2003 Renault Megane Reviews - Page 6 of 10

2003 Renault Megane Authentique 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance66651 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

Brilliant, but very unreliable

Faults:

The engine management light comes on & there is a loss of power, this fault can occur at any time, not just on start-up. At the same time the engine sounds off-key & runs lumpy. If the engine is switched off & then re-started the engine can run OK. The loss of power is dangerous particularly if entering a round-about or trying to exit a junction. As at 020505, this vehicle has been returned to the main dealer for rectification on numerous occasions, it has had two sets of injector coils, a new set of plugs & a new throttle box. It is still faulting out. I have contacted Renault customer Services & basically they cannot solve this problem any better than the local dealer. I cannot believe that a company like Renault can walk away from this problem. Has any other Renault driver experienced this problem?

General Comments:

This fault is dangerous.

Renaults attitude is unbelievable.

The car design is brilliant.

I would have another Megane if this problem could be cured.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd May, 2005

30th May 2005, 05:11

I am having the exact same problem with my wifes 1997 Megane. So far two different Renault garages have not managed to find the fault. Did you ever get it sorted?

23rd Jun 2005, 13:42

I have a Megane Scenic that has the same problem as your one, but engine management light does not come on, local garage fitted new coils, but problem still persists, this is dangerous when overtaking,suddenly power fades and overtaking becomes a nightmare.

12th Jan 2006, 07:17

I have the same problem it is now only running on 2 cylinders rather than 4, has no power and always cuts out and revs up. the garages have fitted a new lambda sensor, but has not solved are now looking at changing the ECU unit, but this will be very costly - of all the expert opinions no one has been able to solve this problem. I am now worried about forking out lots of money for a new ecu if this will still not solve the problem.

18th Feb 2006, 17:06

I have a 2000 Megan, well I think its 2000 X Reg anyway, I had a similar problem and apparently there are many versions of the coils which cause this problem, the Grey topped Coil Packs seem to be OK, it's a problem with the older versions.

At least that is what fixed mine.

29th Mar 2011, 14:42

I own an 02 plate Authentique, and I have had problem after problem. Two sets of brake discs and pads in 2 years, resulted in 2 new calipers.

Also the losing power, I had a major headache with. They even replaced parts of the exhaust because they couldn't find the fault.

And to end my rant about Meganes, I just had the gearbox and engine mounts replaced, also the strut mounts, and now the engine has started screaming, so I suspect a water pump possibly or a belt. It's just costing a fortune, and Renault don't care about their cars having such major problems.

2003 Renault Megane Dynamique 1.6 VVT from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 VVT Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles

Summary:

Will buy another one!

Faults:

Keyless lock sensor on front passenger door, and then rear nearside passenger door.

Steering - a known Renault fault - when turning lock-to-lock, it clunked.

Drivers electric window failed.

Brakes squeak and sound like they rubbing, even only at 6000 miles.

General Comments:

Excellent value for money.

All, but brake problem have been fixed by dealer ASAP without quibble, under warranty.

Nice ride - cruises superbly (would do 34 mpg at 85mph!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2005

26th Jan 2006, 03:12

I am from the Seychelles and own a 1.6 VVT Megane II saloon for the past 17 months. To date I have had all the faults mentioned.

The steering clunk and the front brake squeal have not yet been fixed by the local dealer although they have had several go at it.

I will appreciate if somebody can point me to a solution that they've encountered. e.g. Is there a replacement part for the brakes? What was the solution for the steering wheel clunk?

In general my car's performance has been very good.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 33 reviews