1997 Saturn SC Reviews - Page 9 of 10

1997 Saturn SC SC2 1.9L DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9L DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance98500 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

I'd get another one in a minute.

Faults:

Spark plugs not replaced by previous owner, replaced at 94,000 miles.

P.C.R. valve also not replaced by previous owner, replaced at 94,000 miles.

Paint on hood was chipped when bought, presumably from hail.

General Comments:

Manual is quick from a start, outraces several higher performance cars.

Backseat, though only designed to hold two adults comfortably, is spacious without being cramped.

Using only Chevron gas, with about 40% city miles and 60% highway miles, I get about 38 miles per gallon, and havent noticed any increased consumption in oil.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2004

1997 Saturn SC -2 4 cylinder. DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles

Summary:

Great first car for a college student

Faults:

High rate of oil consumption.

Battery died, but it was the factory installed battery.

Grinding noise in the brakes that has still not been identified, though Carmax did replace the brake pads and rotors at no cost because it was within the first 30 days after I bought the car.

General Comments:

Overall I am impressed with the car. It has the normal problems you would expect from any used car.

Suspension makes you feel every bump in the road.

Doesn't block road noise well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th August, 2004

1997 Saturn SC SC1 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles

Summary:

Comparable to, yet cheaper than, a Honda coupe

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

When I purchased the car in early 2003 I spent around $200 (making the total amount paid $2700, I think I got a good price) in routine gadgets that needed replacing: spark plugs, brakes, a windshield wiper, etc.

The car isn't very fast, but gets me where I need to be quickly enough. If you need more speed and don't mind paying slightly more, go for the SC2.

I wouldn't suggest taking the car on extended trips, as the seats like thigh support and sit extremely low. However, that is to be expected from a coupe that was built for economy and looks rather than comfort. The seats won't bother you if you drive the car only on routine journeys that occupy less than an hour's worth of drive time.

The speakers and sound system are stock, and fill the cabin superbly with noise. Coming from a teenager with a penchant for loud, screaming music, this compliment is not to be taken lightly.

The instrument cluster is easy to use and well lit, making gadgets easy to find even during the night.

Fuel economy is normal: I pay a little under $10 per week to drive near 300 miles before refueling on Saturdays.

I wish rear-seat access were simpler, as nearly all occupants must exit to accommodate an exit from the back seat. I highly suggest purchasing a model with the third door, a recent added option for SC2's, which make access easier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2004

1997 Saturn SC SC2 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carMazda MX6

Summary:

I was not pleased with my Saturn experience

Faults:

There was a high pitched noise before shifting into 3rd. They replaced the gear, but the noise never went away. The seat belt retractors stopped retracting. They replaced them and it happened again. It had carbon built up really bad and after I complained when they expected me to pay for the cleaning, they found a service bulletin about it and covered it. The piston rings went bad and they wanted $2200 to fix it about 5000 miles after my extended warranty expired. Dumped the car!

General Comments:

The car looks nice and I love the plastic body. No scratches and door dings! The interior is very nice also. Mechanically the car is very bad...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th December, 2003

1997 Saturn SC SC1 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carPontiac Pontiac

Summary:

Not worth the money or the trouble

Faults:

Replaced alternator and battery several times.

Had problems with cooling system and fuel pump. Had those replaced.

Continue to have problems starting the car consistently.

General Comments:

I purchased my 1997 SC1 in 2000 from Saturn of Aurora in Colorado. I was very excited because I heard so many good things about Saturn. I have always followed the manufacturer's regular oil change and maintenance schedule.

I have only have the car for 3.5 years and have driven it about 39K miles. Things were great the first year or so. But, at that time, I wasn't driving it every day.

The temperature sensor light started coming on in early 2002. As a result I had the fuel pump and a new cooling system put in.

Then in late 2002 I had problems starting the car. I would have to try about 3 times before it would actually start. I took it to the dealership and they gave me a new battery. That seemed to work.

In early 2003, I started having the problem again. I took it to the dealership. They said that everything was fine. They couldn't fine a problem while they were servicing it. I took it home and, a couple days later, I had the same problem. I took it back to the dealership. They said that the battery was fine, but that the car wasn't able to start because I needed a new alternator. So, I had a new alternator installed.

Around Thanksgiving of 2003, I started having the same problems with starting the car. We got another battery. It worked for about a week. Now it won't start at all. But the battery is working fine because the clock still comes on!

I am so frustrated with this car. I still owe money on it. Overall, I think the car was overpriced. I paid about $11,500 on it back in 2000 and I still owe about $3800. That's about all that it's worth in the blue book. I definitely wouldn't want to sell it to anyone. I wouldn't wish all these troubles on my worst enemy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th December, 2003

5th Mar 2005, 23:27

Sounds like a problem you are having with your mechanic not the car its self! Try a new garage!

23rd Jun 2005, 18:42

I have one and its been fine to me. Only thing that happened was the passenger side window wouldn't roll up, but that was an easy fix. Over all I'd say this car was worth it. I bought mine for $4,200 in the fall of '03.

18th Jan 2006, 15:43

My transmission went bad this year and my mechanic told me only Saturn can reprogram the computer, but I still think it's a nice car.

4th Apr 2009, 15:53

Did you find the problem? I'm having the same trouble!

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 41 reviews