1999 Subaru Forester 2.5L from North America


It's a great car, will buy another one


I am the second owner of this Forester. I had both rear axle bearings replaced soon after purchasing the car, had to have a seal replaced in the the air conditioning unit.

I make frequent long trips in my Forester and am very happy with it, it is comfortable and gets good MPG.

I have owned 5 Subaru's, my daughter has a 96 Outback with 225.000 on it, it has been trouble free.

I will stick with Subaru.

General Comments:

Fantastic in the snow, love that all wheel drive,

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2009

1999 Subaru Forester 2.5 L from North America


You take care of the Scooby, it will take care of you!


New engine at 120,000 miles because of an oil issue.

New head gasket at 150,000; constant check engine light from 160,000 on. Something about emission filtration.

Carpet wear on drivers side.

Absolutely no leg room in the back seat.

General Comments:

This has been a great car for me. I drive a ton and this has been very reliable for me, my husband and our two dogs.

Very versatile; goes from city to back country camping. Love the all wheel drive all the time. Great handling on snowy icy roads.

If you keep up on the maintenance on this car, it will keep up with you!

I'm looking for a new car now, my husband is going to keep the Scooby rockin' for hopefully another 200,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2008

1999 Subaru Forester from North America


Won't buy another Subaru any time soon


Automatic transmission failed at 60K.

Multiple oil leaks.

Head gasket at 98K.

Plug on undercarriage fell out and was sucked into transmission causing transmission to seize (this was a separate incident from total transmission failure).

Front bearings at 90K approx.

Interior uncomfortable with windows down at anything other than slow speeds - feels like you're in a vacuum. Would also say this car is generally noisy.

General Comments:

This car handles nicely, but I won't buy another Subaru because of all the problems I've had.

I'm fortunate that my dealer has helped me quite a bit in dealing with Subaru "headquarters", however the car isn't paid off and I'm done with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th August, 2008

1999 Subaru Forester L 2.5 4 cylinder from North America


Stay away from Subaru, especially used!


Replaced heads, trans axle covers, brakes to the tune of $1100 this year, oil leaks and overhead dashboard stopped working.

Plastic body panels are falling off, mud guards discolored and cracking, suddenly will slow down on highway and pour smoke out the exhaust (will not repeat this for the dealer or shop when brought in).

General Comments:

This car is definitely no Toyota as far at quality, durability, and mechanics. Had strong reservations on buying this car because of a bad experience with a 1979 Brat; should have followed my gut feel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th August, 2008

1999 Subaru Forester S from North America


AWESOME!!! Wonderfully reliable, versatile auto!!!


Air Flow Sensor failed at about 90k - got a recall notice on the part just after I had to purchase the part - got back my money from Subaru. Only serious issue I have had with the engine.

General Comments:

With the one exception of when I was dealing with the air flow sensor failing, I have had no issues with this vehicle and am planning to drive it until it hits 500k miles on the odometer - currently has 245k. I love the size, allows me to carry 2 large dogs in crates. I can hardly consider not driving it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2008

1999 Subaru Forester S from North America


Not a reliable car


- Head gasket at 105K

- Water pump 105K

- No transmission fluids (complete leakage, no visible signs of leakage)

- Rear Brakes (2nd) 105K

- Timing belt (required) 105K

- Power Steering (no power) 95K

- Loose safety belts

Estimated $3900 repair costs.

- Front Brakes (2nd)

- Clock stopped at 60 K, CD no displays

- 4 times check engine lights (each at least $300)

- Oxygen sensors (twice)

- Transmission problems (in warranty)

General Comments:

This Subaru poses continuous maintenance issues, even after regular oil changes and major services at dealer locations. It has exotic problems like smelling gas in the car (rich burn), incredible noise when you start that reduces when you shift to a gear (apparently related to timing belt.) After the initial 4 years, it is slowly marching to death.

The electrical systems showed first signs to go. Switches for cruise, fog light, mirror heater were the first to go. Then the clock stopped, followed by half visible CD display. Then it was carpet, and rust showing in the car interior and under the hood.

In last 5 years, total maintenance costs exceed $10000. Now it needs another $3900 to run. Of course that would be waste of money. No doubt costs are crazy in the North-East. The dealer charged me $125 for telling me that car need a $3900 repair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th June, 2008

31st Mar 2016, 21:00

Are you serious???? You're complaining about replacing parts after 105k?

1st Apr 2016, 15:45

I had to vacuum my car out. It should have never needed it because I bought it new!