1997 Saturn SC Reviews - Page 10 of 10

1997 Saturn SC -2 1.9 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance75552 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

Cheap insurance

Faults:

Sunroof motor gears striped at 73000 miles.

Battery went dead at about 72000 miles, but it was a six year old battery.

General Comments:

The sunroof not working I can deal with and the firm suspension too.

The car is rated at 124 horsepower, but it feels like more.

Looks and performs like a sports car.

Very reliable car never had any problems with the car that couldn't live with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2003

1997 Saturn SC SC2 2.0 I-4 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 I-4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Great gas mileage and reliability.

Faults:

Burns about a quart of oil every 1000-2000 miles.

The plastic sides of the radiator were cracked when I purchased the car, replaced for about $120, with two hours of work.

O2 sensor was bad when I purchased the car, I replaced it for $20 and 5 minutes of work.

Replaced brake rotors, calipers and pads, $150 and about 4 hours of work. This was routine maintenance on a car with high mileage.

General Comments:

The car has been amazing! I bought it with 120,000 miles for $2500 and I still get 36MPG around rural Ohio! The highway mileage is slightly worse since it's geared so low, I get 32MPG on the highway, but I was carrying about 1500LBS while traveling 80MPH+.

It has a surprisingly large amount of cargo space for a small car.

It's no sports car, but it handles well and the ride is comfortable. Acceleration is good, but not great.

The gears (manual) are far too close ratio, and overall, the car should be geared slightly higher.

I bought the car with several problems that were easily fixed, since then, it's been running stronger than ever.

When traveling over 50MPH for prolonged periods of time (5 minutes), the "SERVICE ENGINE SOON" light turns on and blinks. The computer gives a "Multiple random cylinder misfire", but the car still runs perfectly fine. I believe it is a sensor error.

It's not the most manly car, but it's not as girlie as a Mitsubishi Eclipse either.

Other than the burning oil, this car's been great to me.

The plastic side pannels are great, it's nice to not have to worry about anything ever denting your car. You can also let off some steam by kicking the doors.

I'd definitely buy another Saturn over any Japanese car on the market. Just don't settle for the Single Over-Head Cam, the DOHC is a much better choice if you want any type of power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2003

1997 Saturn SC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

I will never buy another Saturn

Faults:

Cracked Head gasket at under 50K miles.

Needed two new alternators within first year's ownership.

**Currently hesitates upon acceleration. This is happening in the morning or after sitting for more than 8 hours. After it warms up, it runs fine until it sits idle for long periods. I am no longer under warranty, so I'd like to hear if someone has any suggestions before I take it in.

General Comments:

Saturn of Santa Rosa service has been very helpful while the car was under warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th October, 2002

1997 Saturn SC SC2 1.9 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Saturn: fun and function

Faults:

Alternator went after I had it 2 weeks; I made the dealer fix it.

It goes through a lot of oil, like the other reviews I have read on this site.

General Comments:

After owning a Tempo, this car is a big step up in terms of performance and reliability.

I enjoy driving this car. She corners quite nicely. Even though it is a 4 cylinder, the DOHC makes a big difference. She has a lot of get-up-and-go.

The only problem is that I have to constantly add oil to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2001

1997 Saturn SC SC2 1.9 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance47225 miles
Previous carSubaru XT Coupe

Summary:

I would NOT recommend buying ANY Saturn to anyone

Faults:

At 30K miles the engine seized up without any warning signs. Fortunately I had purchased an extended warranty, and after a protracted battle with the local dealership and the corporate office, they agreed to replace the engine under warranty. The new engine has consistently been losing oil, and the dealership has run several oil consumption tests. Latest results show 3.75 quarts lost over 2,545 miles.

General Comments:

When the original engine died, I went through a protracted battle with both the Corporate Office (Supposedly Different Car Company) and the local dealership, due to the fact that I had been performing all the oil changes myself. Lacking receipts for all the oil and filters, they argued that I failed to properly maintain the engine, and performed several tests on the oil and engine in an effort to relieve themselves of responsibility. Ultimately they agreed to replace the engine under warranty, but only after putting my wife & I through a stressful and humiliating process.

Now the new engine is losing oil, and our warranty is running out. Owning this car is like sitting on a time bomb. I would NOT recommend buying ANY Saturn to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th December, 2000

2nd Oct 2001, 17:37

I disagree with the last comment. All these cars are junk.

4th Oct 2001, 11:35

Having replaced our 1996 Saturn SC2 after the engine blew out in July 2001, we can attest to the high oil consumption. My daughter could not keep up with adding oil every couple of hundred miles on a trip and it went dry, blowing out on an interstate in Ohio and putting her in danger. We complained 2 years earlier when the car was still under warranty, but the dealer said nothing could be done but add oil frequently. Without records, we were told by Saturn it was lack of proper maintenance. We paid for a replacement engine (took 2 months) - we could only afford a used engine - and that has 106,000 miles on it. Saturn was no help. And now this engine looks like an oil burner as well... The earlier comment about driving like a maniac was uncalled for. You wouldn't believe the number of hits on "Saturn oil consumption" on the internet! It is a real problem, and Saturn should admit it and give some relief and understanding to us. And after the awful events of 9/11, they had not acted like Americans to help others in time of need when my daughter was stranded in Ohio after her defective Saturn engine blew up. I had to have the car towed 125 miles to a Fort Wayne dealer, and paid for everything from the tow on... including the $2500 engine replacement.

1997 Saturn SC SC2 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 1.9
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Power window motor went out.

Both front rotors became warped and were replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

The sales experience can't be beat. Everyone at the 3 different dea;erships have been wonderful. Buying and maintaining Saturns is a different experience than you can find anywhere else! It's great! I've purchased 2 new cars and 1 used car from Saturn.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 41 reviews