2003 Saturn VUE Reviews - Page 13 of 25

2003 Saturn VUE V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carSaturn VUE

Summary:

Don't buy - look at other similar cars

Faults:

Driver side wheel bearing - 37500 miles

Passenger side wheel bearing - 42000 miles

Intermittent skipping 3rd gear while driving - 45000 miles

Driver side rear window power stopped - 33000 miles.

General Comments:

Too many "nickel and dime" problems. It finally needed a transmission that Saturn servicing dealer quoted at $3500 - $6000 USD to replace. Warranty ended at 36000 miles. Not worth it - ended up getting rid of the car.

Driven as a "commuter car" 60 miles per day. Never towed a thing, little traffic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th March, 2006

5th Jun 2006, 10:50

Well all that I can say is... if the company builds its bodies with plastic... what do you expect of the drive train?

10th Jun 2006, 20:00

I am happy with my Vue for the most part, but I'm about to replace the passenger side wheel bearings for the second time. I purchased my '03 in early 2004, replaced the first set in early 2005 and I have an appointment next week to replace the same thing again.

28th Feb 2007, 00:01

How can you be happy replacing wheel bearings twice in 2 years after buying a new car? I buy new cars so I don't have to replace things. Are you happy because everything is under warranty? Because, you know, warrenties expire. And cars get worse as they age, not better...

Sure, there are lots of happy Saturn customers. Because generally speaking, the service is pretty good. But the cars are terrible. That's a fact!

I love the "I've had my Vue for 8 months and its perfect" comments. Maybe 8 years, and it would mean something. 8 months? Get real.

2003 Saturn VUE AWD V6 3.0 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carPontiac Aztek

Summary:

Disappointing

Faults:

Stabilizer Control link froze up at 36150 and dealer would not cover. Thermostat went at 46000 at a cost of $174.00 and had to replace right side Stabilizer control link (which froze up). A fuel filter costs me 48.00 to replace and paper oil filters are $8.00.

General Comments:

I would not buy another Saturn. I paid $27,00 for the car because of its reliability and I wish I kept my Aztek. I put 110,00 miles on it with nothing going wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st February, 2006

23rd Feb 2006, 08:05

Doesn't sound like the car has been that bad...that's not a whole lot of repairs in that many miles. At least it isn't as butt ugly as the Aztek.

6th Mar 2006, 08:26

I had the same issue with the thermostat. Replaced around 50,000 at a high price because of the location. After we though that we had it all running well, the water pump went out. I have been told that this is also in an unusual place and will cost more than double the normal cost of a typical water pump replacement. These two issues were after a series of low coolant and check engine issues having to something to do with the coolant system. Seems like a trend on this site.

2003 Saturn VUE AWD 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carSaturn Chevy Astro Van

Summary:

Very good

Faults:

No trouble with the car. Bought it used, two years ago. Came with new tires. Have only replaced the battery and done normal service.

General Comments:

Car is great for commuting to work and hauling items on the weekend. General gas mileage is 23 mpg. Highest mileage (on trips) is 27 mpg.

Car does great in snow and ice. ABS is loud, but effective.

AC is summer is weak. Charge has been checked, but system is still week.

Heated leather seat option is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2006

2003 Saturn VUE 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

Transmission issues - Trade after the warranty

Faults:

Transmission started grinding at 6500 miles - VTI Transmission replaced

Transmission started grinding again at 11,000 miles - I was advised nothing the dealer could do until some new transmission fluid was available in 2-3 months.. 13000 miles fluid change completed grinding sound gone for now..

Rear lateral link replaced at 20258 miles

Left headlight out at 26000 miles this was not the bulb - this was something in the light assembly

27000 miles Transmission grinding sound back again. Dealer changes fluid again.

31101 miles - Transmission fails again and the dealer replaces transmission

33000 - Front end sounds like it is about to fall apart - my 6 year old Hyundai did not sound this bad.

General Comments:

I have owned 2 Saturn's the ION Quad Coupe and the VUE - The ION was fine, but we traded it in on a Mazda at 21000 miles. My wife drives the VUE and loves the looks and general feel of the vehicle and we get a lot of compliments on it. The reliability is very questionable. Through all the transmission trouble the service at Saturn has been top notch always under warranty and providing us a rental car free of charge, but now that the warranty is close to expiring I am very worried about keeping the vehicle much longer. AVOID the 4cyl that was part of our mistake - very underpowered. Engine runs great though. Besides the transmission and the front end we have had no other real problems, but the car only has 33000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st December, 2005

27th Feb 2007, 23:47

Hi.

I have the same year vue and have the exact same problems with the front end. It's unbelievable that a car can be manufactured in this day and age with a suspension having a life expectancy of 2 years. Suspension is not rocket science. The basic technology has been around for 100 years. I guess GM is forgetting how to make cars?

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 93 reviews