1991 Toyota Camry DX 2.5L V6 from North America

Summary:

Reliable, well built car

Faults:

The Valve cover gaskets began leaking at about 90,000 miles, which cost about $350.00 dollars to fix.

Toyota recommends changing the timing belt at approximately 60,000 miles. I changed my timing belt at 100,000 which cost approximately 600.00 dollars.

The starter was replaced at approximately 120,000 miles at a cost of 150.00 dollars.

General Comments:

Overall a well built car. the 2.5 V6 is quick, easily obtaining speeds in excess of 90 mph. It accelerates more quickly than most new cars including Honda Civics, 90's integras, The new Mini Coopers and Chevy Caveliers. The cornering is good for such a heavy car. The ride is a bit bumpy, which I believe might be from more heavy duty suspension for the V6 in the front. The Camry also does very well in snow, better handling than a 4x4 in snow up to 6 inches. The few things that did go wrong with the car were repaired and in the cars current condition the mechanic assured me I would have few if any problems until over 200,000 miles. The car, with the V6, gets about 20mpg city/ 25mpg highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2004

29th Aug 2006, 21:58

I'm looking for a used car for 16 yr old female. There is a 1990 Camry DX w/77k listed in our paper $1,650. Is it worth looking into?

1991 Toyota Camry Base 2.0 4-Cylinder from North America

Summary:

Great first car, or if your cheap.

Faults:

Nothing in this car has gone wrong for me, or for the people who owned it before me.

But there is some wear around.

There's a small wear whole in the lower back rest of the drivers seat.

There's a small wear whole on the elbow rest.

General Comments:

This is a great car, fast enough, great gas mileage.

I've seen these engines last for 300,000 miles.

The seats are a little high and uncomfortable.

The method for reclining your seat sucks.

My model only has one interior light, and no vanity mirrors, unlike my friend's car who is just like this one only 2 years older.

There is no tachometer which is weird because my friends car that is an automatic has one.

Engine is nice and quiet.

Speakers are stock and sound nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2004

1991 Toyota Camry Ultima 3.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Exceptional comfort and performance for the poor man

Faults:

Both left and right CV Joints required replacing after becoming rather noisy.

Automatic transmission failed mysteriously and destroyed itself at 195000. $2000+ to fix.

Dealer added warranty wasn't worth the paper it was written on.

General Comments:

Car is exceptionally comfortable.

Air conditioning would make an eskimo shiver!

Drives like an Audi or Mercedes at all speeds.

Turning circle like a small truck, due to long wheelbase.

Can handle full loads of people and cargo without serious performance or ride height reductions.

Great visibility with small blindspot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2003

5th Apr 2005, 01:09

My friend's brother has a Camry around the same age. It is manual (5 speed) and is extremely quiet. It's a wagon so it has heaps of boot space and rear leg room is awesome. The transmission is smooth and the seats are comfortable. It is an excellent car and a pleasure to ride in. I share this persons views on the Camry.

1991 Toyota Camry LX 2.2i from Netherlands

Summary:

Extremely reliable car

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with it, apart from one battery replaced over a period of 8 years. Seats are not that comfortable anymore for long distances, but apart from that a very comfortable and reliable car (especially considering it's 12 years old).

General Comments:

Extremely reliable and comfortable car, both at low and high speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2003

1991 Toyota Camry DX from North America

Summary:

A bad example of a Toyota

Faults:

The driver's side power window needed to be replaced, the guide broke.

Leaks power steering fluid and oil. Power steering will not last for a full day because it leaks so bad.

I had to replace the lower radiator hose and thermostat, around 130,000 miles.

Needed to replace the CV Boot around 125,000 miles.

Replaced the alternator around 121,000 miles.

Replaced the starter at 132,000 miles.

Wires to the power seat belts melted and those seat belts had to be taken out and replaced with regular seat belts.

At the moment the battery does not send enough power into the car, example: the head lights dim in and out when a turn signal is on or when the brakes are applied.

Some of the dash lights burnt out before I bought the car.

General Comments:

This car still needs many many more repairs; with the money needed to fix the problems it has now I could buy another 1991 Camry.

It is a cute little car, and I enjoyed it very much until everything started to go wrong with it.

It seems I have already put more money into the car than it is worth.

I am slowing replacing all the parts under the hood as they go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2003

13th Oct 2003, 16:02

I have a 1990 Toyota Corolla that having the same problem with the battery and alternator. I've already replaced the alternator 3 times in a 6 month period and the battery once.

31st Dec 2003, 16:08

I understand your frustration on having to replace certain items soon after your purchasing of the vehicle. But you did purchase a high mileage car, and the items you're listing for replacement really are not that unusual for one with 130K miles.

If the car had less than 80K and you were having to do all this, yeah I'd be upset too. But, if the car comes from a hot climate, i.e. I lived in Las Vegas, NV for 5yrs, and I had to replace my radiator hoses every other year because of the heat. My vehicle now has 110K, 3yrs later.

Certain things are expected to wear out, alternator, battery, hoses, belts, pumps, etc after time. Major problems I would be irritated at - like transmission, heads, or suspension problems. But overall, you did buy a 12yr old car - parts don't last forever.

20th Mar 2004, 23:41

Your car may have been in a major accident.

8th Jun 2006, 18:34

I have a 1991 Camry DX with about 160,000 Miles on it. It runs perfectly, however I did have to replace the radiator at 150,000 miles. This can be expected with Japanese radiators after a while though. All and all, I love my car!