2001 Subaru Forester Reviews - Page 2 of 14

2001 Subaru Forester from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carSubaru Forester

Summary:

I want to trade it for a newer model

Faults:

I hit 100000, and everything has fallen by the road.

Front differential leaking.

Cracked head gasket. This is the biggest problem, because it had been recalled to fix the head gasket and I was never informed of this action. Then there was a good faith recall after the first, to which I was never notified. Now it will cost $1600 to fix.

I would rather have a sticking accelerator than smell the coolant dripping on my exhaust.

When I contacted the dealership, they told me to go directly to Subaru. This was unsuccessful as well. Nobody cares about a car that is 9 years old. I am very please with the interior and the special edition stainless wheel covers that were already on upon purchase.

General Comments:

Reliable for most part - AWD is kept in my life.

Roof rack is just for show. Mine cracked with the 1st Xmas tree.

Spacious.

Many incidental lights have gone out along with clock. The P-N-D-3-2 light is out too.

Because of AWD, it sucks more gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd February, 2010

13th Nov 2011, 18:07

Too bad Subaru is buying Toyota ha ha! Routine maintenance my friend.

29th Mar 2012, 21:15

Except for the head gasket, everything else is routine maintenance for any vehicle!

As for the luggage rack, those rails are for mounting cargo carrier clips for bikes, snow boards, or the factory enclosed cargo carrier. Not for strapping down trees. A quick read of the owner's manual would have explained their proper use.

Subaru does have upgraded and more functional rails available at the time of purchase, but outside of the premium models, you're not likely to see them.

BTW, that's pretty common to most all SUVs.

2001 Subaru Forester S 2.5 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

Very poorly made and bad customer service!

Faults:

O2 sensor and catalytic converter replaced at 50,000 miles, all 4 wheel bearings, rebuilt transmission, engine mounts, shocks and struts, and tie rod all replaced at about 60,000 miles.

Now the check engine light is on, engine knocks when cold, and I am told the piston is bad and it is $2,200.00 to fix!

Subaru customer service at headquarters was rude and did nothing about the tranny.

Clock failed. Compass failed. Paint is poor and rusts easily.

I will NEVER buy another Subaru!!!

General Comments:

BAD customer service! There should be recalls as many customers have the same problems, yet Subaru does not care. It is a Honda next time!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th January, 2010

2001 Subaru Forester from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carToyota Forester

Faults:

Overall happy with my Forester, however, wheel bearings continue to be a problem -- replaced one at 40,000 and another needed. Interestingly, my 2007 Forester required one at 30,000 (under warranty).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th December, 2009

2001 Subaru Forester 2.5L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5L Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles

Summary:

Reliable, safe, utilitarian

Faults:

I had to replace failing rear wheel bearings until Subaru came up with a different bearing design, then have had no problems with them.

General Comments:

Rear wheel bearings are the only problems I have had other than a minor valve cover oil leak, which I have decided to put up with.

The car has always run beautifully. I recently realized I have had 1971, 1981, 1991, and 2001 Subarus, and all have been extremely reliable automobiles.

Seats are not really comfortable for long drives, but the safety and reliability benefits make it worthwhile for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2009

2001 Subaru Forester 2.5 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

OK car, lousy company. Never buy one

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 99,900 miles. After much fighting, the dealer replaced it under the recall.

The car now has 130,000 miles and the gasket has gone again. Subaru said the repair was only guaranteed for 1 year. I told them a head gasket repair should last more than 30,000 miles; they basically told me tough luck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th July, 2009

2001 Subaru Forester from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carSubaru Forester

Summary:

Love the car, hate the slimy dealerships

Faults:

The right rear bearing went at 35,000 miles, and the dealer charged me $680.00.

The clock stopped working in the same week.

Dealer says head gasket is leaking coolant and they want $2,300 to replace it, the timing belt and the rest of the seals.

I loved this SUV, the ride is super fantastic. After reading this website, I am ready to scream. I am going to hound the dealer until I get the free repairs that some other people here have gotten.

General Comments:

I love the way the car rides and handles in all conditions.

Service at dealership is unreliable, and the prices are jacked up through the roof.

Rear bearings should be recalled, and so should the head gasket.

If the clock isn't going to work, Subaru should give people Timex watches as a consolation prize.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th April, 2009

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 53 reviews