2004 Renault Clio Reviews - Page 6 of 10

2004 Renault Clio Dynamique 16v 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 16v 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired2500 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

You get a lot of car for your money

Faults:

The only problems I have had are three flat tires, two of which were nails, but one was due to the alloy being curved inwards which had slowly deflated it. My Clio is second hand and this may account for that problem.

Other than these problems everything else is working great the CD player sometimes makes a whirring sound, but only on some occasions. This is a good reliable car.

General Comments:

This car is very nippy and quick I have reached the top speed of around 110mph and felt reasonable safe. Acceleration is good and I have had no trouble overtaking at traffic lights.

The handling is responsive and the steering circle very good.

The interior is good quality and I especially like the seat covers and electronic dials.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2005

13th Mar 2006, 13:01

Good turning circle!! I find my Clio 1.2 Dynamique has the worst turning circle of any car I have ever driven.

2004 Renault Clio 182 Sport 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance9414 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Cheapest pocket rocket around!!

Faults:

Windows sound a bit funny.

Couple of little rattles (nothing major).

General Comments:

This car is unbelievable!! I had the choice of six cars when I got this, the Seat Ibiza 160 diesel, Seat Leon 150 diesel, Mini Cooper and Cooper S, and the MG ZR 160. I do not feel I have missed out on anything by choosing this car, it seems they have improved a lot since it was the 172. The steering is so very precise and bearable to powerslide with just one hand quite easily!! This car is all about fun, looks and confidence!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2005

2004 Renault Clio 1.2 76hp from Greece

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.2 76hp Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25 kilometres
Most recent distance1150 kilometres

Summary:

A smiling happily car!!!

Faults:

Sometimes when I am in the prosedure of parking, my steering wheel turns very hard. especialy when needed many movements back and forth.

Sometimes the 5th gear can't be put so easily.

General Comments:

I am very satisfied with my selection!

The perfect mix of economy on fuel and acceleration!

And despite its small size, the inner spaces, I think, are OK!

Smilingboygr From Athens, Greece!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2005

2004 Renault Clio 182 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2500 miles
Most recent distance3500 miles
Previous carMG TF

Summary:

Ta Ra Type R

Faults:

I've only had the car for 1 week, so nothing has gone wrong as yet. Opposed to my old MG TF where the clock broke within 1 week of buying.

General Comments:

I'm very impressed with the gadgets in the Clio 182. The Clio 182 is also far better built than I expected, and I've yet to hear and rattles. In comparison to my old MG, the Renault is far better built and much more sturdy.

But the most important thing, performance. This car is seriously quick, and I've scared myself a few times since I've had it. But you do have to get the engine over 5000rpm to really appreciate the performance. This often means frantic cog swapping, although no more than a civic type r. Under 5000rpm the car is still responsive, but obviously not as frantic.

It has to be noted my friend has a Civic Type R, and the Clio is quicker. Not much in it, but the Clio is the quicker car for a traffic light gran prix.

Anyway, only had the car a week so I'll write again soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th January, 2005

7th Mar 2005, 10:09

You may be missing the point slightly here. A Clio 182 costs roughly around 10 - 11k, if you get a decent deal. A decent Porsche 911 Turbo is around 40 - 90k. Now if I paid 90k for a car, I would also expect it beat a 10k hot hatch.

Oh, and your Porsche wouldn't beat "Thrust SSC" in performance stats. So there's another lame comparison for you.

9th Jun 2005, 05:39

Astra 1.4lsi with a group B turbo? Give me a break man you are so dull!

29th Jun 2005, 09:32

This thread is providing some real entertainment (I was the original reviewer). Specially liked the comment about 15yr girl in car park. LMFAO!!!

A nova with a group B rally car turbo and supercharger? Um, somehow I think not. Big bore, lowered and tinted windows, I think more likely.

Anyway, now us Clio 182 owners have laughed the Nova Boy out of the door (with his NASA engineered rocket powered 1.4 Nova), shall we have a normal conversation :)

Oh and so far, the Clio 182 has been compared to:

Porsche 911 (obviously similair cars, price and speed

Nova 1.4 With Turbo, Supercharger and a Big Bore the size of the channel tunnel.

18th Jul 2005, 12:14

I am just about to buy a 182 and I am only 21 the insurance is really cheap even with 6 points on my licence. can't wait to give it some on the motorways.

3rd Oct 2005, 11:07

Does any one know how much quicker a 182 cup is compared to the 182 tnx.

24th Jan 2006, 08:50

The 182 and 182 cup have the same engine and therefore the same bhp. However the 182 cup is lighter so the bhp per ton is better. 182's are 1110kg and the cup is 1090kg according to renault's website.

24th Jan 2006, 15:19

That comment about the nova drivers being little kids did'nt make sense, you have a clio hot hatch, their in the same class Mr mature. If you want real performance get a rally rep.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 36 reviews