1993 Toyota Camry 2.2 from Australia and New Zealand


A great dependable practical car


Nothing except for normal wear and tear items e.g. tyres and brake pads. Drivers seat needs upholstering but it obviously get a lot of wear.

General Comments:

Great dependable transport if you you are willing to look after it, the previous owner did not do any maintenance on the car and it shows cosmetically and mechanically but it still has proven to be a really good sound car.

Looked at other makes of cars to buy as an upgrade but decided that we cannot afford another Toyota just yet. Toyota's ARE dearer but they ARE worth it - you pay for the badge, but you do get a better product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2008

1993 Toyota Camry LE 2.2 from North America


Great Toyota Reliability!!


I've only owned my Camry for 5 months and let my ex-boyfriend drive it, due to my automatic tranny needing replacing. It's now in impound after the 3 accidents he had in it- in ONE day!!! It only has minor hood damage and the radiator is a little bent. Still starts right up and purrs like a kitten since the day I bought it! I haven't had much enjoyment out of it because the Reverse is completely inoperable. I obviously can't park it in my driveway unless you mash the gas pedal and overheat the engine!!! Will have it rebuilt in 2009 when I get my federal tax refund!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2008

1993 Toyota Camry Sport 3.0 Litre from North America


Best car I've ever owned. Hands down!


Water Pump went after 100,000 kilometers.

Radiator went after 250,000 kilometers

All Front CV boots needed replacement after 280,000 kilometers.

Also, the mechanical valve train in this car gets fairly noisy after 200,000 kms. This is when the valve lifters need to be adjusted by a professional. If your buying a 1993 Camry makes sure you ask if the valve train has been serviced since the car was new.

Only paid around $1500. in parts and labor for car repairs (as shown above). This does not include replacing the brakes once every 3 years.

General Comments:

One beef about this car is it's very difficult to replace the spark plugs on one side of the engine. I'm fairly mechanical myself but I had to hire a mechanic every 100,000 kms to put these spark plugs in the car.

Above all else, this car was a tremendous blessing from God Almighty, himself. I'm not kidding! I've owned over 15 different cars in my life and this Camry has been the best of them all for performance, reliability, and for servicing cost.

If I had it my way I would keep this Camry of mine until it's old enough to be carried away on a flat bed truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2008

21st Jun 2010, 21:51

It's valve train not value train.

7th Oct 2010, 01:37

That's what was said? Are you kidding me?

1993 Toyota Camry XLE V6 3.0 from North America


Best car I've ever owned... AWESOME


The ONLY mechanical problem that I had with my Camry was a small oil leak, but that was only after I (by my idiot uncle's recommendation) decided to switch from conventional oil to a full synthetic during an oil change at about 135K. As far as I know, synthetic oil had never been used in the car before I purchased it, and I had never used it before that particular oil change. From what I NOW understand, if synthetic oil hasn't been used on a car with high mileage, especially if its not a sports car or luxury car that needs/greatly benefits from full synthetic, then stick to the basic oil with a 3-5K oil change interval. If for some odd reason you want to upgrade to a "better" quality oil, try out synthetic blend as opposed to full synthetic.

Anyway, as soon as I started the engine after adding the new oil, a light white smoke puffed from the hood. Even after I replaced the synthetic with the normal oil (weeks, months later) it still smoked. I'm not sure how it caused it, but it turned out to be leaking from the front engine seals and the valve cover gaskets. Replaced at independent Toyota dealer and NO problems afterwards.

General Comments:

I LOVED my Camry. Styling was awesome. I had the XLE package with 6-speaker cassette&CD, leather, sunroof and alloys. Light beige paint on tan leather. Smooth, but powerful acceleration, quiet ride and idle, comfortable seating... Perfect. I honestly got compliments everyday I drove it.

Whoever had it before me took great care of it and I did the same. I STAYED on top of the maintenance, kept the interior/exterior and engine compartment clean, fluids stayed flushed and clean. Just because it's a Toyota doesn't mean you don't have to keep it maintained.

For the home mechanic... DO NOT TRY TO CHANGE the fuel filter. I broke the fuel line trying to get that joker off and I am an experienced do-it-yourselfer. It;s impossible, trust me. Take it to a mechanic.

I sold it because I moved away to college and I wanted an SUV to haul my cargo to/around campus. I shoulda just rented a U-Haul : (

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th November, 2007

15th Aug 2009, 02:36

What kinda mpg were you getting?

7th Oct 2010, 01:27

Synthetic oil is king. It breaks up old deposits left from regular oil and age. Your car will burn oil faster for at least three oil changes and on certain models you should check oil every 1000-1500 miles and add as needed! You should never switch back to regular or part synthetic oil after a fully synthetic oil change. This can harm your motor.

In response to the ad at hand, maybe the oil seal problem was just a coincidence. I have had four cars with over a hundred k miles when purchased and all of them reached over 200k with the aid of fully synthetic oil!

P.S. Black smoke blowing out of your tail pipe is good! It's cleaning the deposits!

7th Oct 2010, 21:37

I agree, synthetic oil does provide far better protection when compared to conventional. I must add though that, you can in fact switch back to conventional oil after using synthetic. Today's synthetics are fully compatible with conventional oils, and putting conventional oil in a motor that had synthetic in it will do no harm. This is a myth that just won't die!