2004 Saturn ION Reviews - Page 12 of 27

2004 Saturn ION Level 2 1.8L from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired285 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

I have considered buying a new car... it will be a Honda

Faults:

I too have an issue with my car starting randomly. I have started to go out to my car about 10 minutes before I am ready to leave and start it. Let it run for about 3-4 minutes. If it does not start, then I figure by the time I am really ready to leave, it will start because I will have passed my ten minute "security check". This works most mornings. Thank God I have another car at my leisure.

General Comments:

There is an easy way for anyone having this issue to contact Saturn.

https://www.saturn.com/toolbar/contact_us.html

Let Saturn know your comments. Maybe they will do something about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th March, 2008

2004 Saturn ION 3 2.2 litre from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 litre Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

What is GM thinking?

Faults:

Two ignition switch failures during cold weather, which caused a VA complaint to be filed against me at work. Sealed joints creak (front end). Climate control problems. HVAC blower sounds like an 8 mm projector. Ventilation knob turns, however, air flow is not directed to the desired setting; air blows out of the floor, dash, and defrost vents at the same time. Intermittent stalling when down shifting into first even when the clutch is engaged and/or in neutral. Choppy acceleration while in the 2,500-3,000 rpm range. Horrible handling in the snow (I have owned rear-wheel drive muscle cars which handled better on ice) for being a front wheel drive. I have purposely avoided certain routes during snowfall because the car is all over the place (yes the tires are still good). Worst of all is the condescending attitude at the dealership. I'm not one who will freak out. However I am one more person that is done buying GM products. One plus; the Ecotec 2.2L, though under-powered has better fuel efficiency than my old V-8.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2008

28th May 2009, 11:56

All the issues that you have had are all TSB (technical service bulletins) and if your dealership did their job they would have had all these problems fixed. Its interesting that you have poor driving in winter, I have winter tires and the high performance model (redline) and live in Canada. My car is a dream in the snow and ice, never been stuck once and the steering is on par with every other car I have driven.

2004 Saturn ION 2 Quad Coupe 2.2 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance123000 kilometres

Summary:

Stay away from all Saturns (they belong to GM don't forget!)

Faults:

Where should I start??

Problems under 70,000km include the following:

Catalytic converter ($1200, thank god it was warrantied until 110,000km).

Ignition module ($230, out of my pocket).

Battery.

Starter.

Tires lasted 38,000km.

Driver's side suicide door window needed replacing (the rubber strip peeled away) (under warranty).

10,000km later, window's rubber seal (from replaced window) goes again. This time not under warranty. I ain't replacing it to the sum of $400!

Constant problems that persist are: (Currently at 123,000km)

Car won't start in cold temperatures (even -5!!!)

Very frustrating and depressing. I've had numerous problems in winter 2006/2007 with the car not starting. I paid $230 to have a block heater installed for this winter. Worked for 1/2 this winter and then car started not starting even after the car had been plugged in for several hours. Bought a Car Charger/Booster and this seemed to do the trick, along with the block heater. BUT, today and 2 weeks ago the car won't start even with the car being plugged in for 8 hours and the battery on CHARGE for 30-60 minutes.

I believe it to be the ignition switch problem everyone online seems to be having.

In short, I'm selling it and buying a reliable car (Honda).

General Comments:

I'm constantly worrying that this car will break down at anytime. Can't wait till this winter is over so I can ensure that my car will start in the mornings. I have been late at least 12 times this winter due to the car not starting right away (or at all!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th February, 2008

4th Mar 2008, 15:57

I'm sorry to hear about your troubles with your vehicle.

However, to put the knowledge out there.. When your Ignition Module fails, your Cat with fail along with it. The Cat is covered 8 years or 80,000 miles.

Your vehicles problems are not horrible, and I do not think that this review should have totally bashed this car of which gives so many people, like myself great reliability.

20th Nov 2008, 15:54

I have the same car, and it's been absolutely great!!

21st Jan 2009, 20:10

This Ion 2004 sucks, I hate it, it won't start. It's worse this year, half the time it won't take a jump.

Cat smells; dealer wouldn't replace it, even though I complained several times. They couldn't smell it or wouldn't acknowledge it smelled, so they couldn't fix it. I HATE it.

15th Nov 2010, 09:53

I totally agree. I have the same ignition problem, my passenger door seal is leaking, and the struts need to be replaced in the front. My car has 68k on it. Although it's not terrible, it is aggravating that they didn't do a recall on the ignition problem. I have found myself stuck in dark parking lots in the winter numerous times.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 95 reviews