2003 Saturn VUE Reviews - Page 14 of 25

2003 Saturn VUE AWD V6 V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance60300 miles
Previous carToyota Sienna

Summary:

Unreliable. "Rough" uncomfortable ride / stiff drive.

Faults:

Thermostat that has an expected life of 75000 went at 36500 (minutes after warranty ran out).

DOA August 2005 and November 2005. Undetermined cause.

General Comments:

Drives like a truck. Unwieldy.

No door ajar light - not good with kids around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th November, 2005

2003 Saturn VUE AWD 3.0L V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Manual
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

I like the car, but I just don't think that there should be problems with the bearings at this time

Faults:

16,500 miles: Heater Control head and connector burned out; Faulty Thermostat. All replaced under warranty.

19,484 miles: Block assembly, iring harness junction replaced under warranty.

20,330 miles: Defective hazard switch replaced under warranty.

35,654 miles: Faulty Mirror/compass repaired under warranty.

39,445 miles: Rear axle bearings need to be replaced as well as the carrier bearing on the drive shaft.

General Comments:

Vehicle has always sounded like an airplane trying to take off. Said to be normal. Now, have axle and carrier bearings issues. Car still young. Is there an underlying issue?

I don't think that there should be problems with the bearings!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2005

1st Dec 2006, 08:23

I have a 2003 3.0 V6 AWD VUE and have also gone through a couple of bearings. When you replace them go after-market not original GM parts you will probably never have to replace them again. Avoid the ones made in China, they are a lower grade steel.

11th Jan 2007, 17:33

Yes, same problem with my Chrysler Cirrus and my Vue, went out and went aftermarket and have almost tripled the life of the last ones, great suggestion!

18th Jul 2010, 21:42

We only have 107000 miles on our 2003 Saturn Vue and are replacing the wheel bearings a second time. These cars are a piece of junk.

19th Jul 2010, 18:42

For those of you who are constantly replacing wheel bearings on the Saturn Vue, I think I may have found the solution.

Not all Vue's came equipped with ABS (anti-lock brakes), and when a bearing fails on one of these models, the dealers replace the bearing with bearings for an ABS equipped model. Without the wheel-speed sensor that goes into the ABS equipped bearings, water can get inside, causing the bearings to fail.

This may not be everybody's problem. However, it was the problem for a good friend of mine who was also having constant wheel bearing issues in her Saturn Vue.

2003 Saturn VUE 3.0 V6 AWD from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 AWD Automatic
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

This car is perfect

Faults:

I have had my 2003 Saturn VUE for five months now and have never had a problem. It is the most reliable car I have ever owned.

General Comments:

Saturn's are probably one of the smoothest rides. It has very good pick up and handles well. The seats are very comfortable and the air conditioning works wonders. I love my Saturn VUE.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2005

2003 Saturn VUE 2.2L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired250 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carDodge Avenger

Summary:

I love it, I hate, I will never buy another Saturn

Faults:

Vehicle was purchased in June 2003.

Part of the "Appearance Package" began to come off the passenger rear door within the first month we had the car. We had it fixed and it began to do the same about a month later. We then had it serviced again and this time they had to "reposition" the front passenger door to keep it from happening again.

At about the one year mark of ownership, the air conditioner went out. We took it in and they said there was air in it.

During the winter of 2004/2005 fan speed 4 stopped working. We took it in July 8th, 2005, and are still waiting for the part to come in.

Also during the winter of 2004/2005 the electrical system went crazy. The interior lights would go on and off on their own accord. We took it in, they had it for 2 days before it was fixed.

General Comments:

A very comfortable ride except there is a lot of "road noise".

I love the size and height of it. It has nice tight steering, easy to park, and minimal blind spots. Body wise it is a great vehicle. Mechanically it is not up to par, especially for a GM product.

My major complaint is that we live in Minot, ND and have to drive all the way to Bismarck, ND to have our vehicle serviced. We have had to make the trip four times in less than 2 years. Obviously this is eating up my warranty! For compensation they initially offered us free oil changes, IN BISMARCK!! Then they were so kind as to give us a lovely gift card to Wal-Mart for a whopping $50 instead. Of course we took it, but it is obviously no sort of compensation for our troubles with the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th July, 2005

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 93 reviews