1999 Subaru Forester Reviews - Page 11 of 11

1999 Subaru Forester S 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

Need more work on quality

Faults:

Continuous problem on the engine. Got 2 major services done to repair leaks, including oil and coolant leaks. Same leak at the same spot keep happening after 2 replacements of gaskets.

General Comments:

Good car with nice features and performance, but lousy reliability. May be just bad luck. But on NHTSA site there are a few similar compliants from other Forester owners as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th October, 2002

25th Nov 2002, 22:26

I have had my 1998 Forester since it had 55,000 miles and had to replace my crank seal at 68,000 miles.

At least I was able to change the timing belt while in they were in there. Will save me a visit in the near future when it would have broke unexpectedly. I highly recommend having it changed if you have the opportunity after you hit 60,000 miles.

1999 Subaru Forester from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance41500 miles
Previous carSubaru Outback

Summary:

Good car, poor wheel bearings

Faults:

Wheel bearing problem at 41500 miles. These were straight highway miles (no off-road) In a facility of 200 workers I'm the third with wheel bearing problems in a Forester. All have occurred between 40,000 and 50,000 miles. By calling different Subaru dealers in my region of the country and speaking to the Parts Department (people who are a little more free with their information), I have found that many will not put Forester wheel bearings back on a Forester----they install Legacy bearings.

General Comments:

This is a Subaru problem and should not be passed down to the customer. There appears to be one of three scenarios. 1. Subaru is being supplied with bad or poorly designed parts. 2. Subaru has a design problem (using undersized bearings etc.). 3. Subaru has an installation problem. I think probably scenario no. 1 is the culprit. In any event this should be completely handled by Subaru with no cost to the customer. Wheel bearings do not wear out at 40,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th June, 2002

21st Oct 2002, 19:18

I've just had a similar problem with my 1999 Subaru Forester, which has served me very well otherwise. The right rear wheel bearing has gone at 51,000 miles. Similar to other owners in the my situation, Subaru-USA says this problem is not covered by the 60,000 mile warranty, but nevertheless offered to cover the cost of the parts and I have to pay for labor costs. Judging from the various posts I've seen on different sites, this does indeed seem to be a manufacturing fault so I am also not sure why I should be paying anything.

1999 Subaru Forester S 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Trusty little beast

Faults:

Needed new rear rotors and pads at 36k miles.

General Comments:

I can't really say enough good stuff about this car. I can't blame the brakes on Subaru, it may have been the previous owners fault. Rotors were pitted and rusty when I got the car in Sept 2001. Subaru refused to cover them, even though I was still under the factory 3yr 36k warranty. Regardless, the car is FLAWLESS in the snow and a joy to drive fast on the highway! Standard features are options for other cars. Can't beat it. I commute 100 miles a day, and it's not let me down yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2002

1999 Subaru Forester Limited 2.0 litre petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 kilometres
Most recent distance113000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

European quality at Japanese prices

Faults:

Collapsed rear self leveling suspension unit (fixed under warrantee).

General Comments:

I commute 120 km per day and this car is very comfortable, reliable and economical.

It handles as though on rails in all conditions & with its dual air bags & ABS, should be very safe in an accident.

Off road the car is also a dream, the independent suspension is far superior on light dirt roads to most traditional 4X4s, but will not handle the more serious stuff as well. The major limitation being entry & exit angles due to the big plastic bumpers (Subaxtreme in QLD do some nice metal ones), a body lift kit would help.

Silly little things: The sun visors are too short, the rear accessories socket needs the key in the ignition to work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2002

1999 Subaru Forester S-Turbo 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carSkoda Octavia

Summary:

I am looking forward to buying another

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

An excellent, solid, comfortable car that is a pleasure to drive. My last car was a Skoda Octavia 1.8 turbo petrol, fast and totally reliable, but the Forester is even better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd August, 2001

1999 Subaru Forester S 2.5 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles

Summary:

I love my car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I use this car to commute 65 miles one-way, from 3,000 feet and into town 4x week. It has incredible traction in my 4 months of snow and ice. Super responsive and reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th April, 2001

1999 Subaru Forester S Turbo 2.0 turbo intercooled petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo intercooled petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

Nothing! It's a Subaru.

General Comments:

Got a bit of a drink problem. Don't often get over 25mpg. It also hides its speed very well. I go into corners far too fast. The AWD system is one of the best. Going round a corner once with sheet ice across the whole of it and in the ditch there was a Land Rover Discovery and a few other cars. The Forester was the only one to get through alive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 1999

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 44 reviews