2003 Saturn L200 Reviews - Page 6 of 6

2003 Saturn L200 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5600 miles
Most recent distance16300 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

An excellent asset to any family on a budget

Faults:

The alignment is an issue with this car, although, with the right tires and a close eye on the tire wear, it is an issue that can be corrected. The factory tires were not great, in fact, they were down-right bad. We replaced them, under warranty, with newer, better rated tires and have since had NO problems. Another issue I had was with some creaking through the front axle when I would make a turn onto a road or driveway with a significant incline or up a hill. The creaking became noticeable to pedestrians, and I knew it was time to take it in. When I did, a minor adjustment to a too-tight axle fixed the problem completely.

General Comments:

The ride of this car is heavy and solid, much like the foreign vehicles I've previously owned. The handling is great and the responsiveness has literally saved my life and the lives of my children. The wide grip on the road allows for excellent cornering and even my V4 is quick and throaty. Not real comfortable for long rides, but I don't spend much time traveling long distances. I truly love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2005

2003 Saturn L200 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

Thank God for extended warranty

Faults:

Irregular tire wear becoming noticeable at 20k miles. Rotated & balances tires every 6k miles. At 32k tire noise became unbearable and would move when tires were rotated. Dealer had KIT to make back wheels perpendicular so camber of front wheels could be aligned properly. Four wheel alignment was done and all tires replace under warranty. I had copies of all tire rotations available. Hope problem will not re-occur before warranty runs out.

General Comments:

First and second gear quick, but shifts slow when cold. Third gear is very slow to accelerate. Mileage average 24mpg with AC, 28mpg without AC.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2004

28th Dec 2006, 12:28

Same type of problem. I've had 16 tires on my 2003 L 200 all at Saturn's expense.

14th Apr 2007, 21:12

I Have a 2003 L200. I bought in 2004 got the car with 34,000 miles. Saturn put a set tire's on the car ran very ruff. I put set of Michelin Tire rides great. Have over 40,000 mile on the tires still runs smooth.

2003 Saturn L200 2.2 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

An efficient, economical worth the money, easy to own vehicle

Faults:

Have not had anything go wrong with the car yet, but, I have only had it for a couple of months.

General Comments:

So far, this car has met my expectations, great on gas mileage and great performance on the highway at the same time. Exceptionally quiet with minimal road noise on the highway as long as you run the correct tires.

The interior has taken a turn for the better from past models, though it could still use a few more enhancing details, like an interior light dimmer for the dome light.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2004

15th Feb 2006, 02:30

Hello, I'm a former Saturn owner. I disagree, it wasn't a great car at all. Poorly made American vehicle. Bumper is poorly put together, and the gas mileage stank. I bought the car with less than 5000 on it, and I traded it in for a real car, a Honda Accord 06.

2003 Saturn L200 2.2L 4-Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L 4-Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14953 miles
Most recent distance15001 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

`lil Powerhouse

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

Very Reliable, Engine is way better than my Mitsubishi Mirage, this baby Flies!

Had to pay extra for ashtray.

Dealership lost 2nd set of keys, gonna cost me $57 to get another remote lock/unlock transmitter made : (

I would highly recommend this car to anyone!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2003

15th Apr 2004, 08:53

I just got the same car and mine has been great so far.

This car will move, and comfort is high.

It is also a very safe car.

25th Apr 2004, 10:13

I just purchased a 2003 L200 and it had 19000 on it when I took it home. Hope to not have any problems with it like they had back in 2002.

Car is roomier than it looks on the outside, also provides a relaxing ride with optional lumbar seats. Style for Saturns mid size sedan has come a long way, but still needs some improvement. Still a little plain on the interior.

I never get t drive it. My wife drives it and I am stuck driving the Accord, which is also pretty nice in its own respects.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 22 reviews