2003 Renault Megane Reviews - Page 8 of 10

2003 Renault Megane dci 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance7200 miles
Previous carToyota Avensis

Summary:

A good motorway car

Faults:

Air conditioning not working.

Automatic wipers operate when not raining.

Rear wiper operates when not turned on.

Radio will not turn off when card is taken out or door opened. When driving the radio will bleep after 10 minutes and turn off.

General Comments:

Excellent diesel, loads of pulling power, good mpg, good driving position.

Nice interior, let down badly by electrical problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2004

2003 Renault Megane Dynamique 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

Good looker, but lacks performance

Faults:

The wipers work for no apparent reason, wiping when its not raining and not working when it is raining.

During the cold weather the car would start then the revs would die and the car would stall. The garage told me that Renault were aware of the problem, but didn't know how they could fix it.

Recently had my 18000 mile service. I was informed by the garage that the rear silencer needed replacing and the engine had an oil leak.

I had to leave the car with the garage for 3 days, so that the problem could be fixed!

Last week went to France and the Service light came on to tell me I had an Electronic fault. Told the garage, but as the problem has since disappeared there is nothing that they can do!

General Comments:

Good looking car that is well equipped with extras. Automatic lights, wipers and AC.

Handles well, but performance is limited.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2004

2003 Renault Megane megane II 1.4 16v 98 hp from Croatia

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v 98 hp Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance12000 kilometres

Summary:

Very good car, but bad production quality control!

Faults:

Rattling noise coming from engine block between 3000 and 4000 rpm - happened 8 months ago (at 3500 km), still not fixed, waittng opinion from France.

Water pouring in from front right door speaker - dealer fixed it.

Replaced both head light bulbs.

Brakes screeching since 2000 km.

Bumping noise in front left wheel when on poor road.

General Comments:

I was quite happy when I got the car. It is a very good car to drive and operate, but the metal sound coming from engine block every time I change gear makes me crazy. The dealer couldn't solve the problem and after three times they told me that problem is solved and gave me the car with the same irritating noise, I changed the dealer and they placed the problems to the factory. I'm waiting for their solution for the past three months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th May, 2004

26th Jul 2004, 07:01

Agree with you regarding quality. I drive a 2004 Megane 1.6. The dash rattles, especially on the passenger side - sounds like a Spanish dancer with castanets. It even rattles when I drive over smooth concrete in a parkade. Also there is a metallic banging noise from the LF suspension when cornering.

There are no functional failures, but my overall impression is that I would have been better off buying a Corolla.

23rd Nov 2005, 11:07

I have a 12 month old 1.6 VVT sport tourer. and have noted that there is a water leak into the left hand front door pocket. Can't see where it comes from, but as the door pocket is watertight, the water doesn't go away. Other than that I am very happy with the car.

2003 Renault Megane Sedane 2 1.6 Gasoline from Romania

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Gasoline Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance6000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Brava

Faults:

I have to change the wheel-bearing from front suspension of the after only 5.000 km!!!

General Comments:

After only 6.000 km I had problems with noise when I try rotate the wheel and on running on not-flat roads. From Service it was told to me that they have to change some wheel-bearing from front of the car. This seem to be a design or manufacturing problem most of Megane sedan 2 have it!!!

So! Take into consideration this issue when you decide to buy this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2004

2003 Renault Megane DCi 1.9 DCi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 DCi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance4236 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

A high performance frugal cruiser

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Excellent economy.

The 1.9 Dci engine is a wolf in sheep's clothing. It won't beat the hot hatches off the lights (just) but it will bury them into the sand on the motorway and on a hill. The torque (pulling power) this engine has is awesome as I found out when a guy in a Honda Type R tried to overtake me on a dual carriageway steep hill. I knocked down to third and the Renault just kept accelerating. The Type R gave in and probably wondered what the hell was happening!!

Seats are really comfortable.

Dash is nice and solid.

Rear legroom is very poor.

Exterior styling is original and refreshing.

Stereo is adequate and not that user friendly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2004

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 34 reviews