2004 Saturn ION Reviews - Page 13 of 27

2004 Saturn ION 3 2.2 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Montero

Summary:

Economical and easy to maintain

Faults:

Struts and brake pads.

Now the bypass lock is acting up, after 100000 miles.

Signal bulbs (front driver side) been replaced almost 4 times.

General Comments:

I've had the car for almost five years with over 100000 miles on it. I really can't complain because I never had any problems until now.

I am reading a lot about the bypass needing to be replaced because the car won't start. We didn't start to have that problem until about 100000.

Other than the normal wear wear and tear, nothing really big needed to be replaced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2008

2004 Saturn ION 2.0 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles

Summary:

Excellent economy car

Faults:

The reverse lights switch went out around 40,000 miles, cost about $50 to replace.

General Comments:

Very minimal cost to run, gets 30+ MPG city or highway. The seats are fairly low and get a little uncomfortable for 4+ hour road trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2008

2004 Saturn ION Coupe II 2.2L from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired212 miles
Most recent distance47500 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Oppsies on the purchase of a Saturn

Faults:

1) Within 1 month of purchase, mine was in for service and I was driving a dealer car which shifted 'smoother'. Dealer said "all good" within 18months and 5 services I had a whole new clutch assembly - Master cylinderback. Dealer apologized for "missing the problem the first time". And gave me mud flaps b/c of the error.

2) 2 alignments within 20k

3) new sway bar bushings within 40k

4) New key ignition setup at 30k

5) suspension started "squeaking" at 30k

6) Gas mileage at 28mpg after 34mpg a month ago (now at 47k miles) worst gas mileage before today was 31mpg.

General Comments:

Cheap - $6K dealer insentives .

I love the doors (suicide)

I love the hard plastic coating on the passenger seat.

Fits a dresser, or a Lazy-boy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st December, 2007

2004 Saturn ION 03 series from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10

Faults:

I am so glad I am not the only person who have been left stranded in the freezing cold because of the Ion ignition defect. It is absolutely a problem Saturn should comp as it is a malfunction in the electric system. I am printing out all of these pages of legitimate complaints and bringing them to meeting with the GM of my local Saturn dealership before I allow them to service my car. If he or she can look me in the eyes and honestly tell me that its my fault and my responsibility then I will be amazed. I am young person without a lot of money who lives far away from family and friends (to call for rides) and cannot afford to deal with this problem right now. GRRRRRRR! I will write an additional complaint on the NHTSA website. Maybe we can get a class-action lawsuit together for all Ion owners who have been late to work and stranded in the cold!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th December, 2007

18th Dec 2007, 13:41

There are a lot of similar complaints about the ignition / starter key on the Cobalt, which is a clone of the Ion; you might check there also.

2004 Saturn ION from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carPontiac Aztek

Summary:

In my opinion this vehicle was not worth the money

Faults:

Will not start in weather in freezing temperatures.

Bed of trunk warped in the first year and is no longer flat.

Seats have bad wear and will have to be replaced.

Wears down breaks fast-two sets just this year.

General Comments:

The materials in the car seem to be deteriorating quickly.

The seats are uncomfortable.

On an up note... the side panels are very durable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th December, 2007

2004 Saturn ION 3 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired41 miles
Most recent distance100001 miles

Summary:

No

Faults:

I am also a Saturn Ion owner, and of course my car doesn't start when it is cold either. In fact, I just tried to start it 4 times, and it just clicks, then nothing. I try the usual thing I have been doing for the past two years in the winter : wait 10 minutes for the battery to turn off, then retry, and that usually works. However, if it's ultra cold... it could take years.

I have poor circulation and I really can't afford to get stranded in the freezing cold when my car doesn't start after work, or wherever I am. I was just stuck before and my feet are still numb. If I were being chased by a murdering lunatic, and my car was my only escape, I would be dead; all because Saturn doesn't know how to do a recall on the Passlock security ignition cylinder.

Oddly enough, everyone who has had this exact problem has either paid too much (or just paid) when they shouldn't have... it really is actually just the grease that needs to be replaced, and it looks like some people paid for various ignition switches.. It seems like everyone got a different price or explanation as well.

I paid 18000 for this car. SOMETHING HAS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS... there is definitely something wrong here.

General Comments:

My air conditioning leaks now (mildly), and I'm sure it will get worse.

My heat shields fell off on the highway during warranty.

It's possible that an 8th grader designed the oil filter.

And my engine accelerates and decelerates weird; they said they fixed it over a year ago... but judging by all these other comments on here.. I'm not going to ask them to fix it, because I'm sure it will be a waste of money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st December, 2007

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 95 reviews