2004 Renault Clio Reviews - Page 7 of 10

2004 Renault Clio Dynamique 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance8900 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Great big small car making great value for money

Faults:

Climate control wasn't working due to clog in motor not connected.

Soft windscreen suffering 3 big chip only after 8900 miles.

Bonnet dents easily if pushed shut.

General Comments:

This car was very cheap to buy when new as dealer was offering Digital climate control/Air con and electric sunroof for free on top of the already impressive spec, electric front windows, alloys, CD stereo with 6 speakers (sounds great!), trip computer, Front fogs, electric heated mirrors, remote Central locking, the list goes on and on all this for £8695.

The car is very roomy both in the front and rear, I'm 5ft 11 and I find it good.

Very comfortable sporty seats hold you in very and drives very smooth and easily.

Insurance is good, it's in my 21 year old girlfriends name and costs £600 fully comp.

The 1.2 16v engine is quite punchy from 0-60 but a bit gutless 50-70mph and I've has 107mph flat out from it.

Mine is in Pearl Black Met. and looks lovery when clean, but get dirty quicky and then looks crappy!.

Car also has automatic windscreen wipes and headlights that are a cool feature.

One small nag is the boot, it's not very big, but the rear seats do fold down flat, but there is a really agnoring high plastic step between the boot and rear seats that stop things sitting flat in the boot.

All in all of nearly 9000 miles and 1 year of ownership I have been very happy with the car and recommend it to any one, but as with all new cars, shop around for the best deal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2005

5th Jan 2005, 07:58

107mph isn't bad. I own a 1.6i 16V Scenic and had it to 122 mph.

2nd Mar 2005, 12:08

I'm 19 and bought a Clio on 04 plate. Done 4000 miles and already have a rattle that comes and goes on the dashboard.

I find it has good handling and once it gets going it is nippy round the streets. Try going downhill slightly you will find you will get 109mph!!!

Regret getting a black one though, murder to keep clean. Mats that were included are poor, nearly worn through after a week. Same problem with stereo, it turns it's self off when ignition isn't on (maybe it's meant to do this?)

Good spec, came with everything, but air-con/climate control basically. Bit cheap looking inside, but it's not a merc or is it!! I've found this is an ideal first car.

21st Mar 2005, 06:18

I have a 1.2 16v Dynamique and I've covered just under 7k. I've found it to be a great car. All the magazine reviews seem to under rate the cars handling, but I have - and I don't condone this - had various races with friends with other small cars such as Fiestas and Corsas and have easily beaten them when the road gets twisty. I even beat my friends Vauxhall Astra 1.6 SXI, which I'm very proud of. I managed to get 112mph when the car hit the rev limter on the motorway. Don't try it though, the jolt when it bounces off the limiter at 112mph will scare the pants off you!! Your right though, black is a terrible colour for keeping clean.

28th May 2005, 19:38

Recently, I visited a Renault dealer and they told me about some kind of upgrading to the engine, which elevates the horse power of the Clios in a range of 15hp, from 85 to 100 in the 1.2l version, which I'm interested in. In theory, this could be possible by a chip placed in the computer of the car. Can anybody explain something about it, please?

2004 Renault Clio Renault Sport 182 2.0 supercharged from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 supercharged Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance8500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Tigra

Summary:

FASTER than your car nice from the back I guess

Faults:

Tracking needed to be reset when I first got it and then again when I fitted the supercharger kit.

A few electrical niggles too, the window wipers are a little temperamental and left brake light keeps going.

Driver seat is a little squeaky.

Needs cleaning more than once a week because its black.

General Comments:

Took a week or two to get used to after my tigra 1.6 16v which I thought was great because it was faster than all the novas and astras...

BUT now I've got this!!

It'd kill the tigra going backwards and any SAXO.

I love this car it's got all the Renault sport refinements and a few gadgets of my own.

The supercharger and engine being chipped wot can I say, but WOW!!! now does 0-60 in 4.5 seconds.

Takes the piss out of my dads Audi TT 3.2quatro. he wasn't impressed, but me and the lads certainly are.

I've also just changed my stereo layout

All alpine top of the range including 1 mono class D for the Type X sub and 1 4way amp for the components and rear fill. I did have 2 Type X subs, but found out it would be much louder sending all the power to just 1. Definitely true. Not to mention the weight in the back plus the boot-build I put together now looks much better now it's less cramped.

I didn't bother with 6x9s as the sub would blow them through.

The car also has upgraded and lowered suspension for better handling and a more aggressive stance. Theres no bolted on crappy spoilers or body kits as I like the look it has with the few subtle mods. I think the spoilers or body kits on other cars only benefit the car because you know it's going to be regularly and carefully inspecked by the cops every time they spot ya. PROPPER BO.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th December, 2004

2nd Jan 2005, 14:28

I totally agree with above comment!!! 0-60 in 4.5 seconds. dream on... perhaps 6.5 may be possible, buy I knowing from owninf a 182 cup that 4.5 seconds in total bull!!!

3rd Jan 2005, 04:25

Sorry, but I have to agree with the comment no way is your Clio 300 HP. Come on lol.

As much as I love em they can't compare to a Lancer. Plus it is poor review.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 36 reviews