1997 Toyota 4Runner Reviews - Page 4 of 7

1997 Toyota 4Runner Limited 6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carMazda Navajo

Summary:

Worth every penny... and then some

Faults:

I have had to replace the tire after 30000 miles, maily because the dealer put cheap BF Goodwrich tires on the vehicle. Replaced them with Goodyear radials.

Leather seats are cracking, especially on drivers side seat.

Engine light comes on because of the gas cap sensor, which means you will have to bring it into someone to reset the computer and buy a new gas cap. I've had to have it replaced twice in the past five years at a cost of $200 each time.

Hood latch catches and will not allow you to close the hood. I managed to get it closed by following the hood cable and to the firewall and gave it a tug to make it taunt again.

The rear hatch handle gets difficult to open. Just spray some WD40 in the inside of the handle and it will work again. Had to do this twice over the years.

General Comments:

I love this vehicle and would buy one again in a heartbeat. The engine has never needed work even after 125000 miles. Although I don't have the acceleration I would like, this SUV handles like a dream; I love the turning radius and ride. Often I travel cross country over several hundred miles at a time and never had any worries from the vehicle. The Toyota dealers always seem to get me in to the shop the next day and then have my vehicle back to me that same day. I am a larger man and have plenty of room in this car. I plan on having this vehicle until it dies and then will buy a Toyota again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2006

9th Oct 2010, 11:44

You can buy your own scanner for 89 bucks.

1997 Toyota 4Runner 3.0 turbo diesel from Nicaragua

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance212000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Very reliable SUV with very few needed improvements

Faults:

Power steering seals had to be changed at 110,000 Km.

Steering rack ends had to be replaced at 110,000 Km.

Air conditioner evaporator had to be replaced at 185,000 Km.

Power antenna has had to be replaced 3 times.

Airbag steering sensor had to be replaced at 130,000 Km.

Starter had to be repaired at 190,000 Km.

General Comments:

It does not have a pollen/dust filter, so a noticeable amount of dust enters the cabin when traveling dusty roads.

Too much engine noise enters the cabin.

Suspension is a little too firm, yet the rear suspension bottoms up too easily.

The engine is fast for a diesel, very durable, and very reliable.

The transmission is very solid, even after 7 years it is still like new.

Fuel economy is good, 38Km per gallon in combined cycle.

Useful third row seat for emergencies with kids.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2004

1997 Toyota 4Runner Base 2.4L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carMazda MX6

Summary:

Best vehicle I've ever owned

Faults:

Suspension Recall - Dealer Replaced

Shocks - replaced under warranty

Power Antenna has broken twice.

General Comments:

Best vehicle I've ever owned.

Seats are uncomfortable, but it is the base model. SR5 had more comfortable seats, but I didn't pay the extra.

Power Antenna breaks every 3 years (irritating and bad design) Uses a monofeliment belt which gets brittle with age. $200 to replace. Must remove right fender to get to unit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2004

1997 Toyota 4Runner SR5 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 kilometres
Most recent distance111050 kilometres
Previous carHonda del Sol

Summary:

Great truck

Faults:

Not one complaint from me.The previous owner had to change a four wheel relay switch. The dealer did this just before I bought the SUV. It only cost $108.The rest is just regular maintenance.Mostly consisting of fluid changes.

General Comments:

Great tuck for a sports oriented person.lot`s of room for hockey bags.

In the snow it handles great.

Fuel economy could be better, but still acceptable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th March, 2004

27th Mar 2004, 06:28

So you rave about the truck, say its great for the sports guy, and it goes great in the snow. Obviously you love this truck. Why did you say "No" when you were asked if you'd buy another???

1997 Toyota 4Runner SR5 6 cylinder 2 wheel drive from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder 2 wheel drive Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired59600 miles
Most recent distance60520 miles

Summary:

A great car!

Faults:

The man I bought the car from told me that he had, had the starter fixed at 55,000 miles. As far as I know that is the only thing that has gone wrong besides a few leaks that were fixed easily.

General Comments:

This car is such a great buy! It is very reliable and runs great. The only thing that annoys me about the car is how long it takes to "warm up." When you first start it after a long night in the garage the engine sounds as though its trying to make the poor thing go air born. I talked to the mechanic about it and he said this is perfectly normal and occurs in most of the later model 4-runners. The handling is nice and the power is sufficient. Over all I would say this is a very good car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2004

24th Dec 2012, 04:46

The high speed wind noise at start up is the engine fan spinning up and then slowing down as the viscous clutch comes up to temp. Normal for any engine with an engine powered fan with a viscous clutch. Nothing to worry about.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 27 reviews