1991 Toyota Camry Reviews - Page 8 of 8

1991 Toyota Camry DX 2.0 V4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 V4 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Reliable 4 cylinder with good mileage

Faults:

My car has had absolutely no problems since I've had it. The only thing I have had to do is have the oil changed and get new brakes.

General Comments:

My Camry has been very reliable.

Not once have I had a problem other than regular oil changes and new hoses and belts.

The only problem is that parts are a little hard to find. Especially accessories. Sport kits, mud guards, floor mats, speakers, etc. have all been very hard to find.

The engine is pretty slow, though it is really easy to get away from you. I can understand why Toyota upgraded to a 2.2 the next year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2001

1991 Toyota Camry V6 LE 2.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

A car that will keep you happy for years

Faults:

Radiator developed a small leak around 150,000 miles and had to be replaced.

One of the buttons on the air conditioner stopped working around 140,000 miles.

General Comments:

This has, by far, been the best car I have ever owned. The performance is great for a family sedan, and it handles beautifully.

Passing at speeds of 70+ MPH leaves a little to be desired, but the car performs great on the take-off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2001

1991 Toyota Camry 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

My excellent, reliable, and loyal Toyota Camry 1991

Faults:

Door locks had to be replaced.

Transmission leaking.

Otherwise, regular maintenance done like brakes, tune-up, belts, fluids, oil-change, etc.

General Comments:

This car is reliable and not high maintenance.

I wish there were body kits and sport parts made for this car so I can make it look good somehow and run it quicker by giving it more power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2001

1991 Toyota Camry DX 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles

Summary:

A good car, but avoid these years like the plague

Faults:

Avoid the 6 cylinder auto trans Camry built from 1988 - 1991. Transmissions failed at 110,000, leaking before then...

A commercial rebuilder will not even offer a warranty with an auto 6cyl trans from these years because of the poor quality. So count on spending 2-3k on it once you get over the 110,000 mile marker or so.

The engine also had a serious leak - not the seals, but somewhere in the block. About $500-$600 to fix.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st October, 2000

27th Mar 2003, 15:43

Well, I can back up your claim - my 91 Camry's transmission went out at about 1800000 miles. I'm trying right now if it's worth it for me to replace it.

5th May 2004, 09:34

Yeah I have an oil leak on my 1991 camry that mechanics don't want to fix. they just say buy a new car.

14th Oct 2004, 08:17

My 88 V6 blew a head gasket at 178,000 but I think that was due to my constant lead-foot and redlining for most of a year.

The auto trans seems fine at 178,000, and the only oil leak that I know of is a very slight one on one of the cam seals, which I will replace anyway as I tear apart to replace the head gaskets.

1991 Toyota Camry DX 2.0L 4-cyl. from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4-cyl. Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance65100 miles

Summary:

Phenomenal long-mileage reliability

Faults:

The braking system seems to be the only mechanical thing to have ever needed attention (e.g., more easily worn pads/rotors, brake noise).

The factory issued in-dash radio/cassette player died after about a year. The dealer replaced it, but the replacement died as well about six months later.

General Comments:

As far as mechanics go, this car has been truly stellar. I've never had a car that's been as reliable as this '91 Camry. I've changed the oil every three thousand miles and have never had to have anything done on the engine in the way of a service in the nine years I've owned it. Granted, it's not the sexiest car around and it sure isn't a performance vehicle, but this little sedan just won't quit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2000

5th May 2004, 09:32

I totally agree, my Camry 1991 DX has 200,000 miles on it and is STILL going. Yeah it isn't the most stylish car around, but it is a workhorse of a car. The only major problem I have had with the car were some minor electrical issues - Toyota had placed all the wiring harness for the lights and power windows right along the hinges of the doors, and the trunk resulting in serverance of wires. I had to get the tail lights fixed, because they were cut by the trunk hinge, and the passenger side window, which the wires were cut too. The fixes, however were inexpensive so that wasn't really a problem. I like this car a lot, we've been through a lot of things together.

22nd Dec 2005, 20:47

I have a 1991 Camry too. And boy have we been through a lot of things, but I truly love that car. Mine has 182,000 miles on it and it runs and rides like brand spanking new. The only major problem I've had with it is an electrical problem in the ignition. Other than that this car lives up to its name, its truly a remarkable vehicle. Oh and for a 4 cylinder this car hauls tail! It moves. I've even put a hood scoop on it! This car is built like a tank and will not quit. I love my 1991 Camry.

31st Aug 2006, 21:27

I just bought a used 1991 camry, DX. Everyone tells me it's a great car, but I have a problem. Every time I put her in drive she shuts off on me. I don't know why people tell me it's an oxygen censer. If you have any clue on what might be the problem, if you have an idea please let me know.

1991 Toyota Camry 4 cyl from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4 cyl Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles

Summary:

Very reliable investment

General Comments:

WONDERFUL car, other than routine maintenance I have not done anything to it. Great on gas. 100% reliable. Still going strong at 100k.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2000

1991 Toyota Camry DL from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

New brakes after 40K miles.

General Comments:

Aside from regular oil changes and a 50K mile checkup, I have done nothing, and the car continues very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 1999

1991 Toyota Camry 2.2 liter 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter 4
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

I have had to replace front rotors. Brakes seem to be designed poorly, I have had to replace the pads many times.

General Comments:

Great car! Reliable - starts like the day I bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 1998

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 36 reviews