2000 Renault Megane Reviews - Page 7 of 10

2000 Renault Megane Coupe Sport Alize 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

OK for the money

Faults:

After restarting when warm, the car often seems to cut out or run erratically when maintaining a steady speed.

Paintwork is appallingly bad. just looking at stones makes the paint chip!

General Comments:

Considerably under powered!

Fuel consumption excellent at 46\48 mpg.

Does look good though..!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th June, 2003

2000 Renault Megane RXi 1.4i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

A good overall buy secondhand

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Car imported from Ireland to England by previous owner. RXi model not usually available in England.

Mainly driven by my wife.

Like external styling.

Front seats too short.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th May, 2003

2000 Renault Megane Coupe Sport Alize 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Gorgeous looking, fun to drive, shame about the dealers..

Faults:

6 months after getting the car the gear box support bolt sheared after pulling away at a roundabout. For once Renault service was very good and they fixed it immediately.

Alternator belt slipping after 24000 mile service.

Paint bubbling on rear spoiler.

General Comments:

Great looking exterior, dull interior. Very comfortable, especially on long journeys.

Great fun to drive and very responsive at higher revs. Well refined, decent build quality (especially when compared to my old Saxo)

Good selection of toys for the money. Air con is great and the sound system is especially good. Great 6 speaker setup.

Dealer service especially poor, and expensive. Am now using independent Renault specialists.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2002

18th Oct 2003, 17:21

I have just purchased the same model and one of the faults with it is the paint has bubbled on the spoiler too!!! I guess there must be some sort of factory fault with them.

Doug...

17th Feb 2004, 06:19

I have just recently purchased a Renault Megane 1.6 Alize (T-Reg) 1999.

I can only seem to get about 33MPG and that's quite bad considering my previous one (1998 S-Reg) did about 55MPG.

Anyone know why this could be?

By the way mine is yellow and I have the same problem with the paint on my spoiler too. Any idea how much a new spoiler would cost?

Shaun.

16th Jan 2005, 13:56

I am having problems with the paint on my red Renault Megane. The spoiler paint is bubbling. I have had it resprayed 4 times and need advice if there is a technique to solve the problem.

2000 Renault Megane Alize Coupe 16v 2.0ide from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0ide Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carAudi Coupe

Summary:

You would get great value for money if were not for all the faults that seem to haunt this model

Faults:

The first thing I noticed was that the paint was fading. The paint-work is Sunflower yellow so the fault was extremely noticeable showing through the grey undercoat. This gave the overall colour appearance a green tint.

After 5 re-sprays the car still has paint faults. There have been over 22 faults with this vehicle including a faulty steering rack, fuel injection computer faults and leaking shock absorber.

General Comments:

The car handles very well indeed. Both wet and dry driving is great fun.

The engine is a bit noisy, as is road noise through the chassis, but generally it's a fun car to drive and economical too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th June, 2002

2000 Renault Megane RXE 1.9 DTI from France

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 DTI Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres
Previous carLand Rover Discovery

Summary:

A disaster

Faults:

After 30000 km, the accessory belts did break and enter the distribution...the engine then had two valves broken...

3000 (3 weeks) later, same problem, but this time the belt debris broke the power steering pump...

General Comments:

Do not buy any Renault Megane... their engine is a disaster...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th May, 2002

6th Aug 2002, 00:53

Ditto - 1998 Megane Scenic Monaco 1.9dti engine - alternator/aircon compressor belt sheared in half - half of it sucked into crank pulley cover then damaged cam belt knocking timing out by 90 deg. s and killed 3 sets of valves!!! completely spoils an otherwise well designed car, lets hope the engine designer is shot for a stupid mistake like that, Watch your belts!!!

21st Aug 2008, 04:09

Have had a Scenic Megane for 4 years now, a 52 plate. Has had a new gear box, new servo, new clutch, needs a new timing belt, and the pump for the power steering's going! Never again will I entertain a Renault!

2000 Renault Megane Alize 1.6 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

A fast, safe, reliable, cute and comfortable car that I could recommend to anyone

Faults:

The front right electric window had a mind of its own, sometimes you would press it and it would go all the way down, other times it would only go down a bit? Apart from that, nothing.

General Comments:

This is the best car I've ever driven. The speed sensitive steering is excellent, you can actually feel what the car is doing as you're driving it. The gears are slick, the seats are very supportive, all round vision is excellent too.

The car does roll a little bit, but for a family hatch-back it handles superbly.

Performance is excellent. Very quick from a stand still (0-60 in 9.6) and is more than adequate for motorway driving. It looks the part too, it may not be quite as "sporty" as an Astra, but it's no where near as mundane!

Unfortunately it's now been written off due to a Ford Sierra jumping the lights and hitting my drivers side at about 50mph. Meganes have been voted the safest cars and their class - I can certainly vouch for that as this one probably kept me alive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2002

22nd Feb 2010, 06:30

I agree with all of this! I have neither the driving skill nor the cash to drive a sports car, and my 10 year-old Alize is nice looking, great fun, and performs well. I had to put new rear shocks and a drive shaft on when I first bought it, but I paid way under the going rate for it, so it doesn't owe me anything. AND... it is the only car I have ever owned (been driving since 1968!) that went straight through its MOT last month with absolutely no work required - £50! Can't go wrong, in my opinion. My previous car was a Megane Scenic, and that was great too!

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 42 reviews