2004 Renault Clio Reviews - Page 5 of 10

2004 Renault Clio Expression 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Ace little car for the cost of it

Faults:

Sunroof Rattles as if it is not shut, but it is.

Back spring is broken on drivers side. The end bit is broke.

Radio turns itself off when no keys are in the ignition. It goes pop or just turns off.

Passenger door leaked.

High level brake light fills with water, this has been replaced once and the replacement still does the same.

General Comments:

This is the second Clio I have had, 1st being 2001 Authentique this leaked no end, eventually Bury dealer (fantastic service) sorted it also as I swapped it for my new one it began to loose power, sometimes you pulled out at junctions and it just didn't pull away, almost like you were in the wrong gear, then all of a sudden it would pick up speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2006

13th Jun 2006, 05:58

Sure it will not pick up the speed at 1st cause this is the small engine version you have (1.2L) so you must give it some revs to make some tourque then you get the speed!

Any Time buddy.

2004 Renault Clio sport 182 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance1121 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Quick and sexy

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

My 182 is very quick.

Big step up from a 1.2.

Insurance was a stinger, but ha who cares 19 years old leaving friends to eat my dust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2006

2004 Renault Clio dCi 1.5 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 diesel Manual
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance17650 miles

Summary:

Like the car, but am seriously concerned at the problems encountered in a new car

Faults:

Rear window 'imploded' within 3 months of purchase.

Multiple start-up problems, CD player malfunction, etc within 6 months - several 'quick' inspections found nothing, eventually hood opened and main earth to computer found to be loose.

Now cracking of body work to left front panel adjacent to hood.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st March, 2006

26th Jan 2014, 08:00

I bought a new Skoda Fabia 4 months ago. The rear window imploded yesterday whilst the car was luckily stationary.

Quite shocking to see, and this could have had fatal consequences if I had been on the motorway at the time.

The Skoda dealership rude and unhelpful about it.

I wonder if anyone else has had this experience?

2004 Renault Clio 182 sport 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance11500 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Brilliant

Faults:

No major faults so far, the ABS light came on, took it back to the dealer who sorted it out. apart from that nothing.

General Comments:

I cannot fault this car one bit, I love it to bits. It looks good and drives well, It does drink the petrol if you put your foot down but it is well worth it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2006

25th Jan 2006, 11:12

I have a 182 and a few times my ABS light has come on, but it`s not something it does consistently. For future reference, what did the dealer say the problem was and what did they do? Mine has not done it for ages now, but it would be handy to know what it was.

Many thanks :-)

2004 Renault Clio Renault Sport 182 2.0i 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Fast and fun to drive

Faults:

- Car makes a squeal noise at speed (usually at 80+ mph) - this varies depending on the road, and wind speed. Been back to the dealers once, who have so far, not been able to find out what it is. I have an idea, but I have not tried it yet (to cover the hole in the drivers side wing mirror with tape). Anyone who can comment feel free.

- Car makes a knocking noise when put into 1st gear, not too bad if you are gentle.

- Car is lumpy at idle - this is normal so I am informed.

- Windscreen wipers are crap - automatic rain sensing, well they either wipe too much or too little, and cleaning the screen is also a pain. They are also mounted the wrong way around for right hand driver cars.

General Comments:

I came to this car from two other hot hatches, a Skoda Fabia vRS, and a Mk2 VW Golf GTI. I used to have a fear of French cars, due to their supposed poor reliability and build quality. Nevertheless, I have read many reviews about many hot hatches, and the Clio 182 always gets rave reviews.

I popped into a dealer for a test drive of the tidiest example. I was only originally going to spend £8000 but I ended up forking out the extra having had the test drive of the 182. I just preferred its looks over the 172, and my research indicated up to 100 mph, it was a bit faster than the 172 (not cup version).

My car was good value, £10,500 with 5,000 miles on the clock, under 1 year old, and already with a service under its belt. Totally spotless.

The car has the typical cute looks of most French small hatchbacks, looking somewhat like a bigger Citroen C2 VTS, which I also liked the look of, but dismissed thanks to having a puny 123 bhp. Its not quite as menacing looking as either of my old cars, but it looks very nice and fun in its own way. Some of my friends say it's a girls car, well that must mean girls like it, and the attention it gets around town (from girls) is very satisfying for an ugly git like me :-)

It has a good specification too... electric windows and mirrors, climate control and air-con, cruise control and speed limiter, half leather, half alacantra seats and trim, and even the sound system is reasonable albeit somewhat lacking in bass, especially if you are used to a good in car entertainment system. Oh, and it doesn't support MP3 either. The seats are nice looking, but not as supportive as the ones in the Fabia vRS. The driving position is often criticised, but I find it very comfortable. The steering wheel is a tad large though.

The engine is good, a 2.0 engine in a car this size is always going to be fun, but when its got 180 bhp, then it can be more than fun sometimes! It really needs to be driven hard to see what the fuss is about though, at 5,000 rpm it comes alive, and is aggressive and loud, with a satisfying growl to its engine note. This car is very noisy at speed, and adds to the excitement. Its not quite as loud as my Mk2 Golf was, however.

If you don't like to rev a car, don't bother with this one. Its delivers its best when its revved all the way to its 7250 rpm red line in the lower gears, and at least 6500 rpm in the higher gears. Compared to my Fabia vRS, however, it is gutless at low revs, but compared to most normally aspirated petrol engines, it still feels willing, and it is still fun to drive at low speed, and for the most part, if the revs are kept above 2500 rpm, then it is a willing performer almost all of the time.

Personally, I love its power delivery. Nice and progressive, and this car can be Jekyll and hide! Perfectly calm, and refined when needed, but an animal down a B-road. Its hard to discipline yourself to keep to the speed limits in this car, as its just so eager to put a smile on the drivers face. It will return low to mid 30's MPG when driven relatively sensibly, and even when I have really thrashed it, somehow it still returns over 25 MPG most of the time!

The handling of this car is impressive too. It handles much better than my Fabia, and in some ways, is even better than my Mk2 Golf was. The body roll is largely absent, and there is plenty of grip. The suspension is firm, but it is decently damped so it rarely becomes bone jarring. It turns in very keenly and quickly. The steering is pretty communicative too. It can kick its tail out if provoked, and like the Golf will lift a rear wheel in the air on hard cornering. The handling is more entertaining than the Golf, but maybe not quite as composed as that was – the Golf was a bit more communicative and will try not to bite the hand that feeds it. The Clio can be brought out of shape if provoked, much in the same way as my mates Saxo VTR.

Overall, I am impressed with this car so far. Its not been long enough to truly know its reliability, all I do know at the moment is that it's a fun to drive car, with good performance and excellent handling. For the price, there's not a lot out there to touch it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th December, 2005

8th Jun 2006, 14:29

Original author here:-

Car has covered 14k miles now, and is by far the most unreliable vehicle I have ever owned.

The alarm has failed several times...

The air conditioning unit has failed twice...

The drivers side electric window is buggered...

There is a constant squeek from the left wheel...

The suspension creaks in a rather alarming fashion...

The engine is poor when cold...

Sometimes I hate this car. I have been thinking of getting rid.

However, the driving experience makes it very difficult. Its still the most fun car you can get for the money in my opinion. Nothing else handles and performs like this. I test drove a Vectra GSI today, and it was boring compared to the Clio... it was only faster after about 80 mph, and then only just. It feels slower as well. And the handling, nowhere near as good. Most alternatives are either not as fast, don't handle as well, or both. It will take some car to beat this one for enjoyment.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 36 reviews