1991 Toyota Camry CS 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand


Mundane, but dependable


I've had no mechanical problems, as this car had been serviced well by the previous owner, and by myself.

Inside there are a few rattles, especially in the dash.

The carpet and seats are wearing on the driver side, but this is to be expected with a car this old.

The car still is in one piece (with some slight boot/trunk rust) even after a major rear-ender accident. This cost the insurance company $5500, and an Ex-Cop his license (driving whilst under the influence).

General Comments:

The Camry is a car suited to someone who is happy not to stand out from the crowd.

This vehicle merely performs it duty of transporting driver (& passenger) where they want to go.

No frills travel, but most importantly, no hassles travel.

Mechanically top notch.

Experiences some slightly unsettling body-roll when cornering hard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2003

1991 Toyota Camry LE 4 cylinder from North America


The best car I've owned (I presently own a newer Camry)


Windows steam up if its raining.

Brake work several times.

Power antenna replaced.

Body rust around wheels.

General Comments:

It is like a little tank in snow.

It is very comfortable.

Great gas usage.

The rear seat folds down and the car is great for hauling large items, skis etc.

Very dependable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2003

1991 Toyota Camry CSX 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand


A great car from Toyota


I have replaced the water pump, resistors on fan and a wheel hub. But everything else is in perfect condition.

General Comments:

The car is Australian assembled.

The car has a beautiful ride and performs well for a 2000 cubic inch engine.I'm very happy with the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2002

1991 Toyota Camry DX 4 cylinder. from North America


240,000 miles and still going-I will never buy American again!


The only thing that has had to be replaced on this car was the distributor cap and the spark plug wires. The alternator went out once, but for 5 bucks I replaced the carbon brushes inside and it fixed the problem. Other than these two regular maintenence problems the car has been amazing.

General Comments:

The car isn't really that powerful with the 4 cyl. but it has pretty good gas mileage. It has a really smooth suspension due to a hefty frame and lots of steel on the body panels. It is quiet on the inside at high speeds and it is pretty roomy. I've got to hand it to the Japs, they know how to build cars! 240,000 miles and still going is absolutely amazing. Everybody says buy American, well when we can make a reliable car or truck I'll buy American. Until then I'll buy whatever is rated the best by consumer reports.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2002

28th May 2002, 05:56

Do they have Japanese working in the Georgetown plant in Kentucky, USA? Your Camry IS American built-so what you're essentially saying is that Georgetown is in Japan? Or are you saying that USA is really Japan, masquerading under a different name?

6th Jun 2002, 13:09

Not all 1991 Camrys were produced in Kentucky. The station wagons, for example, were still made in Japan. You can determine the production location by looking at the placard in the door frame of the driver's door.

1991 Toyota Camry DX 2.0 four from North America


The best daily driver on the market


The only problems are the result of a collision (van went through a light and hit the passenger rear quarter two years ago) that almost totaled the car. (Rear clip replacement, over four grand.)

The trunk now leaks in heavy rain - or the car wash.

The engine was slow to begin with (if it weren't, I wouldn't have been hit!) but is now lethargic.

A/C fills the car with a musty odor, and barely cools the interior.

General Comments:

Three problems:

1: Interior lighting isn't good -- one dome light that isn't aimed toward the front seats.

2: Car fogs up despite defroster being on highest setting.

3: The four-cylinder is a slug.

Otherwise, the car is solidly built and more reliable than any other vehicle I've ever seen. I have never been stranded from mechanical problems in this car (even after the accident, it ran just fine.) I really think I'll be driving this car in five years. (Unless some other idiot hits me. My insurance really wanted to total the car out for some strange reason.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2002

21st Jan 2002, 01:21

We had the same problem with the defroster. If you move the air selector switch so that air is not being recycled, this problem isn't nearly as bad.