2000 Renault Megane Reviews - Page 9 of 10

2000 Renault Megane Coupe Sport Alize 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance3900 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Very high specification for the amount paid

Faults:

A volumetric fault on the alarm meant it kept sounding for no apparent reason.

A harsh noise at the end of each gear change appeared in July 2000 and still hasn't been rectified despite two sets of mountings and the gear box being replaced.

Central locking seems to have a mind of its own.

General Comments:

The performance of the car is very good.

The rear of the car is severely lacking in leg room and you have to bend yourself in half to be able to get in and out of the back - not ideal if you use the rear of the car on a regular basis!

Disappointing service from the dealers - they don't seem particularly willing to accept that there are problems with the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th February, 2001

20th Mar 2001, 05:36

Been there & got the tee-shirt. I think Renault teach their employees "the gallic shrug" - they are completely uninterested in customer service. My Megane Coupe should have come with the warning: "do not buy this car if you intend to drive it". Never mind, I get my VW Passat on Saturday.

2000 Renault Megane Coupe 1.6 16v from Turkey

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance15000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 106 XR

Faults:

Engine can not set the idle point. The revolution of the engine changes very rapidly between 500 and 800. This causes interesting vibrations on the car. You feel uncomfortable while waiting in the traffic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2001

11th Apr 2001, 10:29

Hi

I have a New Renualt Megane coupe 1.6 16v. I am experiancing the vibration problem with idling.

The car has been back to the dealers 8 times. They have changed various parts on the engine.

They now tell me it is within the tolerances. Is this a fault? It must be.

I am very unhappy about this.

20th Apr 2001, 17:31

I have a red coupe sport 1998, I am experiencing vibrations and mine has been to the garage a number of times.

Also a lambda sensor was blown making fuel consumption heavy, but they replaced it and now it's brilliant on fuel.

The central locking on the boot failed and the pip on the key had to be reprogrammed.

Left electric windows, front and rear, are giving problems.

But it's a fun car to drive and I have made cosmetic changes.

20th Jan 2010, 06:48

I've had a Megane for almost 10 years now from new. The offside front electric window steel cable wore the cog after 2 years of use, so I had to remove the whole thing cos it was too expensive to replace (about $300 - new mechanism with motor). Now the window doesn't open.

I've also had vibrations when idling since I bought it, so it must be a common thing with Meganes.

Very noisy at high speeds. Very bad handling with 4 passengers and luggage.

Recently, the temperature gauge seems to be working when it feels like it. The fog lights stopped working, and it's not the fuse. One of the main beam light's connection is bad and haven't been able to fix. There's a strange noise of running water coming from behind the dash when revved.

I've had a crash and the airbags didn't deploy, however the safety belts' pyro mechanisms need changing - $700?!

2000 Renault Megane Coupe 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Faults:

Central locking is erratic.

General Comments:

Handles brilliantly; a joy to own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2001

2000 Renault Megane Coupe Sport 1.6 16v from Sweden

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carMazda MX3

Summary:

A lot of fun at a low cost

Faults:

Loose left door 2000km.

Engine failure (!?!) 12000km.

Loose engine.

General Comments:

15" wheels won't keep it steady at 200km/h. Lowering and 17" make it a lot better.

Strange position of the steering wheel and seats.

I rebuilt the drivers seat to fit me (I'm 185cm).

Very low fuel consumption.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2001

25th Jul 2001, 13:15

I'm having problems with what I think is the engine immobiliser but Renault cannot find a fault. It is becoming very unreliable as I don't know whether or not it is going to start. It is a 1999 v reg renault megane coupe sport 1.6 16v. Has anyone else experienced any problems?

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 42 reviews