2002 Saturn VUE Reviews - Page 13 of 15

2002 Saturn VUE V6 3.0 Litre from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance20580 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

The Vue is a high quality, economical SUV that has good looks and exceptional performance

Faults:

There has been nothing that has gone wrong with this vehicle. Excellent quality.

General Comments:

This vehicle is awesome in every aspect.

The acceleration is amazing. Much better than the Ford Escort!

Saturn retailer service is the best I have ever had. Ford should pay attention.

This vehicle looks different and is very visible in traffic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2003

20th Feb 2004, 06:28

Don't compare an SUV to a compact car.

2002 Saturn VUE AWD V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

A roomy, economical, reliable, and domesticated AWD

Faults:

Not one thing.

General Comments:

The VUE is not a serious off-road 4x4 but it is not intended to be.

Having driven two Ford Explorers previously and one GMC Jimmy, I was ready for an AWD that is economical and has a car-like ride.

I have been very pleased with the VUE and it got me everywhere I needed to be during one of the harshest winters in recent years.

I am especially pleased with the gas mileage... an honest 25 mpg on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2003

2002 Saturn VUE from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance8500 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Not 100% ready for consumers yet

Faults:

The steering column started having problems a few months after I purchased the car. It grinds and pulls and makes horrible noises.

The four wheel drive does very poorly in adverse weather conditions. Even with studded snow tires I could not make it up a slight incline; forget about making it up any hills.

The service light has come on several times for no apparent reason. The dealership claimed it must be something I was doing.

After eight months of complaining to the dealership, they finally admitted the VUEs have a faulty part in the boot of the steering column and Saturn has yet to find a fix. They also admitted that there have been many reported problems with the service lights shorting out, and that too is being looked at.

The service department claims the boot problem is because dirt gets in there and causes problems. Ridiculous. I had the car detailed and immediately took it them for service. The same noise and pulling started again before I even made it off the lot.

General Comments:

My biggest complaint is that I have to drive a car that I do not feel safe in due to the problems with the steering column and the dealership does not seem to care, or be able to give me a straight answer. So much for their "customer service" commercials.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th May, 2003

2nd Jul 2004, 10:08

If your Saturn has been to the dealer for repairs more than three times. You should filed a lemon-law and I know a good lemon-law attorney.

2002 Saturn VUE 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance10006 miles
Previous carSaturn L200

Summary:

A versatile, well-built family vehicle

General Comments:

This car is a terrific value. I've read numerous reviews in which owners have had a myriad of mechanical problems. I've had absolutely no problems with this vehicle of any kind. I've driven it for four months, with approximately 10,000 miles on the odometer, and have yet to have a single problem or breakdown.

That's not to say this vehicle is totally without deficiencies. The front seats are without lumbar supports, which makes them uncomfortable on long drives. Also, the stereo system is unsatisfactory, with tinny, hollow-sounding speakers and a CD player that skips periodically when traveling over rough roads. These are minor annoyances, though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2003

2002 Saturn VUE 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200 kilometres
Most recent distance22000 kilometres
Previous carSaturn SW

Summary:

Free Lemonade; Suck on tail pipe

Faults:

Front struts have been replaced twice.

Air conditioning Fuse Blew (twice)

Turn Signal got hot and shorted out.

Air conditioning smelled funny.

Passenger wiper sprayer broke.

Driver wiper motor broke.

Service engine soon light came on. (3 sensors needed to be replaced).

Steering column creeks.

Driver sprayer Broke

Driver wiper motor broke again!

Service engine soon like returned 1 month later (???)

Transmission clunking noise.

General Comments:

Free Lemonade; Suck on tail pipe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th March, 2003

28th Mar 2004, 16:09

I bought a 2002 VUE and had many of the same problems. My VUE has been in the dealership shop 15 times in the past 2 years. Guess what it goes in next week for a "Check your engine soon" light. Never again will I buy a Saturn. I wondered why Americans are buying foreign cars and I think I know why now!

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 46 reviews