you in place.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2004

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 36 reviews