1993 Toyota Camry XLE Sedan 4 Cylinder from North America


What an over rated piece of junk


The Camry ate 3 sets of tires in the first 20,000 miles.

The sunroof broke 5 times, twice they replaced the entire unit, including the glass. The sunroof would not close at the back and would whistle on the highway.

Two hub caps fell off.

The rear trim on the trunk fell off 3 times.

The master cylinder failed... the dealer told me to keep driving it anyway.

The cruise control shorted out the dash gauges.

The shifter handle broke in half.

The paint started to peel.

Power antenna stopped working.

The original battery lasted 10 months.

Front struts would 'squeak' in cold weather.

Pulse and grind in the front brakes, 5 sets of pads in 28,000.

Tape player died.

General Comments:

The Camry was a Consumer Reports best rated car, in two and a half years I had repair orders piled as high as a dictonary.

I one time found the dealers technician asleep in the car on a side street.

I got hit in a parking lot by a Chrysler LeBaron, it had paint on the bumper the Camry had $3500.00 worth of damage and took 3 weeks to fix due to back ordered parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2002

12th May 2004, 22:33

It's obvious that most of those repairs are not mechanical. The tires are probably from mis alignment from the crash, paint as well, not to mention the grounded wires.

1st Sep 2004, 15:57

I too have a 93 Camry V6 XLE. Personally I have had endless problems, even after it has been fixed countless times. The biggest problems I have is the radiator which personally I don't think can cool the V6 engine. I am also having problems with the engine. The problems also might come from its two previous owners who I doubt treated the car right. But either way, I fixed ever part and it still seems to go wrong. I would buy another Camry, just not a V6.

1993 Toyota Camry 2.2 16 valve from UK and Ireland


Perfect cruiser


Radio bulbs replaced, passenger electric window switch, cigarette lighter.

It tends to gets noisy in the cabin (wind) at high speeds (above 90mph).

General Comments:

The Camry is a very reliable car that just cruises along.

It handles superbly at all legal speeds (up to 70mph in the UK and 80+ on the continent) in comfort.

The seats are very comfortable and the rear passengers have plenty of leg room.

The engine is punchy enough and doesn't refuse to behave sportily if asked.

Have the car serviced regularly and will probably keep it for another 100K miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2002

1993 Toyota Camry inline 4, 16 valve from North America


Great car


Brakes rattle often when braking at high speeds.

After 150,000km, the clutch started to slip, had to replace it.

When braking hard in rain, the front brakes lock up very easy and steering is not an option. But I guess it's better than losing total control of the car.

Minor lights would sometimes not work, also in the interior.

Rear suspension squeaks.

General Comments:

Actually a very well made car, considering I drive the crap out of it and it holds up fairly well. Pretty quick for a 4 cylinder, beats most V6 Camrys in a race, due to it being a 5 speed (pretty rare).

Suspension is good, I've hopped many a curb and it's in good shape, have also bottomed out a lot and no apparent damage to the wheel alignment or suspension.

Gear ratio is kinda tight, but I've taken it to about 208km/h (135mph) in 5th gear at 5500rpm (redlines at 6000rpm).

Starts to shake when you pass 180kmh, engine NEVER overheats, always stays cool no matter how hard I drive it.

Almost impossible to fishtail, even in rain, probably cause it's front wheel drive. Very stable car.

Comfy interior, engine rev's loud when you want it to, sounds like a V6.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2001

10th Mar 2005, 18:50

But the 5 speed camry's have one extra gear, allowing the engine to put more power out at the wheels at a lower RPM. Therefore, 135 MPH is possible. Your statistics were referring to an automatic, 4 SPEED TRANSMISSION.

9th Aug 2005, 18:11

Most Toyota vehicles with 4speed A/T have an implicit electronic overdrive in 4, which kicks in above 60 km/h. The gear ratio then will be about 0.7:1, equiv. to a manual 5speed. In other words: a "prise-direct" 1:1 is 3 in A/T and 4 in manual transmissions.

Roughly, the manual ratio in 2nd can be compared with a 1st in A/T because of the powerful hydraulic torque converter in conventional and electronic automatics.

17th Oct 2005, 04:35

A camry is amazing. my camry has been slightly modified and I have been to 225 km/h and the car wants to go more. surprising. these machines move.

10th Feb 2006, 01:55

I have to agree I like Toyota, but when it comes to performance my 1997 Saab 900S would beat up on any V6 Camry. I have had it up to 130mph with four people in the car. That was me letting off.